Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Solr Certified by Bitnami

Bitnami | 8.7.0-1-r01 on Debian 10

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews

External reviews

21 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Cataldo M.

For your search engines!

  • October 19, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Good user interface, very nice experience. Low learning curve.
What do you dislike?
It requires a good knowledge a Lucene fundamentals.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Information Retrieval, Search Engines prototype, Query suggestion Systems
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I suggest to user Solr to easy implement a prototype of search engines with good web interface!


    Design

A fairly solid search platform built on Lucene.

  • September 17, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Solr is built on top of Apache Lucene, which is a trusted search indexing platform.
What do you dislike?
Managing the Solr instances was proving to be a pain, which is why we made the switch to ElasticSearch.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
General content indexing for recipes, articles, news postings, log data, reporting.


    Marshall M.

Powerful, flexible search engine

  • September 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Solr is a very powerful, very flexible search engine. It is very fast and stable when configured correctly. Solr allows you to build your own custom request handlers and allows you to import data from pretty much any datasource. It is extendible, allowing you write your own plugins/importers to expand the built-in functionality. It's performance, scalability, and extendability make it a solid choice for powering real-time searches.
What do you dislike?
At least with version 4.3-4.10, the documentation for Solr was very lacking, and it is difficult to find help with things. There are a lot of features, particularly in your configurations, that can take a bit to understand and get setup correctly. There has been a lot of guesswork in figuring out some of these features, and it seems like there is a lot that could be better documented to help identify where certain things can be used. Dealing with Zookeeper can also be a hassle. Updating the configs through Zookeeper has not been the most straightforward thing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Solr provides nearly all of the search logic for our products. Our dataset is fairly large, and Solr handles this very effectively. There have been some unique challenges in setting it up to take advantage of all that Solr has to offer, but it provides a very good search engine that works for us and our users.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you do not have a search service and are relying on direct database reads for your searches, I'd highly recommend looking into using Solr for your search platform. Solr provides a lot of different ways to parse your search input and ways of improving your consumers' search experience. Newer versions of Solr (5, 6) are greatly improved and easier to get going with, along with better documentation, and are highly recommended.


    Ameya K.

Easy of indexing the data

  • June 09, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
REST API for accessing and validating the data/records
What do you dislike?
new version release need to retesting existing code to make sure nothing breaks.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
real time notification and recommendation engine considering the latest user settings.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Can be used for real time notification and recommendation engine considering the latest user settings.


    Andrew C.

Used as a replacement for Oracle Search with great improvements

  • March 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Solr is a very quick and easy way to search for keywords within a document, the ability to add weightings to search terms to increase the outcome of search relevance gives it great flexibility.

It has a great user interface to be able to search your data and create your search query, as well as check the status of the server and cache.

It was easy to hook this search into our code base, using the search url
What do you dislike?
The way you index the data to Solr could be improved, it has a document feeder built in but isn't the easiest to use and is recommended to not be used in a production environment, although we have done this in the past. Which means a separate application needs to be written to insert your data.

Creating a SOLR cloud isn't as straight forward as it could be, as it needs to use Zookeeper, which means an additional server/service to maintain, other similar search products do not require this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed to improve the relevance and performance of our existing search, and by using SOLR did both of these with the added benefit of reducing the load on our Oracle Database. We improved our relevance and customers immediately noticed the difference. That was with the 'out-of'the'box' settings, we can see how this can be improved further.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Making the switch was relatively easy task and the increase on performance was well worth it.


    Ashish M.

Best Search Engine so far

  • March 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The customisability of the solr is so good that anyone can set it up and customise it for his/her needs
Aslo the documentation provided is too good
The inbuilt filters are more than sufficient for any of your needs and also you can customise them as per your need there are various features of solr that are helping us in our buisnesss
What do you dislike?
I have had many issues with multi word synonyms
it simply doesn't work
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are solving problems for tax professionals to find rulings . Usually to find any previous ruling user has to go through 12 huge books with 10's of thousands of pages each so that was very time consuming task but now through our system people and find their resources in no time
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have huge database with huge raw text docs you can go for solr else database search is ok to use


    Manjunath R.

Amazing search engine with great search capabilities

  • March 11, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Learning experience
Easy to use
Precise documentation
What do you dislike?
Do not have automatic auto scaling (Clustering, nodes and sharding) similar to Elasticsearch
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Search capabilities that hard to achieve using relational databases
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Catch up with Elasticsearch


    Restaurants

A Simple, Yet Capable Search Platform

  • January 31, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Solr is a fairly straight forward product, that does what ti's supposed to with minimal maintenance. The platform is easily administrated via web portal, and allows for thorough awareness and assessment of the platform itself at any time.
What do you dislike?
We are on an older version of Solr, so most of my dislikes around the clunkiness of the UI has been fixed in newer versions as far as I can tell. Overall the product is very usable though,and it is hard to find a distinct dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are utilizing Solr with our Google Search Appliances for the search functionality within out internal company portal. Solr helps us query other databases for personnel and location information.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Move to the newest version if at all possible.


    Stewart H.

Great product for slicing and dicing larger data sets

  • January 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to quickly query data sets with various criteria.
What do you dislike?
The syntax at times can be arcane for end-users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using it in conjunction with Cassandra for doing various queries against our large datasets. It allows us to write queries on the dataset to inspect our data in various ways that is often hard to do in Cassandra alone. This has saved us time and thusly money.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Prepare yourself for the syntax and be sure to routinely check the logs for issues if running against Cassandra as there are many times in which they don't seem to play well together.


    Timothy S.

Solr search

  • January 20, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It works, it's fast and very stable. It's on top of Lucene which is pretty much the only open source solid search software available. SOLR is tied in with some hadoop distributions. It works and once you understand SOLR and LUCENE you are good.
What do you dislike?
Between Solr and ElasticSearch, there is a constant struggle to pick the best one. ElasticSearch is part of ELK and ties in well with LogStash and Kibana which makes it great for logs and big data stuff.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Searching log files for data. We were able to do so without buying an expensive license from Splunk.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try elastic search and solr. Add some logs and see which works best for your particular access methods and queries. They are very similar but elasticsearch is better for REST access.