Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

Centos.org | 2002_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

66 AWS reviews

External reviews

208 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

One of best Open source Enterprise Server OS

  • September 25, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Stability and availability of packages without worrying much about the license cost. It truly free nature is what makes it stand out with no compromise in features offered
What do you dislike?
Nothing much but still the ease of installing packages in licensed OS is much easy as some thing are custom build for them and easy to manage
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it for training and hosting Machine learning models on cloud provider. So CentOS is able to provide everything needed for training complex models and also server request for users


    Mining & Metals

Cisco Webex

  • August 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
User friendly, maximum participation can be done. Easy to connect with others without any calling charges.
What do you dislike?
Screen sharing and audio connectivity is not much good
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Any time connectivity with anyone.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes I do recommend others for it.


    Pranav M.

The best distribution system

  • August 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its a very robust and pretty popular amonst system administrators, devops engineers because of its stable nature and reduction in cost is another benefit.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing that I dislike about it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's a pretty stable system and since release cycles are longre, applications do not need to be updated often.


    Leopoldo .

Great option for enterprise environments

  • August 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's open source but, at the same time, it has all features present in Red Hat Enterprise Linux.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes, the upgrades between major versions can get messy.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've installed full production environments with high availability Oracle Database without problems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Install the minimal server and start from that, avoid the graphic desktop unless necessary.


    George K.

Centos for everyone

  • August 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Centos it's a free version of Redhat and you can have an OS to do all your test
What do you dislike?
It does not have compatibility with all packages
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mostly RedHat issues on which I do not have license


    Simon K.

Its the my preferred web hosting servers and OS

  • August 04, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is the my preferred web hosting server and operating system on web server. It ensures that users have a secured operating system. Best part is that it has got great features and its very economical to use.
What do you dislike?
Nothing as such. May be support on issues can be improved.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use CentOS as this is my preferred web hosting server and operating system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it. Its nice and stable and free.


    AWS long time user

Not working ATM

  • July 29, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Tried to launch this instance for 3 times now and am not able to connect properly.

Hope it gets fixed soon.

2 people found this helpful

    Elena G.

Great operating system for all your web hosting needs

  • July 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's basically a free version of the highly successful RedHat Linux distribution. You can get almost same features for free, without paying thousands of the dollars for the technical support. If you're technically savy, and you do, as otherwise you won't use Linux, it's exactly what you need. If you need a support, the CentOS community is pretty active and knowledgeable, so you won't be in trouble. My decision to select that flavor of Linux for our needs was mostly informed by my previous experience with the RedHat systems . All the packages that I need were easy to find and install using the yum.
What do you dislike?
It's mostly question of taste. You need to get used to the Redhat-specific tools, like yum package manager. You can get into some troubles configuring selinux as well. Due to the presense a lot of Redhat-specific stuff, the system is not lightweight on memory and processor resources.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I mostly use CentOS as a web-hosting platform for the nginx web server, used together with gunicorn to host django web applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You could look at another distributions like Debian - they are also worth your consideration.


    Anónimo

1/2 check passed

  • July 20, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

EC2 statucs checks report 1/2 check passed.
- System status checks passed
- Instance status checks failed.

Don't waste your time on this image.

2 people found this helpful

    Computer Software

High Speed database server similar to RH Linux

  • June 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS can be used to interconnect different webservers. This is quiet a stable and a robust operating system.
What do you dislike?
Updates to the server are time consuming
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is useful as a Webserver and a Database server.It helps for application development.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly secure and user friendly OS. Please go for it.