Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

SAS University Edition

SAS Institute, Inc. | SAS 9.4 M6

Linux/Unix, CentOS CENTOS 6.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

27 AWS reviews

External reviews

156 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    SAS-user

Did not work for me..

  • February 26, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I launched this product to understand SAS for a client engagement, not able to use this. Not able to login..


    ljljlj

Only launches on IE

  • December 31, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This worked great for several years & I used it during a Master's program & a Master's thesis, then a few months ago it stopped launching on any browser except Internet Explorer. This wouldn't be such an issue but IE is retiring so it's only a matter of time before it's entirely unusable. I've contacted SAS customer service on numerous occasions with no help and AWS customer service is not offered with my basic subscription.

Overall, this was once great product, now it's very poor.


    Research

For expert users

  • August 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Total control over complex analyses and flexibility
What do you dislike?
User support is minimal in software But forums are available
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Clinical research analyses
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take a course first. Find a user to guide you.


    Building Materials

Day to Day analytics solution

  • July 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its easy to use and understand for beginners and non coders
What do you dislike?
Sometimes got stuck with lost of thing working parallely
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Business marketing and analysis


    Education Management

SAS is good

  • July 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ancient mechanism of using statistical model in analytics is great.
What do you dislike?
Old technologies that dont match current changes
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Predictive analytics and descriptive analytics.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it.


    Hospital & Health Care

sas review

  • July 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
i like how easy it is to install compared to other software.
What do you dislike?
i dislike all the different versions. there is just too many.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use sas advanced analytics in a hospital for research papers. It is extremely useful for principal investigators and physicians who are working on breakthrough research.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
its very convenient and i recommend it.


    Yudith rossy P.

Buen soporte y gran experiencia

  • November 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Esta herramienta tiene una gran facilidad de uso, me gusta su manera de hacer distintos tipos de análisis de datos y que a la vez me esté generando informe de todo, este software me permite procesar mucha cantidad de datos sin la necesidad de procesar esta información en mi pc. También me permite hacer procesos en una minería de datos. SAS es una herramienta que tiene un gran soporte, me parece muy sobre saliente, es bastante bueno a la hora de necesitarlo. Me gusta su función de ajustarse perfectamente a otros productos como con el servidor SQL y Teradata. Estoy conforme con el funcionamiento de esta herramienta, que es capaz de cumplir con mis necesidades.
What do you dislike?
No estoy muy feliz con el costo, me parece elevado y más aún porque no es un sistema de código abierto. Este software no permite usuarios comerciales y también que a la hora de decodificar este tarda mucho en hacer su función en los sitios web más que todo.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
He utilizado SAS por mucho tiempo y me ha ayudado mucho en muchas áreas de mi trabajo y también en lo personal, esta herramienta me ha parecido muy útil, lo uso para administrar y limpiar diversos conjuntos de datos y mis proyectos de investigación. Este software encaja muy bien a mi industria de trabajo. Organiza mi tiempo y estoy contento con el uso que le doy a esta herramienta y la ayuda que me proporciona.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Recomiendo este programa porque he tenido buen desempeño al usar esta herramienta en mi área de trabajo, encuentro SAS muy eficiente y útil.


    Joshua

quick start worked, but unable to connect to EC2 using SSH

  • October 09, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

following the steps in quick-start-guide, the instance is up & running
also able to start SAS-Studio

But unable to connect to EC2 using SSH or web-client, similar to issue reported:
https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Analytics-U/How-to-Set-Up-SAS-University-Edition-on-Amazon-Web-Services-AWS/m-p/592506/highlight/true#M8902

Need info on the user name defined in AMI for connecting to ssh.


    sas_user

Follow the link in the comment. Once it was setup, it worked ok.

  • October 03, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I had problem with set up. Follow the link below for detailed instructions from SAS community.

https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Analytics-U/How-to-Set-Up-SAS-University-Edition-on-Amazon-Web-Services-AWS/td-p/506033


Once I set up properly, it seemed to work well. I would only give 4 stars, due to the limit on 10 MB upload limit to the workspace.

Note: the user name is "sasdemo" . lowercase without quotes.


    Eugenia D.

High precision results in your forecasts

  • September 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
SAS Advanced Analytics is a platform that offers high precision results in your forecasts. Honestly, I think it's surprising to realize how accurate this tool can be with its models. Also, I like that SAS provides an overview of the entire process, something that is very complicated to do in other modeling and analysis tools.
What do you dislike?
Although I think SAS is an excellent product, there are some aspects it could definitely improve on, especially when it comes to built-in models when they require coding for special tasks. This is definitely the weakest point of SAS, as this process becomes unnecessarily complicated, long, overwhelming, abstract and confusing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In my company, specifically in the IT department, we use SAS Advanced Analytics with the aim of creating prediction models for our business, and the results have proven to be incredibly accurate. SAS Advanced Analytics includes dozens of tools with which we can create models for statistical forecasting events in a very professional way. We also use it for systems automation and it works great.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
SAS Advanced Analytics is an appropriate tool for medium and large companies that seek to make successful construction models. When it comes to use SAS in any project, the progress provided by this tool will be easily visible from the early stages. Its accuracy is due to the wide freedom that can be achieved during modeling, as it allows you to configure all necessary conditions when coding.