Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian | 8.7

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.6+1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

89 AWS reviews

External reviews

34 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    HardSaver "Tone"

BAREBONES - follow my guide

  • February 17, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Look people - This is a bare bones debian install - to get a webserver going...(or basically anything installed)

After logging in with 'admin' and your private key via SSH

sudo nano /etc/apt/source.list

deb http://http.debian.net/debian wheezy main
deb-src http://http.debian.net/debian wheezy main

deb http://security.debian.org/ wheezy/updates main
deb-src http://security.debian.org/ wheezy/updates main

deb http://http.debian.net/debian wheezy-updates main
deb-src http://http.debian.net/debian wheezy-updates main

You will have to update missing sw sources to the above.
Then;
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install tasksel #key install sw for complex installs

Then; Set up a webserver.

sudo tasksel install web-server
sudo apt-get install build-essential php5-dev php5-gd php-pear

#make the webserver start on boot via remote control file
sudo update-rc.d apache2 defaults

#Personally I cannot function with out the locate command!
sudo apt-get install locate

then
sudo updatedb #update the directory database

anyway that should help a lot in getting many setup to use the service!


    stephan T

Easy and quick install of debian for my development environment

  • February 16, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have created 3 environments for development, test and production with debian Linux. Installation was fast and easy and it runs flawless.
Combined with the right backup tools and space on S1 it is secure. Even the t1-micro environment is fast enough to do all the tasks I want.


    Chris

Debian command lines are different from the tutorials

  • February 12, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

If you aren't familiar with linux, specifically Debian linux, pick CentOS. The instructions aren't written for Debian. After a couple of hours on Google trying to make it work, I deleted the instance and started over with CentOS. CentOS was up and running in half an hour.


    JLFrancois

The Perfect Virtual Machine

  • February 11, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It is Debian and that is what makes it easy to deploy and in minutes I have exactly what I need in any size instance.


    Luca Villani

Simply a debian :-)

  • February 09, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

No more to say: a small debian wheezy image, perfect to customize via --user-data-file switch of ec2-run-instances command (in your script remember to regenerate sshd keys and to remove "admin" unix user).


    Hunter Grubbs

Debian is stable as ever

  • February 08, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This is a stable image of Debian 7 (wheezy), and contains all that you would expect as such. Startup services are trimmed down to minimal for a lean footprint. Great for production.


    Ian Cognito

Great service - needs a couple of very minor refinements

  • February 05, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The Debian instance that I fired up was 7.3 and everything went off without a hitch.

I noticed in the other reviews the issue with logging in as 'admin' instead of 'root'. A good security move on Amazon/Debian's part, but a potential gotcha that should be brought to the attention of the installer with a bit more prominence, as a suggestion.

This instance was very well thought out, in terms of defaults, and the person or people responsible should be commended for a job well done. The instance naming convention could be a bit clearer, as a suggestion.

The step-by-step procedures are clear and comprehensive. I would have no hesitation in recommending this service, based on what has happened so far. I intend to put other services on AWS as a result of this experience.


    Fabio Giulio Simeoni

Debian is everywhere

  • February 04, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I tried it for a short time. I know Debian well and so I can say that you have to use it on AWS


    Jeff

Rock solid, no problems

  • January 24, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Its an office Debian AMI, whats not to like?

There are a couple of things to note:

1. You cannot login as root by default, but must use the admin user.

2. M3.small is not yet available.

great product.


    Vincent Loubser

Works as expected

  • January 08, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The standard Debian experience - everything is set up the way you expect it to be. No problems or misconfiguration experienced to date.