Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

TIBCO Spotfire® Analytics for AWS (Hourly)

TIBCO Software Inc. | 12.2.0

Windows, Windows Server 2019 with SQL Server 2019 Express Windows 2019 Server - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews

External reviews

227 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Farming

Not for large data sets

  • November 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nice visuals
Some easy config available
Allow users to quickly see data
What do you dislike?
Slow to load initial with large data sets
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Display kpis around customers nps
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do a poc to validate performance


    Management Consulting

Good

  • October 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Good data integration and visualization features.
What do you dislike?
Lack of flexibility with filters, sizes , formats and documentation.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Reporting for analytics and visualizations .


    Information Technology and Services

Spotfire - Great tool for data visualization and data analysis

  • September 07, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I really enjoy using this tool. I can easily put in graphics all the information I gather with Excel. This tool is very easy to setup and use. I consider that Spotfire is one of the best analytics software. My organization had the Spotfire platform service.

Other item that is very valuable is the processing time it takes to generate the report considering the amount of data. Maybe if I run a macro in excel with the multiple files the PC could collapse or crash, but with Spotfire the server makes it really fast.
What do you dislike?
Support does not support and sometimes they don't have replies to our questions.

and Drill down in the same chart is not available.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Implemented for Supply chain management project. It helps customer to remove the manual work of maintaining excel sheet and had automated the process.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great visualization tool. Should be tried by everyone.


    Patricio S.

Very useful

  • September 06, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I really enjoy using this tool. I can easily put in graphics all the information I gather with Excel. This tool is very easy to setup and use. I consider that Spotfire is one of the best analytics software. My organization had the Spotfire platform service. There is also other option that is Spotfire Cloud. Don't know how that one works, but looks like another good option.
Other item that is very valuable is the processing time it takes to generate the report considering the amount of data. Maybe if I run a macro in excel with the multiple files the PC could collapse or crash, but with Spotfire the server makes it really fast.
What do you dislike?
I do not like that this tool has to use local users to connect to the server to check the reports. I would prefer other authentication method. That is the only item I can consider as "room for improvement".
Other topic that could be considered for improvement is the way it codes the queries that it runs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Risk Management Reporting. I can consolidate information from multiple sources very fast. I use it to show Risk Management KPIs and indicators and to monitor weekly the health of the Organization's risks. I usually lead a weekly presentation where we share the spotfire report and after any amber or red numbers are shown, I just double click over the number and it takes me to the data in other sheet.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please consider that the tool uses local users.


    Juan Ignacio Z.

Useful tool

  • September 06, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is an excelent tool. I used is as a complement of excel. It has very nice and complete chart options and alouds the user to run complex pivot tables of long and heavy data tables. I work a lot with pivots and excel crashes if you use pivots of more than 70 columns and 250 mb.
The web option es also great. You can send the attendees of a meeging a link with the report and they access to a "read-only " version of the report. It is not necesarry to attach a file to an email, with the link itself is enough.
What do you dislike?
it is very difficult to write and understand the spotfire coding. If you want to add calculated columns you have to set new coding of dependencies between existing columns and the available codes are not the same as excel. It takes some time to upload heavy data bases (40 min for 250 mb).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
From my opinion, I have solved the issue of running pivot tables of heavy (more than 200 mg) data bases. It is also important to mention that is not necesary to attach the report files, you can just add the web link and with a user and password they can see (read only) a web version of the same report.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I think it is very important to pay for the "TIBCO" servers to work using an stablished library. Excel has the same functionalities but Spotfire is better in graphical options and it does not crash with pivots of heavy and long data bases


    Oil & Energy

TIBCO Spotfire - One of the best BI Analytics Reporting tool

  • August 17, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
TIBCO spotfire is one of the best BI analytics reporting tool in market. In memory visualization and build once and publish all users are best. Users can use the existing report and build their own visualizations. It can integrate well with matlab and can be enahnced with R scripting.

What do you dislike?
Expensive. Need seamless integration with all the ERP applications and unix systems as well. Report performance with increase in data volume depends on ram available on the machine.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Business Analytics Reporting, Integration with matlab


    Katie K.

TIBCO Spotfire Product Review

  • June 05, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
My company relies heavily on data analytics to provide our clients with comprehensive evaluations of their financial performance. In the past, we were restricted to using canned report templates built from our workdriver software or any existing software reporting our clients may have already had. However, once implementing Spotfire analytics into our workdriver tool, my team has been able to pull large amounts of financial data and present it in a plethora of beneficial ways for our clients. Spotfire analytics offers a user-friendly platform for analyzing, presenting, and researching hundreds of thousands of client accounts in mere seconds, and provides data visuals that are easy-to-read and meaningful for our client to better manage their organization's revenue and costs. My favorite feature is the sheer amount of data this software can handle - Spotfire can load and calculate a year's worth of my client's patient records (on average, 900,000 records) without a problem. Any other tools I've used (e.g., Microsoft Excel, Access) would instantly freeze or shut down when trying to process that much data.
What do you dislike?
Calculating custom fields in Spotfire is definitely not as intuitive as it is in more common programs, such as Microsoft Excel. Often times my team and I need to manually calculate the data in our Spotfire tool and writing expressions in Spotfire in order to plug those formulas is much harder than typical formula-writing. Spotfire uses a different set of indicators for it's formula language that is more in line with SQL writing, which can be difficult for beginners or those not familiar with coding. Additionally, Spotfire data sheets require each column of data to be categorized into a certain "type" of data so that the program can read the field values correctly and thus, calculate them correctly when needed. For example, a number field value must be listed as an "integer" data type, an alpha field value must be listed as a "string" data type, etc. The tool will initially "guess" what type of data each column has in it, but it is up to the user to manually change any that are not categorized correctly. If you do not change them, they may not calculate correctly in any of the subsequent analyses you do with that data in the tool.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our primary focus is to identify financial risks across my clients' organizations and use data analytics to troubleshoot process inefficiencies and realize benefit through improved revenue streams. As a result, my team must look at historical data records from huge, multi-facility organizations, which is often difficult given that these databases can easily exceed one million records. Spotfire analytics has changed the game for my team and my clients. It allows quick, comprehensive analyses of massive amounts of data, and as a result allows our team to solve key financial problems for our clients (e.g., "What is causing a spike in our AR days? Why has our debt population increased over the last year? What facilities/departments are bringing in the most/least revenue, and why?) much quicker. It allows my team to look at more data faster, and as a result we're able to uncover huge populations of financial risk that our client was otherwise oblivious to. We're then able to bring these numbers to light and work with our clients to implement functional/technical process improvements to prevent further financial risk.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend familiarizing yourself with case writing before you dive into this tool. When you understand the nuances of Spotfire's formulaic language, the data testing benefits of this tool are endless. You can customize data testing templates in Spotfire and configure them to automatically update every time you feed a new data file into it, so that you can test multiple iterations of files against the same template with ease. For example, my team built a Spotfire template to identify which departments in my client's organization were writing off revenue to the company's debt vendor (i.e., writing off money that will never get collected or paid) by setting the formulas up to identify a certain transaction code, and tie it back to which department in the organization had used that code. We were then able to load multiple files into the same template (e.g., financial reports from April, May, June) and analyze which departments wrote off the most debt for each month. We immediately saw a trend for a specific department, identified that risk, and were able to help our client save hundred of thousands of dollars by preventing those write-offs in the future.


    S. Roberts

Power of Spotfire at the push of a button

  • September 23, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I'm a long time Spotfire administrator but fairly new to AWS. I recently received a request from a colleague that wanted to collaborate on a Spotfire analysis with someone at another organization. Since he needed to move quickly, I decided to go with this product so I could provide external access quickly. After understanding the resource requirements, I went with r3.large and my colleague informed me the performance is amazing. It is great knowing that I can spin up Spotfire environments on demand and don't have all the overhead of managing the infrastructure. Nice job TIBCO and AWS!


    Robert Cannon "StuffGuy"

Way to expensive to get a little bit more ram/T3.medium and M3.medium don't work

  • July 12, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It's incomprehensible who in their right mind would pay 200 an hour for this. The smallest instances also don't work. With only 1 vcpu, the operating system takes all the resources and you can only view/work with the smallest instances.

On the other side though the c3/c4 medium work fine. At least if you are not using too much ram. Kind of price gauging to be able to get 8 gb of ram for 6 an hour. Sort of rediculous. If I want to integrate this into my workflow and leave it on, I don't want to spend 50 a day just to leave this software on. I can handle 10-15. But come on, let me have 8 gb of ram!!!!

I don't think they thought this one through.


    TonyT

Very good for data analysis and visualizations.

  • May 06, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Really easy to use and launch. The connectivity is really good, I have my data in RDS and Redshift and setup was really quick and you can also use it with the web author to upload and analyze your data.
The big plus is that the hourly pricing makes it really affordable even for one data analyst.