Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 6 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

This is the Official CentOS 6 x86_64 HVM image that has been built with a minimal profile. The image contains just enough packages to run within AWS, bring up an SSH Server and allow users to login. If you intend to run CentOS-6/x86_64 images, this one is recommended. CentOS.org intends to keep these... See more

Customer Reviews

34
Create Your Own Review

CentOS

  • By Swamped
  • on 04/27/2015

CentOS let's me run the apps I need without surprises. I've tried other distros but keep coming back to CentOS. It works as advertised.


Very good to use

  • By Dev.Project UP
  • on 04/15/2015

this ami very good, Thank you so much I have a good to see you.
good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good


Why no cloud-init?

  • By UC2S-PAL1
  • on 03/25/2015

This AMI lacks the cloud-init package. This means that it cannot be configured via user-data. Please add cloud-init to this AMI so that instances can be configured programmatically via user-data.


Volume resize procedure

  • By Adam Adamou
  • on 02/28/2015

Here is the gist to resize your disk after selecting a larger than 8GB volume:

fdisk /dev/xvda
u #Change the display to sectors
p #Print info
d #Delete the partition
n #New partition
p #Primary partition
1 #Partition number
2048 #First sector
Press Enter to accept the default
p #Print info
a #Toggle the bootable flag
1 #Select partition 1
w #Write table to disk and exit

reboot

After it comes back do:

resize2fs /dev/xvda1

verify the new disk size:
df -h


Regarding Default Partition Resizing

  • By Ramiel Barsoum
  • on 02/10/2015

Yes, this AMI is configured with LVM. Meaning scaling and resizing the partition is different than just using the resize2fs command. However, this can be learned:

https://www.centos.org/docs/5/html/Cluster_Logical_Volume_Manager/index.html

You have to learn how LVM works to learn how to resize it.
However, there does seem to be great advantage in this as you can keep adding volumes and expanding the LVMs as desired with the same logical volume. Seems very scale-able.

Good luck!
BTW, this may be the best CentOS 6 image for my needs, so learning it was necessary.

As for Additional IP addressing on the same Network Interface this greatly helped me out:

http://www.tecmint.com/create-multiple-ip-addresses-to-one-single-network-interface/


Partition Size

  • By Darryl Kuhn
  • on 02/02/2015

As others have written it's a pain to resize the root partition of this AMI - but it is doable. It took me quite a bit of googling but this post https://forums.aws.amazon.com/thread.jspa?messageID=539484 by eyefreight-admin contains the steps necessary to resize the partition successfully. One note what that I had to run resize2fs after completing the steps and rebooting. Hope this helps the next person down the line.


Great machine for a server

  • By James Johnson
  • on 01/21/2015

This machine worked very well for me. I set it up to run Oracle database and applications and it presented no difficulties. Yum package management is great.

Being HVM, I believe I can scale the instance type up or down as needed using the current generation of available machines, but haven't tried this yet.

Boots to 'root' by default.


How can I add Network Interface and private IP in CentOS?

  • By Johnky Ng
  • on 01/17/2015

I have already added the network interface and IPs from AWS panel, but what i should do in CentOS?


Root volume resizing works just fine

  • By HTG, Limited
  • on 12/28/2014

When launching a new instance I (hopefully) set my root volume to 80GB. Using cfdisk to adjust partition sizes (keep the offset the same), and resize2fs to grow the filesystem worked just as I expected it to.

Removed one start because this and the selinux default settings are just annoying.


Don't Use This AMI

  • By Dustin L.
  • on 12/11/2014

This AMI can not be resized. As with the other reviews this NEEDS to be addressed. What can you do with a 8GB drive?