Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Palo Alto Networks VM-300 Bundle 2

Palo Alto Networks | PAN-OS 9.0.9-h1.xfr

Linux/Unix, Other PAN-OS 9.0.9-h1.xfr - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

15 AWS reviews

External reviews

24 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Joe C.

Palo Alto

  • August 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's provide next generation security and able to provide deeper inspection of traffic
What do you dislike?
The gui is sometimes really slow and it takes a while to generate reports
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It provides next generation security firewall devices that are able to detect and protect against all forms of attacks
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend it base on the functions and security it provides. But there other next generation firewalls out there that may be cheaper such as fortigates fw


    Satisfied Customer

Excellent Products

  • August 20, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The Palo Alto Networks products are excellent, and I've had no problems with them to date. You can run active-passive in two AZs if you want. Just create a Lambda function to monitor the firewall and change the AWS route table if the primary firewall fails. This is not a limitation of the PAN firewalls, but rather the way AWS works. Since AWS does not offer dynamic routing, you have to handle it in a different manner.


    Ornesto

Can't run Active/Passive in different Availability Zones

  • August 08, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I spent several hours with support, and they finally told me it's not supported. AWS recommends you run in multiple Availability Zones for Redundancy and HA, but this won't work with the Palo Alto device, unless you purchase 2 per AZ.


    Michael S.

Excellent Adaptive Security Appliance

  • May 10, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Adaptive threat intelligence easily applied to protect our perimeter. Value is greater than competing products/solutions. Training and support has been better than our previous firewall solution.
What do you dislike?
Interface performance slightly slower than competing platforms (as tested in our lab.)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Securing perimeter and internal environment from lateral threats.


    Pierre L.

The absolute best in active firewalls!

  • April 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
PAN has been the best upgrade to our security since I started here almost 5 years ago. The protection and customization of these firewalls is second to none in my opinion.
What do you dislike?
There was recently an emergency content update that actually broke all of our traffic due to a DNS issue. The emergency content patch was released about 4 hours later *after) we had diagnosed and rolled back ourselves.

Granted, this was the only incident of it's type while we have been using these.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
PAN has allowed us to be more secure and proactive in our network security.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
PANs are a bit challenging to set up. We had to have consultants assist with the early stages of implementation.


    Higher Education

Leader in the firewall market.

  • April 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Palo Alto's web interface is incredibly simple to use. For such a robust firewall with so many features, it is incredibly easy to use. Documentation is abundant and I have never had an issue finding what I need.
What do you dislike?
The web interface looks a bit dated. Palo Alto is incredibly expensive and is likely only a solution for enterprise or those with a fat wallet.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Better ease of use, inspection into layer 7 traffic. We are able to catch security threats and monitor our network in extremely granular detail. Palo Alto is awesome.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Palo Alto is really enterprise level hardware. If security is a concern and your environment and budget are big, there is no one else to go with.


    Emmanuel Arenas Garcia

Fast and Secure

  • January 19, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Excellent, The VM-Series works perfectly
Pros:
-1 click deploy
-Easy to configure as Gateway, so it can inspect all traffic.
-Includes all Palo Alto Licenses.
-Better performance than the physical ones.
-BYOL option.

Cons:
-You must purchase the VM-300, it may be too much for minor requirements
-No VM-100/200 Series Bundles available


    Computer Software

Palo Alto Networks GlobalProtect is not my favorite, but gets the job done

  • January 12, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that once I'm able to establish a connection with GlobalProtect, it seems to work pretty well. Once connected, I can establish an RDP session and/or an ODBC connection to the SQL Server.
What do you dislike?
The client is difficult to start and log in. I find it necessary at times to actually kill the service and restart it before I am able to get to the settings page. I also dislike that it prevents me from accessing my local network when I'm connected to the client.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have a couple of customers who require me to use this software to connect to their site. Since I don't have a choice in the matter, it solves the connectivity issue between my PC and the customer site.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are better VPN clients available in my opinion. PaloAlto Global Networks gets the job done, but it's usually painful.


    Umeaz K.

Great product for application filtering.

  • December 11, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of Use
Reliability- Can commit changes during the day without worrying about an outage.
Great for application filtering
What do you dislike?
I wish there was an auto test feature on LAN ports. You manually have to set the port to 'monitor'
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it as an application filtering firewall on the internal network and the guest wifi. Works really well for a 2000 employee company.