Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian is a computer operating system composed of software packages released as free and open source software primarily under the GNU General Public License along with other... See more

Customer Reviews

9
Create Your Own Review

1-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

Lacks c4.8xlarge support. Why?

  • By folex
  • on 10/28/2016

Lacks c4.8xlarge support. Why? Big m4 instances are there, but not c4? Is there any reason for that? Very strange.


Could not use snapshot to launch new instance

  • By jk04
  • on 03/29/2016

I use Debian everywhere but am not sure if I will use it again on aws. Today, I created a new image from a snapshot but could not launch a new instance from the image. Here is the error message:

Launch Failed
The instance configuration for this AWS Marketplace product is not supported. Please see http://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp?sku=3f8t6t8fp5m9xx18yzwriozxi for more information about supported instance types, regions, and operating systems.

Creating security groups Successful
Authorizing inbound rules Successful
Initiating launches Failure

This means if you terminate your instance intentionally or by accident, you won't be able to create it from your snapshots.


Only 8GB

  • By Shawn Welch
  • on 12/15/2015

Totally sucks. Every Debian Jessie AMI in marketplace and community will ONLY partition itself with 8GB despite setting the EBS size.


AMI broken

  • By Andrew
  • on 11/04/2015

These AMI's are broken, and don't allow login with the 'admin' user as documented. There is no support available for this, so good luck logging in!


could not be connected after boot

  • By Stephon Chen
  • on 10/31/2015

I could not connect the instance after instance launched.
the same security group setting in Amazon AMI works.
Besides, nothing to test further.


Locked in

  • By A.B.
  • on 10/10/2015

Despite being OSS "free" software, something is misconfigured or Amazon is lacking an option to "un-lock-down" the instance.

With instances created with this AMI, you will not be able to mount the root volumes onto other Instances, which is crucial in times of recovery and emergency.

Do not use.


Scary billing

  • By NOESI.gr
  • on 04/04/2014

Could not set up the site to work properly before we ate up all free tier allowance in a day or two. Stuck now with expensive hosting plans before we could sort out which one is the right one for us.


DO NOT USE MARKETPLACE AMIS

  • By Mark Silvester
  • on 12/13/2013

Do not use marketplace images, if you accidentally make the root disk unbootable, you can not fix it by attaching that disk to another server.


Error in ssh2: I/O error in version negotiation

  • By Yan Zhao
  • on 07/30/2013

I used a Debian 7.1 64bit (ami-50d9a439), the instance runs, but I cannot use SSH to connect that instance, the error message is "Error in ssh2: I/O error in version negotiation{com.mindbright.ssh2.SSH2VersionNegotiationException: I/O error in version negotiation}"

so I terminated that Debian instance, create a Ubuntu Server 12.04.2 LTS, everything is fine


showing 1 - 9