Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian | 8.7

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.6+1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

89 AWS reviews

External reviews

34 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    The epic Admin

It just works!

  • September 22, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Keeps on working :) never had a problem and I for sure recommend this OS as the foundation fo any project.


    Rochmad Saputra

Ultime Power !!!, but cant upgrade to 2018 instance series(m5,t3,etc)

  • October 05, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

using this debain from 2017, im using t2.2xlarge, but cant upgrade to t3.2xlarge,
and cant upgrade too from m4.2xlarge to m5.2xlarge :(


    J

not up-to-date for latest instance types

  • September 15, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

been using this for years, and upgraded it to stretch without an issue. now i want to upgrade from t2 to t3 and it says it isn't compatible. :(


    folex

Lacks c4.8xlarge support. Why?

  • October 28, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Lacks c4.8xlarge support. Why? Big m4 instances are there, but not c4? Is there any reason for that? Very strange.


    ft

Great, it's Debian after all

  • October 05, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The only thing I wish is that an ami with /var separated out would be nice to have. It's a significant hassle to do this.


    linux_aws

AMI Instance Authentication Issues

  • September 01, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

If this AMI is used to create an instance, that would change something and use it to create a new AMI, then the authentication on the latest instance created will be possible only using the initial SSH authentication keys that has been used initially, even if you add a different key when creating the final instance. Anyone has an idea why?


    jk04

Could not use snapshot to launch new instance

  • March 29, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I use Debian everywhere but am not sure if I will use it again on aws. Today, I created a new image from a snapshot but could not launch a new instance from the image. Here is the error message:

Launch Failed
The instance configuration for this AWS Marketplace product is not supported. Please see http://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp?sku=3f8t6t8fp5m9xx18yzwriozxi for more information about supported instance types, regions, and operating systems.

Creating security groups Successful
Authorizing inbound rules Successful
Initiating launches Failure

This means if you terminate your instance intentionally or by accident, you won't be able to create it from your snapshots.


    CyrexCore2k "CyrexCore2k"

Nothing wrong with this image (Check your routing table)

  • December 31, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Like others I experienced some issues connecting to instances spun up from this image. The reason people are having trouble is this image runs on a VPC which is a little bit trickier to configure than EC2. In addition to the Elastic IP and Security Group you need a VPC, Subnet, Routing Table, Gateway. None of the configuration is terribly complex if you're familiar with the concepts but there's just a lot of ways it can be done incorrectly. In my case I forgot to add my gateway to the routing table so none of the instance's traffic was making it back to me. Once I added the gateway to the routing table everything worked great. :)


    Shawn Welch

Only 8GB

  • December 15, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Totally sucks. Every Debian Jessie AMI in marketplace and community will ONLY partition itself with 8GB despite setting the EBS size.


    Tom "tom1384"

Great!

  • November 16, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This is a fantastic Debian image. Users complaining that the admin user doesn't work are probably not authenticating with their AWS key. It is key-based authentication with "admin" as the user. I just built another instance today using this image, and it worked just fine. Thanks Debian!