Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

LANSA Scalable License Win2012

LANSA Inc | V14 SP2 EPC142060-5

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

69 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Eduardo E.

25 years developing software for Logistics, Warehousing and Distribution. 15 years developing with L

  • April 07, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very Easy and Friendly, Intuitive to be used
What do you dislike?
I do not dislike, everything I need is covered
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Logistics for Distribution. Reduce logistics Cost and Improve Client Service
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A powerfool tool to reduce time developing and easy maintenance


    Michael F.

Working with Lansa v 12 SP1 for 364 days

  • March 01, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Well, first of all, I like the fact that Lansa has given me a 'one-stop-esoteric-shop' of sorts in which to code for iSeries, Windows, and Linux. Second, I find RDML/RDMLX to be a pretty simple (agile) language, simple to learn that is; but as I've gotten more comfortable, I've noticed some profound capabilities. Third, I love to learn, so for me I find myself checking the 'keep generated source' checkbox when compiling, It's eye-opening to see the C/C++ code derived from programs that I've created.
What do you dislike?
It's sometimes annoying that the UPRINT command doesn't work with RDML.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
As a county government employee, I'm solving problems primarily for departments that fall under the Law Enforcement and Public Safety umbrella. In my shop we utilize a continuous deployment theory of promotion because our Lansa-built infrastructure was designed to embrace these changes seamlessly. There are myriad benefits for me as a developer, to name three I'd say maintainability, reliability and security. The public sector never sleeps!!!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
YES!!! Go for it!!!!


    Trevor B.

Lansa V14 review

  • February 14, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The latest V14 is great... the same IDE to generate great looking apps for multiple platforms.
Working with corporate data bases from both IBM i platforms and SQL.
Incredibly high productivity is possible with good developers... One Lansa developer can do the work of many 'traditional' developers.
What do you dislike?
Struggling to find anything to dislike, particularly with V14
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
High quality Windows & Web apps, developed in a short time.
From back office user transaction type apps through to high end web portal and exec dashboards
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Talk to Lansa... Spend a little time reviewing Lansa... Let the Lansa guys demonstrate their product...
I think it's one of the best kept secrets in the IT industry.


    Sandy L.

Visual Lansa Review

  • January 03, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
That the product is integrated with my ERP/Retail DB2 database.
What do you dislike?
That I am unable to maintain the two websites in house - due to lack of trained personnel and cost. Lansa requires in depth training to be proficient.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Customer visibility to their orders without having to call customer service at specific times to check on the status. The fact that the information is real time and always available makes our company easier to do business with.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you desire to maintain the product in-house, you will need a dedicated, trained member on your staff. This person would need to be a strong programmer. I do not have that depth in my staffing at this point and have chosen to outsource any work that needs to be done. I do not expect much change on the existing site so that works for me. Once implemented, it is a wonderful tool. And it's real time. No transferring files back and forth to get current information.


    Hans N.

Lansa from a system administrator perspective

  • December 13, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The simplicity of use and it is robust and easy to maintain. Also a quick implementation from an idea to working and useable software.
What do you dislike?
The installation process needs to be simplified
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Business integration between several ERP applications through Lansa Composer.


    Jim O.

Solid product, allows for fast professional level product development

  • September 30, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
One environment for development of Windows based programs, mobile apps and Web based programs.
What do you dislike?
Deployment of Windows based solutions to end users can be tricky to set up.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In house managed ecommerce website, sales force mobile app for CRM. Visual Lansa has enabled us to develop those applications with a small staff of developers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take advantage of the training offered. Start with a small project in order to understand the correct design point.


    Gerald C.

One tool and skill set for multi-platform development.

  • September 06, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Visual LANSA allows for learning 1 tool for developing applications to be deployed on many platforms. You can build web, windows or IBM i applications within the IDE.
If you have done any programming in other languages, learning Visual LANSA is fairly quick and easy. It hides the complexity of needing to know so many languages within this one envelope.
What do you dislike?
Setup and maintenance of the LANSA Environment requires specific knowledge of the LANSA tool and its requirements. You (or your IT team) will need to spend a little time in understaning the inner workings at intial setup and for upgrades.
I am not sure if this much different than most development tools, but LANSA Support has been great in assisting with this items.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have worked on numerous web, windows and IBM i native applications with this tool. From Work Order and Inventory systems to complex Tax systems.
The IDE allows for using 1 interface to develop each of these vastly different applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Have the LANSA team give you a demo or do a proof of concept. I think you will be extremely happy.


    Warren R.

Lansa - Designed for Integration

  • August 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Lansa gives us the ability to write code that can operate on both an IBMi operating system as well as the Windows environment, which allows us to use one code base in order to write commands for either system; the exact same program will function the same way regardless of the operating system (with the exception of a few system-specific commands).
What do you dislike?
It's very easy to fall into performance "traps". Our application has a great deal of client/server interaction, and it will often bottleneck while waiting for communication. The built-in file reader is also not the most efficient (it will process every record that matches the keys, regardless of further limiters such as the where statement). They do, however, provide solutions to address these issues; since the same code functions on either the client system or the server, we can write it to execute on the server, and build customized SQL database queries which allow for much more complex searches that complete far more rapidly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are an ISV generating and deploying clinical & billing software to a larger number of customers. We have a large "legacy" application written in Synon/RPG, designed for operation on an IBMi OS. We needed to modernize the application to run in a Windows environment, but also wanted to keep the database in this system (instead of attempting to convert & rewrite), as well as being able to leverage existing code instead of having to rewrite the entire application from the ground up.

Lansa allowed us to pursue this goal. With a single coding language that generates output that runs on both Windows & the IBM system, there is no need to maintain two different sets of programs. We can call and execute existing RPG programs (reports, calculations) without having to rewrite them off-the-bat. This allowed us to create the screens, designing them how we wanted, rewriting where necessary, and snapping everything into Lansa's provided framework.

We also have a need for communication with outside entities, and have used Lansa Composer for conversion of data from our database to the expected format from other organizations, or vice versa (including being able to use standards such as HL7 or NCPDP). Lansa Composer / Lansa Integrator have allowed us to consume Web Services as well, directly from the application, instead of having to build & design from a third-party service.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're a multi-platform client needing one code base to run on multiple systems, Lansa is a good fit for you. Even if you're not, however, they have multiple other products that can integrate with Visual Lansa (such as Composer, LongRange, etc) that can provide a great deal of benefit to your organization when combined with Visual Lansa. It's definitely worth looking into.


    Zhiming J.

An excellent Client/Server App development solution for our business needs

  • August 11, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Visual Lansa completely changed our business users point of view about IBM i. It has proven to be a valuable software for our enterprise application development. We have used this tool for more than 10 years, from version 9 until the latest version 14. The first thing comes to mind is SIMPLE. I used to be a developer to use language RPG, CLP, Java, C#, JavaScript, Ajax, JQuery, CSS, etc., but you don't need to know those things to finish a project with VL RDML.
What do you dislike?
The process of VL IDE installation (Version 11.3 and before, I don't have experience for 13 & 14) could be improved as one click install.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are replacing green screen app to more fashion UI like web, mobile app. I believe our organization will be benefited from this product.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to learn & useful tool for Web and Windows rich client application development


    Jim W.

The web solution we've been waiting for.

  • August 03, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The new Visual LANSA for Web product allows us to build modern, single page, responsive browser based applications and mobile apps using a single tool and skill set. Mobile apps can be built to target iOS, Android and Windows 10 from the same codebase. It does all this while allowing us to continue to benefit from LANSA 's built-in data repository - we can drag a field from the repository onto a screen and panel and it will be rendered complete with label and appropriate visualization - eg a date will display as a datepicker. We have complete reuse of all our backend code and a straightforward and robust method of communicating with it. We can forget about the myriad libraries and frameworks that had to be mastered to achieve the latest look and behavior and which went out of fashion as soon as you did. We are a LANSA shop and have used the companies previous web offerings for many years but this is really a quantum leap.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing about the product that I actively dislike but as it is very new there are still some rough edges. I think the handling of multiple panels in the designer could be improved. Also the product needs better tools to manage the multiple objects (or reusable parts in LANSA speak) that comprise an application. Those without an OO background will to put in a bit of study as this approach is required once you get past simple example. An understanding of MVC will also be fairly useful.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are still in the phase of learning how to use the tool and developing some patterns but I fully expect to be able to deliver a mobile app targeting iOS, Android and Windows 1 this year. We will also be creating browser based applications and merging them (hopefully, seamlessly) with our current application portfolio. When the team is fully up-to-speed with Visual LANSA for we hope to be delivering modern, robust web applications faster than ever.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
All LANSA customers using Webevents, WAMs or Longrange should look at this product as a matter of priority. All iSeries shops who want to get quality web apps out as a matter of priority but haven't got a large team or a web design department should have a look.