Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 6 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

This is the Official CentOS 6 x86_64 HVM image that has been built with a minimal profile. The image contains just enough packages to run within AWS, bring up an SSH Server and allow users to login. If you intend to run CentOS-6/x86_64 images, this one is recommended. CentOS.org intends to keep these... See more

Customer Reviews

8
  • 8
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0
Create Your Own Review

5-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

Clean and with cloud-init support

  • By Florent Dutheil
  • on 11/05/2015

I was struggling getting a shell script in EC2 user-data to work, when I realized I was using deprecated official CentOS AMIs that was lacking cloud-init support. I upgraded to this one (thanks to the official documentation: https://wiki.centos.org/Cloud/AWS) and I'm happy to see it is already included.
So, OK, maybe root ssh login is disabled, but nothing prevents you from getting it back using a small user-data script:
#!/bin/bash
sed -i -e 's/^.*\(ssh.*$\)/\1/' /root/.ssh/authorized_keys


No surprises

  • By Walker Hale
  • on 08/03/2015

I wanted CentOS 6, and that is exactly what I got. No tricks, nothing special, just CentOS 6. It comes up as CentOS 6.5, which you can update to 6.6 in a couple of minutes (and then snapshot). I just used it as a way of testing Drupal 7 before running it locally. Easy.


CentOS

  • By Swamped
  • on 04/27/2015

CentOS let's me run the apps I need without surprises. I've tried other distros but keep coming back to CentOS. It works as advertised.


Very good to use

  • By Dev.Project UP
  • on 04/15/2015

this ami very good, Thank you so much I have a good to see you.
good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good good


Volume resize procedure

  • By Adam Adamou
  • on 02/28/2015

Here is the gist to resize your disk after selecting a larger than 8GB volume:

fdisk /dev/xvda
u #Change the display to sectors
p #Print info
d #Delete the partition
n #New partition
p #Primary partition
1 #Partition number
2048 #First sector
Press Enter to accept the default
p #Print info
a #Toggle the bootable flag
1 #Select partition 1
w #Write table to disk and exit

reboot

After it comes back do:

resize2fs /dev/xvda1

verify the new disk size:
df -h


Regarding Default Partition Resizing

  • By Ramiel Barsoum
  • on 02/10/2015

Yes, this AMI is configured with LVM. Meaning scaling and resizing the partition is different than just using the resize2fs command. However, this can be learned:

https://www.centos.org/docs/5/html/Cluster_Logical_Volume_Manager/index.html

You have to learn how LVM works to learn how to resize it.
However, there does seem to be great advantage in this as you can keep adding volumes and expanding the LVMs as desired with the same logical volume. Seems very scale-able.

Good luck!
BTW, this may be the best CentOS 6 image for my needs, so learning it was necessary.

As for Additional IP addressing on the same Network Interface this greatly helped me out:

http://www.tecmint.com/create-multiple-ip-addresses-to-one-single-network-interface/


Great machine for a server

  • By James Johnson
  • on 01/21/2015

This machine worked very well for me. I set it up to run Oracle database and applications and it presented no difficulties. Yum package management is great.

Being HVM, I believe I can scale the instance type up or down as needed using the current generation of available machines, but haven't tried this yet.

Boots to 'root' by default.


How can I add Network Interface and private IP in CentOS?

  • By Johnky Ng
  • on 01/17/2015

I have already added the network interface and IPs from AWS panel, but what i should do in CentOS?


showing 1 - 8