Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Rocky Linux 8 w/Latest Updates

ProComputers.com | RockyLinux-8-Latest-20210724-8GiB

Linux/Unix, Other 8 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

260 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

CentOS simple and easy to use

  • October 03, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to find Information on the internet. Exemple: When you want to install new feature.
What do you dislike?
For sure it’s a Linux, Windows users will have a good learning curve.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our backup solution is running in CentOS


    Computer Software

Full featured and easy to use OS

  • September 28, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to install and support and provides the security and performance that we need in our applications and services.
What do you dislike?
running a cron job using "sudo" in the command requires a tty device even though in the OS that CentOS is based has removed that requirement a long time ago.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Deploying our Cloud-based applications in AWS. The biggest benefit has been the ease of installation and getting the system up and running.


    Nick H.

Best Server Operating System

  • September 28, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is easy to configure and is my go to operating system for running server software. Once you figure how to use it, it's really easy. The packages are updated but not often to ensure better security. You can get the minimal version which is the stripped down version so you don't have to all these packages installed that you don't use.
What do you dislike?
The GUI isn't the best but I don't really care cause all I use is the command line. CentOS 5 would run on only 256MB RAM but now CentOS 7 requires 1GB RAM and is only x64.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Provides the best stability for running servers. It's free so it's very cost effective.


    Jenn C.

CentOS experience

  • September 26, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I use the command line a lot and the centos interface is pretty good for that.
What do you dislike?
I dislike that Google Chrome browser is not compatible with CentOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My job is highly computational so this allows me to use a variety of computational analysis tools.


    Derek H.

A great option for most SMBs

  • September 22, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy package management, software updates, and administration.
What do you dislike?
Initial setup can be painful on SOME hardware. Usually this isn't a big problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have used CentOS for many of our more cost-conscious clients who are in need of a reliable server. It allows us to use very affordable hardware to produce an effective solution.


    Retail

The Best Server Distro we find

  • September 18, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like this distribution for the simple way to install and configure
What do you dislike?
The graphical interface could be better.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Server Side testing envirronment with upgrading online


    Government Administration

Lightweight OS for Development Purposes

  • August 02, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The speed of the OS amkes everything you do very simple and basic. It offers a lot of functionality for inner code development and has a user-friendly UI.
What do you dislike?
The look could use some updates and the process of automatic updates could be improved.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Programming Development.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
While it is very good for what it is, a development platform with plethora of development tools, it could use a few updates.


    Michael S.

CentOS 7

  • July 28, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS 7 is like a rock it just works, I have tried them all, well almost. But I away's come back to CentOS.
What do you dislike?
Won't run with VT-d enabled in the BIOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Good development tools pre-installed.


    Md Safiyat R.

Amazing distro for production environments.

  • May 23, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The stability and support from the CentOS community. Also, the plethora and quality of tools available in the original release. nmcli truly saved my day.
What do you dislike?
Takes some time to get used to the new operating system. A lot of common tools have different output formats which makes it a little uncomfortable to use. Also, takes time to get used to the alternate tools as compared to Ubuntu.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We host our company's repository and web server on CentOS servers. They are more secure than Ubuntu servers. We also used CentOS for network testing with specialized hardware.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great operating system. A little difficult at first to adapt to, coming from Ubuntu, but is way streamlined as compared to Ubuntu. Worth a try at the very least.


    Vlad V.

Good if you need RedHat compatibility

  • May 02, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
RedHat compatibility
Easy upgrade path to commercial alternative, if you need
OpenSource
What do you dislike?
Administration is more cumbersome than Ubuntu Server.
Breaking package changes
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
WebServer: Tomcat, Jboss, PHP
Certification Authority: EJBCA
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you don't need RedHat compatibility, go with Ubuntu Server LTS; otherwise CentOS is still a good distro