Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian is a computer operating system composed of software packages released as free and open source software primarily under the GNU General Public License along with other free software licenses. Debian GNU/Linux, which includes the GNU OS tools and Linux kernel, is a popular and influential Linux... See more

Customer Reviews

62
  • 62
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0
Create Your Own Review

5-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

Debian rocks !! (Y) :)

  • By Carlos Saltos
  • on 08/21/2013

This instance is amazing !! ... I recommend it very much. Ah !! ... and by the way, IMPORTANT: the user you must use to connect is admin, not the regular ec2-user as with other instances ... I've read several comments about connection errors, just use admin instead of ec2-user and you will be fine and please, RTFM when you have an error !! ;) :)


Excelent AMI

  • By Rafael Viotti
  • on 08/20/2013

Excelent AMI by Debian.

Those giving it a low rating because of SSH connection issues should read the Debian docs.

“ In line with the security of most Linux distributions on Amazon Web Services, remote root SSH is disabled (as is password authentication). You will need to connect to instances from this AMI as the user admin using your SSH key, and then sudo -i to gain root access. ”

https://wiki.debian.org/Cloud/AmazonEC2Image/Wheezy

The machine comes with the root SSH account disabled. Use the admin account.

ssh -i keypair.pem admin@5#.2##.1##.##

Instead of

ssh -i keypair.pem root@5#.2##.1##.##


Does what it says on the tin

  • By Matthew Malkin
  • on 08/18/2013

The debian gnu/linux machine image is exactly what you'd expect. When used you get a lovely working copy of debian running and ready to use. What more could you want?


Debian Students

  • By Elias Vieira Miranda
  • on 08/15/2013

necessary, very , good, technological, surprising, free, solver, fine, creative, innovator, necessary, very , good, technological
surprising, free, solver, fine, creative, innovator


Best Server Os

  • By Samuel Wanyonyi
  • on 08/15/2013

Very stable, light weight and easy to manage.
Works perfectly as a general server OS with its easy to use apt-get package manager for installing other software.
With its stability I can focus on my application development without worrying about server issues.
I would recommend this to anyone anytime.

Thanks Debian team for this image.


Fantastic rock-solid operating system

  • By Activore
  • on 07/05/2013

Best OS for serving web applications is Free Software and it's free on Amazon too. Debian GNU/Linux operating system gives Activore.com the stability and performance we need at the base of our software stack.


A great Linux distribution

  • By nikar
  • on 06/25/2013

I was very pleased to see that the Debian team has created official AMI images that i can trust.

I haven't worked with the images yet (currently installing ;) , but Debian has been my distro of choice for years, combining stability and ease of use. It is specially good for servers, but I also run it as my everyday desktop. Apart from the "Iceweasel" peculiarity, no problems at all!


Excellent operating system

  • By sebastien
  • on 06/23/2013

I've been looking to upgrade to Wheezy my servers. Here it was on the aws market place.

Excellent job Debian team.


Its Debian, its cloudy, its good

  • By Evangel
  • on 06/11/2013

I used this image on a T1.Micro instance (687mb ram) and it did everything I needed it to do.

This is a basic Debian set up and does exactly what you expect it to do, which, for me , is perfect. I'm not a linux Guru but I do prefer developing on linux so having a standard build means I get the reaction I expect and spend less time trying to figure out the "how do I..." or "why didnt that work....".

Note: the shortcut to connect says root@ , change that to admin@ - you log in as admin - non-root account (so you have to sudo to use apt-get install to get your preferred utilities). Sun Java does not come up as an option unless you add an alternate debian repository to the list.

For other images, I have had an ec2-user account to use, if you want to transfer scripts to this machine and minimise changes, make a /home/ec2-user/ dir for yourself. (though this may have security implications because it is an "expected" configuration).


Just what I needed

  • By Daniel Swan
  • on 06/05/2013

We're a Debian shop at work, and having an AMI I could trust was essential, no way I would fire up some third party AMI to base our work on.

Obviously will require a little tweaking on install, things like g++ and build-essential are conspicuously absent if you need to actually compile anything. No vim or screen either.

However within 2 hours of firing up the AMI I had a fully deployed clone of our systems at work, and running beautifully.