Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

Centos.org | 2002_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

67 AWS reviews

External reviews

242 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    DELIVER Plus

Works great after a little setup

  • October 22, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We were looking for a bare bones install to play with CentOS 7 before deploying in a production environment and this image is perfect for that.

The AWS instructions say to connect as root but the image forced us to connect as centos. Once we were in, we were able to use sudo to set a strong password for the root user and su to root. We realize that logging in as root in a production environment is a bad thing but for testing we expect full root access. Glad this image gave us that ability...hope it doesn't get taken away.


    Thomas Jones

At least It's better than their CentOS 6 AMIs...

  • October 21, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

To be honest, the AMIs from CentOS.Org are generally disappointing. While they're great starting points for creating more useful AMIs, they're not otherwise well-suited for generic use.

While it's nice that they're finally releasing AMIs with cloud-init, it's a bit disappointing that the AWS cli tools aren't included. It's really not that hard to export the SRPMs from an Amazon Linux instance and build them for other instance types. So, really not sure why CentOS doesn't include them. It's literally five minutes worth of work (if'you've scripted the process out). That they don't even include the awscli package from either pypi or from S3 is even more disappointing - as there's next to zero work to install that package.

Why is this a gripe-point for me? No AWS CLI tools greatly limits what you can do with your AMI: there's little point attaching an instance role if you've got no tools to make use of that role; if you want to make use of the HVM optimized drivers, no AWS RPMs means you're kinda boned, too.


    obamacs

nice tool

  • October 08, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I am new user,I am studying how tio use this ,what i can say is that the service of AWS is excellent

Obama cs


    The MistConjurer

Flawless Performace

  • September 28, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

CentOS 7 flows like a calm, gentle and crystal-clear stream on a star-filled cloudless night.

Keep in mind though that SELinux is enabled by default. Depending on your need, you may need to either disable it or set it to permissive.

However, this is NOT recommended. Learn how to use SELinux properly with its Mandatory Access Control; it is a life-saver.

Three hearty cheers to the CentOS (upstream and downstream) and AWS team.

Hip, Hooray! Hip, Hooray!! Hip, Hooray!!!


    Vasili Syrakis

Can't launch via API

  • September 03, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I would rate 5 stars if it could be used to launch EC2 instances via the API... Apparently I need to accept terms and subscribe (which I've already done).


    marco

almost flawless

  • August 26, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

/etc/cloud/cloud.cfg should come with set_hostname and update_hostname disabled by default, or configured in such a way that they don't override the hostname settings done in the OS.
I used all the well-known ways, but the cloud script would always override them and use the ip-<IP> name instead.
This caused some unnecessary problems. Other than that, all OK.
Thanks for providing an AWS-optimized CentOS 7 image.


    Natalia

OK!

  • August 23, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Thank you for engineers AWS CentOS 7 perfect choice!
This best operating system for various services enterprise!
Thanks also to the Linux developer community!


    Matt

Excellent product that works out of the box

  • August 16, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This distribution of Centos 7 worked like a dream out of the box. No hassles. No problems. Easy to understand and nothing that is not needed. It is a basic "slim" install but it is easy to install additional services if required.

Highly recommended - the price is right and the product works right out of the box.


    Phil Porada

Can't really ask for more

  • August 04, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

CentOS 7 provides you with DJB's curve25519 support, a newer Apache, systemd unit files instead of the init collection of shell scripts, and a further out EOL. Don't get me wrong, init shell scripts definitely require skill to write and upgrade, but sometimes you want a little more simplicity.


    Alan Peart

The best Centos7 image I have ever installed

  • July 28, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This was definitely at least 2 versions greater than Centos5 and may even have been greater than Centos6. If you intend to install Centos7 this is without a doubt one of your options.