Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian | 8.7

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.6+1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

90 AWS reviews

External reviews

109 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Evangel

Its Debian, its cloudy, its good

  • June 11, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I used this image on a T1.Micro instance (687mb ram) and it did everything I needed it to do.

This is a basic Debian set up and does exactly what you expect it to do, which, for me , is perfect. I'm not a linux Guru but I do prefer developing on linux so having a standard build means I get the reaction I expect and spend less time trying to figure out the "how do I..." or "why didnt that work....".

Note: the shortcut to connect says root@ , change that to admin@ - you log in as admin - non-root account (so you have to sudo to use apt-get install to get your preferred utilities). Sun Java does not come up as an option unless you add an alternate debian repository to the list.

For other images, I have had an ec2-user account to use, if you want to transfer scripts to this machine and minimise changes, make a /home/ec2-user/ dir for yourself. (though this may have security implications because it is an "expected" configuration).


    Daniel Swan

Just what I needed

  • June 05, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We're a Debian shop at work, and having an AMI I could trust was essential, no way I would fire up some third party AMI to base our work on.

Obviously will require a little tweaking on install, things like g++ and build-essential are conspicuously absent if you need to actually compile anything. No vim or screen either.

However within 2 hours of firing up the AMI I had a fully deployed clone of our systems at work, and running beautifully.


    cor

Deb7 for LAMP Stack with cloud hybrid SQL cluster

  • May 29, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It would have been a 4G download to the datacenter for any other deployment option.

You will need to install build-essentials and update apt sources.list with your favorites for LAMP and monitoring.

Created a virtual-private-hybrid-hyper-cloud to link the office and datacenter for local(HQ) backups and business continuity purposes. Fantastic to find this distro in the market place. Thank You!


    Alejandro Brito Monedero

The free OS

  • May 27, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Nice and stable. I am waiting for the new version of the distro.

Kudos for the maintainers.

PD: Remember that for logging in an instance you have to use a user distinct from root.


    M. Morim

Simple, straightforward, works.

  • May 27, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Stable OS, super simple instance launch (as it is with all AWS AMIs), works out of the box and it's free.
winning.


    SoftDevelop Tecnologia da Informacao LTDA

The Best Operating System.

  • May 09, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The best operating system.
Totally stable.
I use my VPC and works perfectly.
I look forward to stable version 7 for AWS wheenzy too.
The best choice.


    Ahmad Harthi

Stable and Reliable

  • May 05, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Debian is well known for its stability and reliability, also debian has thousands of packages available and has a very strong community which compensates for paid professional support.


    Sebastian Montini

the universal operating system

  • May 02, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

always used debian in my servers, nothing better than the universal operating system, and a AMI from debian itself :)


    Mehdi Kianpour

integration with VPC

  • May 01, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Yes, it's useful but I got some problems with integrating into VPC and adding NIC to it. So, when you add a NIC in your console, you should modify /etc/network/interfaces to make it up at boot and assign Fixed IP address. I also liked it more if it had some basic tools like 'less' installed.


    Daniil Krymov

Ephemeral storage

  • April 15, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Great product but it is not working with EC2's 'ephemeral storage' as expected.

For example, M1 Medium Instance currently comes with 410 GB of storage (aka 'ephemeral storage') which supposed to mount on load in /mnt (or at least be visible/accessible as a disk volume in /dev/xv[db]) ... if you deploy this image you won't see instance storage at all, it just does not mount in any form.