Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

TIBCO Spotfire® Analytics for AWS (Hourly)

TIBCO Software Inc. | 11.8.2

Windows, Windows Server 2019 with SQL Server 2019 Express Windows 2019 Server - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews

External reviews

238 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Vanessa B.

TIBCO Spotfire for Scientists

  • May 28, 2014
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I enjoy the dynamic visualizations of Spotfire, the ways that I can share my data with colleagues and upper management, and the different kinds of visualizations at my disposal. Visuals help me understand my data better and gain scientific insights faster.
What do you dislike?
I love the application, however I wish I had more time for training on the special tools.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I love to use Spotfire for scientific data analysis. I can look at my data in different ways and share these visualizations with my colleagues.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would do the training lessons first and then teach Spotfire to your colleagues or new hires.


    Consumer Electronics

New generation analytic tool

  • May 23, 2014
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
User interface is great. very organized visualization. It's not a S/W tool for IT professional. it is a tool for business peoples who makes a business decision and business strategy.
What do you dislike?
Web player has a performance issue. when they interact with each visualization from web browser, the reflection happened late. it caused web user complain. Limited operator functionality if Spotfire has Database link in back end.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have a lot of product line and business partners that our management team manages. Spotfire visual tool shows immediate problemed area in product group partner group.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Spotfire is truly BI visualization tool for business peoples who know operation, management, process, it is not IT oriented tool.


    Investment Management

Spotfire POC

  • May 21, 2014
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Spotfire works well with both R (using TERR) and MATLAB and even I was impressed by its very rich mathematical and statistical functions. Also it has nice UI for creating different types of charts or dashboard which is kind of easy to learn.
What do you dislike?
Although it has nice in-memory capabilities, spotfire failed to show good performance when trying to load 100+ millions rows of data. Another downside is that it has too many different ways to load data (especially with information designer) so many internal users got confused with those options.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data visualization. Definitely spotfire helps users to discover outliers easily and time to market is better than other similar products.


    Financial Services

Intuitive data discovery with in memory engine plus cloud offering

  • May 20, 2014
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Data strucuture usage in a flexible and robust way. Spotfire allows you to diirectly connect with database and lets the developers to develop powerful reports intuitively. We are to some extent were able to establish ourseleves as adata driven division within the organizations.
What do you dislike?
While spotfire is a complimentary tool to the other business intelligence tools which do not have the data ecxploration capabilities , spotfire must be used to develop visualizations which use huge datasets with the help of an in memory engine.
Error handling and client stability are two most top problems that must be addressed.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our business problem was to identify the pattern of faulty sales and service applications that have the process degradation affect and to draw the behavior of those applications and systems and correlate to the behavior of the other applications and systems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I want to iterate this is an excellent solution which compliments the other business intelligence tools


    Wendy G.

Tibco Spotfire

  • May 16, 2014
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Spotfire is user friendly, and has great visualizations available. I appreciate the filters, marking, and user interface.
I have used Spotfire daily for about 1.5 years to design dashboards, perform ad hoc data analysis, store metadata, and to store information link SQL, columns and table reference.
What do you dislike?
I find the Custom SQL functionality for information links is not as flexible as i would like. when i change the SQL, i still have to modify elements, which seem like placeholders
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We provide sales and marketing dashboards to measure financial and sales team performance. I use Spotfire for on the fly data analysis - ex comparing data from disparate sources. Identify patterns. etc.


    Nikhil P.

Self training proof of concept

  • March 31, 2014
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Easy to use
- Clean dashboarding
- Powerful data manipulation
- Web player is a good adddition
What do you dislike?
- Nothing unique to act as differentiator from competitors
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Proof of concept for possible enterprise wide adoption
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider the cost vs. benefit analysis. Competitors in this space are ahead of Spotfire in differentiators that set them apart


    Brent M.

Build clean visualization reports with robust data manipulation tool

  • November 22, 2013
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Clean and standardized visualizations built with powerful data manipulation abilities. Web-player capability is easy to set-up and deploy. Performance continues to improve with each version. Support from Tibco is quick and efficient.
What do you dislike?
Limited ability to customize visualizations and no unique visualization types. Lackluster interface and controls with data engine. Expensive to deploy to a medium and large enterprises.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Standardized format allows for easy use across a broad spectrum of users. Our users are able to promptly locate trouble with their projects and also do away with countless disparate spreadsheets and ad-hoc databases,
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Fantastic tool for building standardized reports that are readily shareable via web-player and client. Do use Spitfire if you require a strong data engine and data manipulation outside of your databases. Do not use if you need infographics or highly customized visualizations.


    Prem S. K.

An excellent and comparatively inexpensive tool to see your data trends in real-time

  • November 20, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Visually appealing, easy to use, relatively simple to learn, a huge leap over using Excel for similar tasks. Reports and dashboards can be built from Excel spreadsheets or SQL Server Databases. Charts and tables make it very easy to spot trends in real-time. Ability to customize dashboards is limited only by the user's knowledge of the system. Strong and helpful user community.
What do you dislike?
Depending on server capabilities, performance can suffer as the data feed grows larger.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Moved from an Excel-based ad-hoc reporting structure to real-time feed, so as to cut down on the number of routine ad-hoc requests, as the required data is now available to be viewed when required. This has freed up resources to concentrate on more complicated report requests.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider main competitors Cognos and Tableau, Spotfire is the best-priced and most comprehensive data reporting/visualization tool on the market.


    Computer Networking

It's a great Visulaization Tool

  • October 30, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of Use for developers and the end users, great visuals and navigation features that would allow to do the quick analysis
What do you dislike?
It does not have the ability to captures annotation on the visuals itself . Some of the reporting features like subtotals and click to drill down on the totals in not available.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Build business dashboards that are ease to use and navigate .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it to realize the benefits are against other tools like Tableau ( cannot handle huge datasets , performance issues , not easy to use ) and Qlikview ( Requires developers to write scripts )


    Financial Services

Solid data visualization extract

  • October 30, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ability to build simple quick dashboards
What do you dislike?
Still has some if the bulky feel of excel
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I pinpoint risk in data production process for Federal Reserve bank reporting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you understand core Analytics system. Spotfire is great for pulling insight from your risk models, not replacing.