Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian | 8.7

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.6+1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

90 AWS reviews

External reviews

98 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Pepe G.

El servidor multipropósito máximo estable

  • October 20, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Esto no se puede lograr en Windows. Para servidores, laptop privada, servidor de correo, etc., la conversión del sistema operativo se realiza continuamente dentro de la ruta adecuada. Y gracias a la red, podemos encontrar asistencia en cualquier lugar e incluso en francés, muchas tablas y clientes, además de imágenes educativas en movimiento, le permiten un mayor control de Debian
What do you dislike?
Actualmente, no tengo ningún problema con el sistema operativo de la máquina que ejecuta Debian. Siempre tengo problemas con los puertos Ethernet, no entiendo por qué Esto lo hace especialmente obvio, dentro del kernel y en el entorno de los dispositivos informáticos. Quiere un conocimiento previo en Linux para poder utilizar la máquina en ejecución en la consola Debian que ahora no tiene. ya tiene algunos paquetes famosos, para ellos se cambian esos programas famosos, para imitar las funcionalidades de estos definidos anteriormente, que incluyen word, excel, se reemplaza por paquetes de cuadros sueltos entre programas de software específicos. Actualmente, no tengo reparos con el sistema operativo de la máquina de Debian.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Es un método de bajo costo tener muchos servidores su disposición Actualmente en nuestra empresa, se utiliza en el entorno del servidor, con las aplicaciones que se incluyen los servidores SFTP, para la gestión de documentos esenciales, l. A. Estabilidad y l. A. Fluidez. Hemos tomado en consideración el uso de Arch Linux, sí, debido a algunos problemas que surgen con los conflictos con los paquetes, las dependencias, etc. al actualizar, es un horror, pero aún así es demasiado difícil de transportar todo. mucho para archivar El tiempo de espera para actualizaciones o lanzamientos de variaciones estables podría ser muy largo. Actualmente utilizamos debian, para nuestros servidores virtuales que se activan en una variedad extraordinaria de ofertas, como servidores sftp, servidores de Internet y reglas anti-DDOS con IPTABLES.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Por favor, esfuércese por el entorno de dispositivos informáticos MATE. Puede implementar Debian en casi todas las plataformas en la nube y la mentalidad es lo suficientemente conservadora como para asegurarle la estabilidad que necesita para una empresa. Para intentarlo son millas for emprenderlo. Puede instalar Debian en casi todas las plataformas de nube y la mentalidad es lo suficientemente conservadora como para garantizarle la estabilidad que desea para una empresa comercial.


    Macarena G.

El servidor extra sólido y robusto.

  • October 20, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
El aspecto de primer orden de aproximadamente Debian es la forma en que aprovecha los activos. Cuando desea utilizar de manera óptima el hardware de la computadora, Debian es una de las alternativas de alta calidad. Puede configurarlo para que use los recursos de la mejor manera y por completo. Ya sea un desarrollo de software excepcional para IDEs más pesados ​​o para virtualización, tiene una capacidad de configuración excesiva que le permite prestar atención al dispositivo para la tarea que necesita realizar, por eso es una de mis principales alternativas al seleccionar un funcionamiento excepcionalmente funcional. máquina. Además, trabajo en un empleador en el que entregamos programas de software en los servidores de Debian y SuperMicro. Incluso he tenido problemas con los conductores, pero en la comunidad los soluciono en poco tiempo. Si el suyo es para mantener efectivo, puede tener este sistema en ejecución como opción cantidad 3, el primero es Linux Mint y el segundo Ubuntu. He estado utilizando el dispositivo de ejecución durante años y ahora no he tenido ningún problema primario. He tenido problemas con los conductores, pero de todos modos los soluciono en un tiempo rápido. Si lo tuyo es para ahorrar dinero, podrías haber Este sistema operativo como opción de rango 3, el primero es Linux Mint y el segundo Ubuntu.
What do you dislike?
El cambio también puede parecer duro. Solo los puntos de atención son el desgaste en la interoperabilidad con el programa de software propietario, generalmente aquellos a través de la configuración de la comunidad de Microsoft Windows no estándar de Microsoft, como ejemplo, los códecs de informes propietarios de Adobe, Oracle y Autodesk. El suplente puede parecer duro. El tiempo que necesita para mirar el software como ejemplo, VLC para reemplazar · La instalación es difícil para un consumidor sin la comprensión en Linux
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Actualmente, nuestro empleador utiliza debian en el entorno del servidor, con aplicaciones excepcionales junto con los servidores SFTP, para la gestión de documentos esenciales, la estabilidad y la fluidez que ofrece Debian en combinación con las fuentes de hardware de nuestra infraestructura de TI, es realmente correcto Combinación enorme para la resolución de problemas en nuestra empresa. Esto termina en una ventaja en productividad y un beneficio tremendo en el sistema económico. Es mucho más barato que Linux para el mercado de diferentes sistemas operativos. Hemos tomado en consideración el uso de Arch Linux seguro, debido a algunos problemas que surgen con los conflictos con los paquetes, las dependencias y demás al actualizar, es un horror, pero es demasiado difícil. transportar la totalidad a Arch Para un usuario nuevo será muy difícil, ya que ahora no proporciona instrucciones con Windows, lo que lleva un tiempo acostumbrarse a un sistema operativo Linux.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Preste un interés único a las necesidades de interoperabilidad en caso de que dependa de un programa de software propietario. Una de las fantásticas distribuciones de Linux, sugiero bastante su uso en entornos de servidores y portátiles. Una de las mejores distribuciones de Linux. Propongo fantásticamente su uso dentro del entorno de servidores y computadoras de escritorio. Puede pintar bajo debian sin esfuerzo en una máquina virtual en caso de que pinte como desarrollador y automatice muchos componentes con ansible y vagrant para la configuración de mejora del entorno una de las mayores distribuciones de Linux que apruebo específicamente su uso en el entorno de servidores y computadoras portátiles I respalda extraordinariamente este sistema operativo porque tiene paquetes muy sólidos y su comunidad de ayuda es muy fuerte, siempre están atentos y dispuestos a ayudar.


    Rochmad Saputra

Ultime Power !!!, but cant upgrade to 2018 instance series(m5,t3,etc)

  • October 05, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

using this debain from 2017, im using t2.2xlarge, but cant upgrade to t3.2xlarge,
and cant upgrade too from m4.2xlarge to m5.2xlarge :(


    J

not up-to-date for latest instance types

  • September 15, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

been using this for years, and upgraded it to stretch without an issue. now i want to upgrade from t2 to t3 and it says it isn't compatible. :(


    Sergio F.

The great mother of the Linux distros

  • August 10, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Well, I use Debian MATE as my personal workstation at work and at home. Also, I work at a company where we ship software along with Debian and SuperMicro servers. The maintainers of Debian are doing a really good job to keep up with maintaining compatibility with old packages.
This was the first Linux I installed, but it was too big for me. Now I realize it's very easy, but maybe painful to new users.
What do you dislike?
The time you have to wait for software (for example, VLC) to update. You install them outside the package manager that can break dependencies. It's the way the distro is meant to, but it feels very far away from the new packages and updates.
I always have had problems too with ethernet ports, I don't know why. I use TP-Link cards usually and I always have to spend a lot of time fixing these types of errors.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are shipping software for the autoconfiguration of CPEs (GPON home routers, basically). My team is writing software in Python, Bash, and Javascript. The benefits are the stability. We have considered using Arch Linux (yes, due to some problems that arise with conflicts with packages, dependencies etc when upgrading, it is a horror) but it's still too much hard to move everything to Arch. Now along with Ansible, we will make Debian even better, and we are happy with it. We are still using Debian 8 but we're targeting version 9.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please, try MATE desktop environment!


    Computer Software

Sistema operativo libre y universal

  • August 02, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Gran soporte de la comunidad, fácil instalación y administración. Muy estable
What do you dislike?
Como cualquier linux conocimientos mínimos de terminal para su uso al 100%
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Instalado en muchos de los servidores que he implementado para todo tipo de funciones, incluso como cliente en producción


    Leandro D.

Total flexibility in OS deployments & configurations, no strings atqtached

  • July 30, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Users & organisations have total flexibility from source code up; only obligations are those inherent in free software licenses, usually applicable only if redistributing software outside of the organisation.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing to dislike in Debian itself; only points of attention are attrition in interoperability with proprietary software, typically those by Microsoft (nonstandard MS Windows network configuration, for instance), Adobe, Oracle & Autodesk (proprietary file formats).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Several users needed a more secure & flexible OS for technical tasks such as Web or Java development, network management, security administration, servers &c.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do not migrate wholesale, but start with servers & technical users. Pay special attention to interoperability needs if you depend of proprietary software.


    Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Debian is my server OS

  • July 13, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Debian is stable, with a great community, you can find 'how to' for whatever you want, it is perfect as a server operating system.
It is an old distribution with many users and contributors around the world, and it is used as base for big desktop (and server) distribution like ubuntu.
You can easily follow the upgrade of the system without needed to install again the whole system.
You can also find experts to help you if you need training or services.
And it's free !
What do you dislike?
If I need to dislike something, sometimes for the stability purpose some software are kept back to an old version and we need additional repositories to enjoy new features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Every time I need to host a service I use debian as my OS, websites, services like xmpp, or email server.
It's free, when you have learn to use it, it costs you nothing more, it's a huge business quality.
You can spend more money on human resources instead off paying big prize for licenses when you can have one of the best product for free.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a really good, stable and followed operating system you can go with debian blinded, it is not the most simple as desktop OS, ubuntu, based on debian is great and you are with a derivative, so debian is still here.
You can easily work under debian in a virtual machine if you work as a developer and automate a lot of thing with ansible (and vagrant for the development environment setup).
You can deploy debian in almost all cloud platform and the mentality is conservative enough to assure you the stability you need for a business.


    Santiago A.

Very efficient and stable operating system

  • May 08, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Security and stability is very important, so much so that other projects such as Ubuntu rely on Debian to build all its architecture. I recommend it because you do not have to worry about formatting every six months or for any pendrive with viruses, that does not exist in this operating system. I have been using the operating system for years and I have not had any major problems. I have had problems for drivers but thanks to the community I solve them in a short time, if yours is to save money, you can have this operating system as option number three, the first is Linux Mint and the second Ubuntu.
What do you dislike?
I do not like that you need to have medium knowledge to use it, it should be a little more friendly, maybe it is one of the secrets to maintain its high quality, but you should review that detail to gain more users. Another factor is the language, if you do not know the basics of English, you will have to work, although at present, with Google that is not very relevant but I would like to write that detail.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The first thing is to rescue files that were lost when a virus fell on my other proprietary operating system. The second, being free is unlimited everything I can use. But best of all, forget about viruses and format, it's amazing how I can use the resources of my PC to the maximum.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are starting a business or project, this operating system can save you a lot of resources, because you do not pay for use licenses, it is one of the biggest attractions you have, you just need to get familiar and ready, you can use a stable and maintained operating system for the global community without paying a dime unless you want to donate to the project.


    Olimar P.

Debian the distribution of the free software community

  • May 01, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
is an open source distribution, stable and highly respected in the world free software community, has more than one million contributors and is the basis of many other distributions such as ubuntu or canaima. It is easy to configure and with many predefined options according to use: for servers, personal computer, mail server, etc. It is very difficult to include "back doors" because it has a large global community of programmers and users with access to all the source code of its components, which are continuously evaluating them. The support of a large number of members, companies that provide software for this distribution, makes it the best open source alternative for quick solutions, with great support from the community for the solution of installation, configuration or security problems of its components. It has 25 years of evolution and is, without exaggeration, the most beloved of the Linux-based distributions,. It is the precursor of the package management system that allows to install software packages with a high degree of reliability in the compatibility of versions of the components, which allows a high degree of reliability and recovery in case of failures. Thanks Ian!.
What do you dislike?
the packages should be updated in less time, perhaps the policy of maintainers should be more flexible
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
all server for my solutions use Debian, the last is a web project with Django for e-learning
Recommendations to others considering the product:
for services that need an operating system with good performance in high availability, use Debian