Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 6 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

Centos.org | 2002_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 6 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

34 AWS reviews

External reviews

207 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


4-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Ronix

Works Perfectly1

  • July 05, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

To you goofballs who are complaining about the root partition size: "You can create it with a 100G partition if you want, but 1-click launch won't work. You may actually have to click 2-3 times! Click manual launch and then add storage and then click launch - it may take you a whole 5 seconds longer."


    Brian C

Always the one I use, but why no t2.nano support?

  • February 19, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I actively use this build for my own needs as well as those of my clients. The 8GB partition is not a problem since in most cases that is plenty for a web/app server. In the few cases where more space is needed its trivial to add an EBS volume for that. I've never had a problem logging in as the instructions explain.

My only complaint at this point is why can I not build a t2.nano instance? If I select the CentOS 7 AMI from the same it is available. CentOS 7 being based on SystemD isn't even an option. I guess the time has come to start standardizing on FreeBSD instead.


    SeboLabs

ssh using private key still prompts for password

  • January 21, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Recently I've been using ami-bc8131d4 for lab purposes.
After I've built a custom image with Packer using above ami as a source and then created an instance using Terraform I couldn't connect as root with associated key pair. I've been asked for password.
I got it working by injecting 'PasswordAuthentication no' to sshd_config and public key to authorized_keys while building my image.
Anybody had an issue like that and knows the reason of this behaviour?


    Kumar Subramanian

login fails for root on the latest version

  • October 20, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

root login seems to be disbled on 2015-09-28 version.
however root login works on 2014-09-28 version.
Hopefully CentOS team take a note of this


    Enzo

by the moment work as well

  • October 04, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Is certain that the max default volume is 8GB, but applying the second short guide of NCBI - SRA was solved.

Thanks


    HTG, Limited

Root volume resizing works just fine

  • December 28, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

When launching a new instance I (hopefully) set my root volume to 80GB. Using cfdisk to adjust partition sizes (keep the offset the same), and resize2fs to grow the filesystem worked just as I expected it to.

Removed one start because this and the selinux default settings are just annoying.


    dgFactor Network Technology Co., Ltd.

Can't mount root device on another instance

  • November 10, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Sometimes I need to extend the root partition, so I try mount root device on another instance, but it fails. I hope to improve this part in the future.


showing 1 - 7