Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

DreamFactory packaged by Bitnami

Bitnami by VMware | 4.11.1-4-r01 on Debian 11

Linux/Unix, Debian 11 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

5 AWS reviews

External reviews

29 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ilan A.

My experiences with DreamFactory

  • April 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It has allowed us to create a single data layer that unifies all our underlying platforms. It does this elegantly, with consistent architecture, taking care of authentication and caching.
DreamFactory is itself an API, and this has allowed us to use the product not only for our own business, but also OEM'd as part of an on-premise solution we sell to our customers. We have found it easy to package and configure into portable Docker containers.
Although DreamFactory comes with its own database, we have deploiyed it to run on Postgresql, thus allowing it to fit into our backup and sysadmin processes.
What do you dislike?
There is currently nothing I dislike about DreamFactory. I cannot fault the platform in any way.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have numerous data sources across multiple platforms, OSs and protocols. Dreamfactory has allowed us to unify all these datasources into APIs that are easily accessible by our business applications.
Also, we are able to easily package it into a docker container and OEM it as part of a solution we provide to our own customers. It has saved us a ton of money on developing our own APIs and middleware layer.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Dreamfactory has been a delight to work with, both as a company and as a product. I have asked some complex questions and always received timely and accurate responses.


    Construction

Used to be a great open source product

  • March 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Great features for combining APIs and data sources with server-side scripting.
What do you dislike?
Dying product, overpriced, terrible customer service
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Enterprise apps
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have a small project and can use the features of their free offering, go for it. Otherwise, find a different solution.


    Jun T.

Innovative DreamFactory

  • July 12, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This tool is basically an open source platform, which offers different benefits that differentiate it from other similar software, for example; Security is critical and indispensable for APIs, but DreamFactory makes it easy enough for its users, it has specifications that applications must follow to communicate with each other, and the user interface facilitates human-software interaction. This tool has a type of API that turns out to be innovative, this because it provides users with all the essential middleware content so that they can create continuous and powerful connections between a wide number of systems, without worrying about technical or infrastructure scopes. The software allows you to attach your systems or databases to the system itself, which makes DreamFactory a fully flexible and automated function tool, the latter could also be highlighted as being compatible with different equipment and operating systems.
What do you dislike?
I had a few mishaps to set up the app at first, despite having read and gone through the manuals over and over and watching video tutorials on how to use it, it took me longer than estimated, plus updates are usually very invasive.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Because DreamFactory is designed to be security shielded, easy to use, flexible to customize, and with various options to be expandable, I have been able to satisfy most of the needs that APIs need.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you only need to use the basic functions of the API, it is best to use the free version, so you can avoid both increasing the cost and making the tool unnecessarily more complex.


    DV

The latest version does not let you connect to MySQL

  • April 06, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Very Disappointed, have been using this since 2017. Activated the latest version of bitnami dream factory on AWS, only to find out that you need to spend an extra $499 a month with dream factory to upgrade to the silver version to connect to MySQL database.

That feature use to be part of the existing service/package.

Therefore, if your looking to use this version, it wont work with mysql databases.


    fernanda e.

it is a very intuitive and useful tool to manage

  • July 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
is a great tool that allows you to manage and carry out the control and proper handling of the data handled by the entire work team, thus helping to improve the performance of the entire work team.
What do you dislike?
When you want to debug problems, it does not allow you to do it for me to be the main inconvenient because I try to eliminate information and do not allow it to be done.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Thanks to this tool, it is easy to access and manage all the data that is handled by the work team, thus facilitating the organization and accessibility of said data.


    Junior C.

Agile, robust and flexible, as it should be

  • June 22, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of connecting relational data sources with file systems and objects, generating understandable and extraneous powerful APIs in a few clicks, coupled with ACL control and triggered script processing in internal API events, is extremely scalable, run it all on the infrastructure provider I want.
What do you dislike?
Debugging scripts is not always easy, deploying role modifications also requires extra attention. A command line tool to represent configuration state through code would be very welcome.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With DF it was possible to envelop the legacy systems that we have, adopting a granular strategy in the migration to microservices. Centralizing access control with support for several roles for different types of users and applications was a significant milestone for us. We reduced implementation time and kept the team lean.


    James C.

DreamFactory is like the Ruby on Rails for APIs

  • January 30, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
DreamFactory provides you commercially ready APIs instantly via what I guess you could call an API Framework. Many of the decisions are made for you, and intentionally so. Building APIs is mundane and involved, so a tool that moves you through this process fast by automatically providing best practices allows our team to focus on higher value add tasks.
DreamFactory is also very lightweight and fast for a full lifecycle API Management tool. By that I mean that you don't need to firstly incorporate an enterprise message bus that realistically requires its own full time developer. As DreamFactory is ROA based, you don't need to worry about this.
The API orchestration afforded by DreamFactory is also fantastic. The ability to incorporate multiple, unrelated data sources in single API calls enables us to develop some great services that would otherwise be cumbersome.
What do you dislike?
The UI is a little dated, but this in no way takes away from the functionality.

Some of the documentation was a little lacking (the wiki), but the new guide that has just been released has been a fantastic resource for us on how to leverage the solution to its fullest.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We digitized our quality assurance process in our manufacturing plant from a previously paper based system using DreamFactory in combination with AppSheet (AppSheet for the front-end). This mobile application using dynamic forms and plugging live data from multiple systems saved a big time delay for our production line, and also reduced duplicated data entry & human error.
We additionally had a number of legacy data sources that we modernized, especially moving from difficult SOAP APIs to standardized REST APIs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Have a call with them. We had a senior engineer on the first call, so fitting our need to their solution was very easy.


    Dylan S.

Absolutely invaluable

  • July 12, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
DreamFactory has saved us countless development hours by providing an extremely easy way to bridge our data sources. Before we replaced our homegrown solution with DreamFactory, we constantly had to make code updates on our end. Now it all happens behind the scenes without any manual intervention.

One feature that we didn't know existed at first is the abiliity to write you own transformation scripts/routines. You can think of it as a the "T" layer in a ETL process, but applied directly to your API. This was our original concern with using DreamFactory, but after seeing they had this already bulit-in, it washed all our concerns away. They have this stuff set up really well.
What do you dislike?
We haven't run into any issues with the product yet. It's a pretty intuitive UI so all of our team members have been able to get up and running pretty quickly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have many disparate data sources that we need to eventually aggregate into an API, and a lot of transforming that needs to happen as well. This is all plug-n-play with DreamFactory.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
They have an OSS version of their software. I recommend giving it a spin.


    Josiah R.

Great product, great support

  • June 26, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Dreamfactory is super easy to configure new endpoints in. Connecting to both closed and open source dbms is easy and the consistent way of exposing endpoints take make libraries of code really easy to reuse. The support is also really good - often just a few second on chat.
What do you dislike?
The hardest part are the upgrades. For a mission critical app, downtime needs to be minimal. The upgrades certainly don't require much downtime, but it does .ean we have to do upgrades off hours.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Rapid application development, secure data communication .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
They provide excellent support and are will to work with you to get your environment set up. Even for free users, the forums are pretty good.


    SoonHin K.

DreamFactory Custom API Development

  • June 26, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Just a few clicks and cut-and-paste of Swagger-based API endpoints definition to create a serverless custom API endpoints.
What do you dislike?
The editor to write serverless function to handle endpoints does not support versioning, and there is no advanced real-time error checking feature.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are trying to map