Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

CentOS.org | 2002_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

70 AWS reviews

External reviews

267 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Saqib M.

My organization's favorite Linux OS

  • May 06, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is an opensource Linux operating system. However, it is highly stable and reliable despite being an opensource OS. if you need to spin up a server with Linux that should be free, stable, highly reliable, and is based on RedHat, go with CentOS. In my organization, we use either Ubuntu or CentOS. However, most of our Linux servers are CentOS as they are better in terms of manageability, control, and security. CentOS are shipped with SELinux which makes the security of the services hosted on your linux box more secure. Although the update releases are very infrequent, the OS and upgrages are very stable. I personally never had any issue with any upgrade that was made to CentOS boxes. There was no instance where we had to roll back the uograde due to some failures or downtime. CentOS is supported by the RedHat community and is compatible with all the enterprise/business related appication that your organization may need a linux box for.
What do you dislike?
Low documentation and small development community is one the downsides of CentOS. Updates and patches come out once in a while. Not enough Knowledge Base articles are found on the internet either. The only support you could provide to youe CentOS is by yourself by looking up articles on internet. There is no customer support for the CentOS unlike RedHat. This is fine if you want to save licenses cost.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use CentOS operating system for our Linux needs in my organization. We host different kinds of services, from webservers to kubernetes clusters, on the CentOS servers. CentOS saves us the licensing cost. If my organization had to go with RedHat, we would have paid a fortune for licenses. CentOS comes with all the features like RedHat but at the cost of infrequent patches and updates.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CentOS is a Free and strong Linux operating system and will meet your requirements most of the times without paying for any license. If you're fine with infrequent updates and patches for linux and want to save money by not paying for licenses, CentOS may be a good choice for you.


    Suresh k.

The CentOS

  • May 04, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has good security features and a lot of packages are available for use.
What do you dislike?
It take usually more space than other linux version and less user friendly as compare to other.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it for creating our hosting servers.


    Sumit K.

CentOS: stable, reliable, and secure Linux distribution

  • April 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's open-source and that's the best thing about it. It's also brother of RedHat if you don't wanna spent money on RedHat license then go for Centos.
What do you dislike?
Default GUI is not very good but you can install other GUI's.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Centos for my personal use and i configured and installed all the NoSql databases and also created CDH cluster using five centos servers.


    Arvind S.

First step to learn redhat

  • April 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Similar to RedHat without any fee, easy to install and use.
What do you dislike?
Repository doesn't contain all the softwares
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Learning the redhat and testing the new application in Dev environment


    Jose C.

The free software of moment

  • April 16, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love this software because it Is the base plataform of all the software that i use anda above allí it Is friendly with the servers that i use, taking inti account that ir Is free,it Is robusto and solid
What do you dislike?
I do not like that it has updates that área not controlled since something The last deliverables of the versións áre not tested and there may be inconssistencies in their implementation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS allows me to have control of my software s. And specially of the plataforma of either database of internal anda External , applications of my company , saving the cost of renting outsourced services.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I can recommend it since for the entire technomogical platform it Is indispensable AND necesary , every enginner should try this software.


    Computer Software

Lightly system and easy to use

  • February 01, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The system offer all you need to work and with his big community you can get help anywhere to grow up you business
What do you dislike?
He is low in a lite hardware to work with good you need a good hardware
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creating a web server


    Media Production

Secure and Reliable OS

  • January 31, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is robust and secured. It is working well as the backbone of Nutanix main cluster. It is installed on all the central VMs of all nutanix nodes which are responsible of handling the cluster.
What do you dislike?
Need to have a good knowledge to use commands for a user who is more use to with the Windows OS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is installed on the central VMs on all the cluster nodes of cluster. Handling all the jobs and process of the cluster. The OS is robust and reliable that it can be fixed, if there is any issue happened, with very little efforts and time spent.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

A stable and free Linux for enterprise level use.

  • January 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Stable and package management system, the way to manage services.
What do you dislike?
Not too much. No fancy UI and centos 7 change a lot from centos 6.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Centos serves as a primary server OS for most of my services. It is easy to configure and maintain.


    Iwan H.

CentOS 8 Linux is free, stable and lite.

  • January 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS 8 is very stable and I have never experienced crash while using it. It is far more stable than its predecessor, CentOS 7.
What do you dislike?
I will ever missed CentOS 8 Linux, since Red Hat will end its lifetime and support at the end of 2021.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use CentOS 7 to deploy my project on the cloud. CentOS Linux is the best OS for both desktop and server I have ever used.


    Chandrashekhar Y.

Most secure OS among all

  • January 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
So light weight and so secure. No bloatware and no extra ads. Just work to work. You will find all the necessary software for your daily use and that too in the simplest way possible.

Interface is very simple and clear. There is no fancy thing inside this OS. Just install it and start doing your work.
What do you dislike?
Although interface is simple, I will urge CentOS team to make it little attractive. Make all the software available for this version. Make sure once people switch to CentOS, they won't go away.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am a developer in my company and the software or website which we develop, are under great security and we are hereby use CentOS, highly secured and super fast. Optimization of RAM is so powerfull that we don't ever have any lagging issue.

Top of that CentOS doesn't have any bloatware and ads so we are rest assured that we are not exposed to any security.

Being a developer, we don't want to rely on any third party software to work on. CentOS provides all the necessary setup to feel like home.