Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

SAS University Edition

Get free SAS software for teaching and learning statistics and quantitative methods. SAS University Edition provides teachers, professors, students, independent learners and academic researchers with the most recent releases of the world's best advanced statistical analysis software. Writing and submitting... See more

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

25
Create Your Own Review

    Joshua

quick start worked, but unable to connect to EC2 using SSH

  • October 09, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

following the steps in quick-start-guide, the instance is up & running
also able to start SAS-Studio

But unable to connect to EC2 using SSH or web-client, similar to issue reported:
https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Analytics-U/How-to-Set-Up-SAS-University-Edition-on-Amazon-Web-Services-AWS/m-p/592506/highlight/true#M8902

Need info on the user name defined in AMI for connecting to ssh.


    sas_user

Follow the link in the comment. Once it was setup, it worked ok.

  • October 03, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I had problem with set up. Follow the link below for detailed instructions from SAS community.

https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Analytics-U/How-to-Set-Up-SAS-University-Edition-on-Amazon-Web-Services-AWS/td-p/506033


Once I set up properly, it seemed to work well. I would only give 4 stars, due to the limit on 10 MB upload limit to the workspace.

Note: the user name is "sasdemo" . lowercase without quotes.


    yportne

SAS University Sucks

  • August 08, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

All I ever get is site can't be reached no matter how many times I follow the directions step by step and no matter how many bug fixes I read. I am tired of wasting my life.


    Sunjay007

Thanks Vladimir - Steps to launch SAS University Edition

  • October 29, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Your step-by-step was indeed very useful!
I followed the steps as per the instructions you had given.
It worked for me.

Thank you


    Vladimir

Steps to launch SAS University Edition

  • March 06, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Instructions provided by SAS are misguiding. I did the following:
1. Hover the mouse over your user name (right top corner) and select "Your AWS Console"
2. In the box "Build your solution", click on "Launch a virtual machine"
3. From the left pane, select "AWS Marketplace"
4. In the search bar (mid pane), type "SAS" and hit 'enter'
5. On page Step 1: click "Select" SAS University Edition
6. On page Step 2: Instance type menu will be provided - I think you can handle from there (not explored yet).

Good luck!


    jpipermaru

Never connects

  • February 08, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

So, far my experience has been terrible. I have created 4 different instances over two different subscriptions. I have yet to connect after selecting Access Software. I am reviewing all potential issues on my local side, but I have been able to connect to EC2 instances in the past on this machine. So far, not so good.


    Sas_enthu

SAS studio just doesn't load

  • January 30, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have been trying to access the SAS university edition for more than a month now. Each time it just says it is loading and nothing happens further. Just one blue screen that says 'loading'. I'm super disappointed. Can somebody explain what's the shortcoming here? Internet bandwidth for one isn't an issue.


    CarrieB

Decent enough!

  • January 06, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The look and feel of SAS Uni in AWS is very similar (unsurprisingly) to VIYA. The install works well enough and while I am just getting to grips with SAS in the cloud, it feels like a really viable alt to Enterprise Guide - though i have yet to come up against what I am sure will be inevitable limitations.

the only issue i have had is that the setup guidance provided by SAS is wrong. No 'Access Software' link appears next to SAS under subscriptions. To launch the application, I needed to go to the EC2 console manager and paste instance DNS into a new browser window - and then supply instance id as the password. I fumbled around with this for a wee while and feel like an idiot. Seems an obvious thing to do frankly but SAS does provide quite different (and for me, wrong) guidance.


    new jersey

working really well

  • October 21, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It's been working really well for me! I can store all my files here and do analysis on them. The only thing is that it doesn't support Listing output, but other than that it's very easy to use.


    Liz in NY

VERY impressed

  • September 01, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I'm new to AWS, but a long-time SAS user at my academic/research institution. I was excited to maybe have a way to log in for quick analyses that I forgot to run, or needed to rerun, when away from the office. Although it's of course not quite as stable as a local version of SAS, I was really impressed by the capabilities here. To the other reviewers who were hoping to depend on this and never have a real version of SAS installed - get real... this is FREE and usually a single SAS license will cost you what, at least $1k per year. I'm glad to have a backup plan now when I've got a small project that would otherwise have to wait until I can commute into the office, and is saving me from having to buy a personal license for home use (plus my crappy little laptop was having problems with the VMware distribution of SAS University Edition). I'll be recommending this to some friends at other universities that often find themselves in the same position as me - just needing occasional quick access to SAS from their personal computers.