Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

Centos.org | 2002_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

66 AWS reviews

External reviews

217 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Hugo Rodrigues

It work's just as expected

  • February 01, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

CentOS is running smoothly on my EC2. I totally recommend.
I works like expected and I can pretty do much every thing that I do on my local CentOS installation.


    Logan M. Byrd "The Light in the Attic"

Great Minimal CentOS 7 AMI

  • January 21, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

CentOS is a great operating system. This AMI launches rapidly, and gives you a stable, minimalist CentOS 7 build from which to build whatever project you have in mind. I'll certainly use this for future projects.


    Joe Greene

64bit only is not a functional spec at this time

  • January 12, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The new CentOS 7 is attempting to join Red Hat Enterprise in going strictly 64bit with no 32bit binary support. This has numerous issues with backward compatibility and with many current applications. For instance wine is not functional in such an environemtn because too much software is still 32bit


    Nguyen Huy Tuan

total solutions for web server is AWS

  • December 22, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

AWS this is the best services for my company.
Centos the best choice for a secure, fast, stable linux os.
www.nhtdata.com


    Anthony E.

Just Makes Cents!

  • December 16, 2014
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love the community-driven, open-source aspect of CentOS. Being fairly new to Linux, I was able to find answers to all of my questions by utilizing community efforts and ultimately was able to create a file/email server from ground-up off of a bare-bones installation. CentOS is a highly-stable, enterprise-ready solution for anyone seeking an open-source framework for their server needs.
What do you dislike?
Being accustomed to Windows, CentOS poses its own set of challenges when making the jump to Linux. My dislikes all stem from nothing more than lack of experience and working knowledge at this point - again all my questions have been answered thus-far by seeking assistance online through forums and technology articles. CentOS has proven to be a great platform capable of everything I have looked into.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using CentOS I am currently hosting a file and email server, web-login portal, calendar and interactive online documents (word processing, spreadsheets, etc.) ~ The cost benefits alone are astronomical, as everything I have used is free and open-source.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure to utilize the outstanding community knowledge-base when seeking answers!


    Fábio Berger

Nice overall

  • December 10, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This AMI works very well and I was able to smoothly install CPanel on it
The only issue was that I had to expand the volume, and I couldn't make the filesystem to grow simply using resize2fs
I had to follow instructions here: https://forums.aws.amazon.com/thread.jspa?messageID=539484

Other than that, system is running smoothly.


    EUROPA s.a.s.

Amazing version

  • November 13, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

As always, CentOS is the best choice for a secure, fast, stable and lightweight distro for a server linux based.
Compliant with legacy unix rules and structure, but, in the same time, easy to administer.
IMHO… the best.


    FocalX Solutions

Upgrade need quite some learning curve

  • November 08, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Upgrade between CentOS 6 to 7 is quite some different than 5 to 6 or even 4 to 5. CentOS 7 has some fundamental changes that require you to re-establish your admin routine.
Some of the big changes include but not limited to:
1. systemd replacing System V Init
2. MariaDB replacing MySQL
3. firewalld replacing iptables ip6tables
4. Kernel 3.1
5. XFS supported by default instead of ext4
6 Docker container support

Unless you have been following Fedora closely, you may have quite some learning curve before get use to admin CentOS 7.

Also, EPEL repository is still quite empty. So, for production, I would recommend to stay with 6.5 for a little longer.


    A.S.

Exactly what you want

  • November 01, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Seemed harder to find than it should have been, but exactly what your looking for in most cases. Just the clean minimal official CentOS 7.


    Jörg Baldzer

Simple, Easy, Straight forward CentOS 7 AMI

  • October 22, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

If you need basic CentOS 7 image without any additional services you came to the right place.
From here, anyone can customize his system to his needs. So you know what system you are running based on a trusted AMI from the folks at CentOS.