Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cloud Volumes ONTAP for AWS

NetApp, Inc. | 9.7P5

Linux/Unix, Other Cloud Volumes ONTAP 9.7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

18 AWS reviews

External reviews

16 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    SrSystemf052

Their technical support responds to issues in a timely fashion

  • December 13, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We use it for the data that we are using, etc.
We have a dedicated team of 10 people who manage the storage.
How has it helped my organization?
For the daily activities, we needed the faster storage, faster throughpt, etc. That is why we started using SSDs in certain areas which made the application faster.
What is most valuable?
The support is its most valuable feature. They provide on-call support and responds to issues in a timely fashion It also offers disaster recovery.
What needs improvement?
AWS has come into the picture, so we want to move into AWS. Therefore, we don't want to do anything more on on-premise anymore. NetApp has to come up with a cloud version.
I would like to have more management tools. They are difficult to work with, so I would like them to be a bit more user-friendly.
For how long have I used the solution?
More than five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
On a scale of one to ten, I would rate the stability a ten.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
The scalability is very good. Our environment is about 20TB.
How is customer service and technical support?
I would rate the support as a nine out of ten. NetApp is native here in Bay Area. We are also in the Bay Area. If anything happens, they will come onsite and fix it.
How was the initial setup?
There are some limitation with the integration and configuration. Though, Cluster Mode is more relatable than 7-Mode.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
We purchased the product directly from NetApp.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We evaluated Hitachi and IBM, but still we are using NetApp because of its marketing.
What other advice do I have?


    AwsArchi57bf

It is a stable product that is easy to use

  • December 11, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We use it for file storage.
It is mainly being used with our Windows environment.
What is most valuable?
* Ease of file storage.
* Ease of use.
What needs improvement?
The data tiering needs improvement. E.g., moving hard data to faster disks.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It is pretty stable. We do not put too much stress on it (about 45 percent).
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
The scalability is very good. Our environment is 25TBs.
How is customer service and technical support?
I have not used NetApp's technical support.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Purchasing through the AWS Marketplace was good, but it was a test system, not a real purchase.
We went through the AWS Marketplace because we were testing the product and have not evaluated the pricing yet.
What other advice do I have?
I would recommend NetApp because it is a stable product.
The AWS and on-premise versions of the product are about the same.


    LeadStord24a

It has a fair amount of visibility into what is happening

  • December 10, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The primary use case of NetApp in our company is providing NAS services. This includes both CIFS and NFS.
I have been working with ONTAP for five years. So, I started with NetApp ONTAP 7-Mode, and now, I'm working on NetApp ONTAP C-mode. My familiarity and skill with this product is quite good.
Autodesk has been using this product for more than five years.
What is most valuable?
The most valuable feature of Data ONTAP is it's very user-friendly, It gives the administrator or engineer a lot of scope to look into the locks. It has a fair amount of visibility into what is happening. We do not have to depend on the support all the time.
If you have a fair amount of experience with NetApp, you can work on it very easily.
What needs improvement?
NetApp could certainly improve on the support side. They do not need to improve so much on the product side for now, because we have procured a high end system.
For how long have I used the solution?
More than five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
Stability is quite good. However, when it comes to bugs, this is where we are taking a hit. We have ended up in situation where new releases of the ONTAP create an issue in our current infrastructure. We either need to go back or find a solution to fix the bug created by the bug. This is the issue that we face now.
We are not putting a lot of stress on our environment, about a five out of ten.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
The scalability of NetApp is good. In NetApp, we have close to three petabytes of data.
We cannot compare the scalability of the on-premise solution with the cloud solution because cloud works in a different way from the on-premise version.
When it comes to the logical partitions, the scalability is fine. Though, after a set time limit, you need to procure physical boxes to increase your storage capacity.
How is customer service and technical support?
I would rate the technical support as a five out of ten.
When it comes to support provided by NetApp, they have room for improvement. Every time we go through their support, we end up answering the same routine questions. We don't reach out to support without doing our initial troubleshooting. After, our initial troubleshooting, we find something, then we reach out for support. Once we reach out to support, support takes us back to the same basic level of troubleshooting, which takes away some time in urgent cases. This is where NetApp support should create an improvement plan.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We did not consider anyone else for NAS.
What other advice do I have?
NetApp is a user-friendly solution. I would recommend it to colleagues, because of its user-friendliness for implementation and running your operations.
I use the on-premise version of this product.


    Automotive

Legacy app to cloud

  • April 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
A legacy application was dependent on enterprise class CIFS support. Cloud ONTAP enabled the application to be hosted at AWS w/o compromising CIFS support /w SnapMirror support for DR.

Per instance performance constraints were overcome by logically segregating shares across multiple instances. Enabled us to get the application in the Cloud with minimal changes from a bare metal data center to continue its evolution.
What do you dislike?
Nothing much as of now, would like to see how it does over time
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Compressions and snapshots


    aws , amazon

Net Cloud

  • April 12, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This IS ASWOME Program tool to work with in cloud give you flexibility in cloud ontap cloud for aws netapp, inc amazon machine image 5 star


    Blackwell

Advanced storage management in the Cloud

  • April 10, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

ONTAP Cloud allows me to easily replicate data from my On-Site Netapp to the cloud. In the cloud it allows me to store more, on less. Using Deduplicaiton I need less back end storage, so I can have more "data" stored than disk space presented. I was even able to migrate volumes from an older 7-mode system into AWS this way.


    Nuvens Noon

HA now available

  • June 29, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

great product, additional functionality being added regularly. We have implemented this into a number of companies, allowing them to replicate from on-site to AWS (and now) Azure.


    Tom

Moved legacy app to the Cloud

  • April 08, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

A legacy application was dependent on enterprise class CIFS support. Cloud ONTAP enabled the application to be hosted at AWS w/o compromising CIFS support /w SnapMirror support for DR.

Per instance performance constraints were overcome by logically segregating shares across multiple instances. Enabled us to get the application in the Cloud with minimal changes from a bare metal data center to continue its evolution.


    WF Production Svcs

Not Enterprise Ready/Grade

  • April 04, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Using the "Trial" I realized that there is no provision for an HA pair. After talking with my Netapp rep I was told that even the "Pay/Production" image has no HA pair functionality.


    CloudGuru

CloudONTAP where have you been for the Enterprise

  • April 06, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This software Netapp has put together is really second to none. It provides Enterprise quality software features like Dedup, Compression and Snapshots. The Cloud Manager software is easy to deploy and has a very nice interface.

Replication is as easy as drag and drop from on prem to your Cloud ONTAP instance.