Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian | 8.7

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.6+1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

89 AWS reviews

External reviews

34 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


5-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Carlos Saltos

Debian rocks !! (Y) :)

  • August 21, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This instance is amazing !! ... I recommend it very much. Ah !! ... and by the way, IMPORTANT: the user you must use to connect is admin, not the regular ec2-user as with other instances ... I've read several comments about connection errors, just use admin instead of ec2-user and you will be fine and please, RTFM when you have an error !! ;) :)


    Rafael Viotti

Excelent AMI

  • August 20, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Excelent AMI by Debian.

Those giving it a low rating because of SSH connection issues should read the Debian docs.

“ In line with the security of most Linux distributions on Amazon Web Services, remote root SSH is disabled (as is password authentication). You will need to connect to instances from this AMI as the user admin using your SSH key, and then sudo -i to gain root access. ”

https://wiki.debian.org/Cloud/AmazonEC2Image/Wheezy

The machine comes with the root SSH account disabled. Use the admin account.

ssh -i keypair.pem admin@5#.2##.1##.##

Instead of

ssh -i keypair.pem root@5#.2##.1##.##


    Matthew Malkin

Does what it says on the tin

  • August 18, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The debian gnu/linux machine image is exactly what you'd expect. When used you get a lovely working copy of debian running and ready to use. What more could you want?


    Samuel Wanyonyi

Best Server Os

  • August 15, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Very stable, light weight and easy to manage.
Works perfectly as a general server OS with its easy to use apt-get package manager for installing other software.
With its stability I can focus on my application development without worrying about server issues.
I would recommend this to anyone anytime.

Thanks Debian team for this image.


    Elias Vieira Miranda

Debian Students

  • August 15, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

necessary, very , good, technological, surprising, free, solver, fine, creative, innovator, necessary, very , good, technological
surprising, free, solver, fine, creative, innovator


    Activore

Fantastic rock-solid operating system

  • July 05, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Best OS for serving web applications is Free Software and it's free on Amazon too. Debian GNU/Linux operating system gives Activore.com the stability and performance we need at the base of our software stack.


    nikar

A great Linux distribution

  • June 25, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was very pleased to see that the Debian team has created official AMI images that i can trust.

I haven't worked with the images yet (currently installing ;) , but Debian has been my distro of choice for years, combining stability and ease of use. It is specially good for servers, but I also run it as my everyday desktop. Apart from the "Iceweasel" peculiarity, no problems at all!


    sebastien

Excellent operating system

  • June 23, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I've been looking to upgrade to Wheezy my servers. Here it was on the aws market place.

Excellent job Debian team.


    Evangel

Its Debian, its cloudy, its good

  • June 11, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I used this image on a T1.Micro instance (687mb ram) and it did everything I needed it to do.

This is a basic Debian set up and does exactly what you expect it to do, which, for me , is perfect. I'm not a linux Guru but I do prefer developing on linux so having a standard build means I get the reaction I expect and spend less time trying to figure out the "how do I..." or "why didnt that work....".

Note: the shortcut to connect says root@ , change that to admin@ - you log in as admin - non-root account (so you have to sudo to use apt-get install to get your preferred utilities). Sun Java does not come up as an option unless you add an alternate debian repository to the list.

For other images, I have had an ec2-user account to use, if you want to transfer scripts to this machine and minimise changes, make a /home/ec2-user/ dir for yourself. (though this may have security implications because it is an "expected" configuration).


    Daniel Swan

Just what I needed

  • June 05, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We're a Debian shop at work, and having an AMI I could trust was essential, no way I would fire up some third party AMI to base our work on.

Obviously will require a little tweaking on install, things like g++ and build-essential are conspicuously absent if you need to actually compile anything. No vim or screen either.

However within 2 hours of firing up the AMI I had a fully deployed clone of our systems at work, and running beautifully.