Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

Centos.org | 2002_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

66 AWS reviews

External reviews

208 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Unhappy engineer

Not working, simply.

  • June 17, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

As of June 17, 2020,
I tried to lauch an instance with this image,
but failed to connect with it.

EC2 statucs checks report 1/2 check passed.
- System status checks passed
- Instance status checks failed.

Don't waste your time on this image.

1 person found this helpful

    Jonathan M.

One of the best OS for anything

  • June 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its easy to management, so much versatil, one of the most stable Sistem for business infraestructure,
What do you dislike?
if you use graphical tools its little heave.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it for solved network service like dns, dhcp, webserver, backup solution, monitoring network.
Its stable os, update and easy to management
Recommendations to others considering the product:
make a good sizing for the implementation, and know what service you need


    Information Technology and Services

Enjoy Linux environment With CentOS

  • April 24, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is providing a rich base platform for open source communities to build upon. It dose't need to pay license fee to set up a test environment. It is much better than the rest and it is free no more dependency on license.
What do you dislike?
This is a wonderful thing, there is nothing to dislike it, even it is much easier than the other Operating systems.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I do it in office work and I do it with all the assignments in which I do not have any problem It is very smart and also a battery saver It does not hang even in video conferences, playing games or working on different windows it is easy to operate.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is very good and very cheap and it is very easy to operate, it should be used to every organization and it should be recommended to everyone.


    Maximiliano P.

The best open source Linux server OS

  • March 22, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is stable, robust, has most of the advantages RHEL has and it has few compatibility issues. The updates and maintenance of the community is strong as well. You will find most of the issues you might encounter already posted on serveral forums all around the web.
It is my first choice for servers running RDBMS, BI suites, Python scripting, etc. It has great memory handling and is one of the most used Linux server OS.
And last but not least, it's free.
What do you dislike?
The documentation is somewhat limited and not always clear.
You have no support other than the community and your knowledge.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are implementing MicroStrategy latest versions, Web servers, WAS, RDBMS such as MySQL, PostgreSQL, Oracle, Hadoop distributions such as cloudera and many more.
I've even used it for Radius servers and Pentaho server for ETL. Even a Wiki with mediawiki software.
It's memory handling and stability makes it a great choice, it's uptime is excellent and it is easy to tune.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try to use the OS for lab cases and in Virtual Machines prior of trying to implement or use in a production environment. I like to get knowledge by hands on cases and is the way I always recommend.


    Justin S.

Enterprise Linux for enterprise-grade stability

  • March 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is built for stability from the ground up, and it shows in the release model: there's an initial release, and not a whole lot changes for the next ten years. In an age where competitors like Microsoft and Apple are rushing to shove new features out the door as soon as possible, it's a refreshing change of pace.
What do you dislike?
The stability inherent in CentOS can become something of a downside over time as its core components become outdated. However, this is less of an issue with recent releases like CentOS 8, where the "application stream" architecture lets you install more recent versions of software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We're using CentOS almost anywhere we use Linux in our server infrastructure - CIFS file servers, backup servers, VPN servers, and so on.

As compared to Ubuntu, which I know some people prefer, we've found that CentOS is more stable, easier to maintain (since there are great certifications for it), and I imagine more secure based on the fewer number of security issues reported in CentOS.


    Computer Software

Secure and Reliable

  • February 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Updated repositories, Firewall, SELinux, performance.
What do you dislike?
GUI Interface. GUI version of CentOS can be much better when competing with Ubuntu.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Database, Mail Server, Samba Share, FTP, NFS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use CentOS especially for MySQL, Zimbra Mail and Web Server


    Wireless

Free Linux flavour OS

  • January 06, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
-Stable and Fast operating system
-Portable file system
-Yum utility or repo
What do you dislike?
In case of crash, we can retrieve root directory files only by another CentOs root user .
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
-Execution of python scripts
-Bash file execution
-Using it as application server by deploying tomcat.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
-Best terminal interface
-Stable and free OS
-Installation through yum is easier.


    Education Management

The "free" version of the most used linux distro.

  • November 13, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOs provides exactly the same features as the RHEL, but for free. The Os is really stable and it can be used in a small server all way up to complex clusters.
What do you dislike?
As any open-source software, it does not have a premium support. However, you can easily find documentation on the internet.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Servers for machine learning training. CentOS support all the tools that I need (tensorflow, python, Keras, etc.)


    Higher Education

10 years of using CentOS

  • November 13, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
its a user friendly, open source, hardware friendly, fast, easy to deploy, ease of use, vast community support, lots of vrieties available, different architectures, no cost no expense.
What do you dislike?
i have spent almost ten years in usingt centos for my servers, but hardly find any issue except one. if you miss any thing during confgiuration it becomes difficult to reset it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
almost available for all type of server
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best open source Server Operating system


    Education Management

The free version of one of the best Linux flavours.

  • November 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We all know RedHat and we all know the high price tags that comes with it. CentOS is the basically the same thing, but for free. I love this linux distribution, it's reliable and there are tons of help online
What do you dislike?
Nothing too bad. As any open source software, there isn't a support number to call when you have an issue, you have to figure it out by yourself. But, I like this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I run Machine Learning experiments for my research. CentOs is a light linux distribution and supports the main ML tools (TensorFlow, etc.)