Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

ReportServer Community packaged by Bitnami

Bitnami by VMware | 4.1.0-6063-1-r01 on Debian 10

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1

External reviews

25 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    walter g.

MS SSRS

  • October 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Su simpleza y buen servicio como tool de self service
What do you dislike?
Complejidad en el diseño de reportes paginados de nivel medio
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data driven self service


    James J.

Software engineer

  • March 30, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The dashboard on which can provide various bi reports.
What do you dislike?
The license is very expensive and the internal database is not easy to use.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Personal purchase. Personal purchasing saving.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Business decision


    JOHN L.

Impressive User Interface

  • February 13, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very simplistic design for beginner to intermediate database reporting.
What do you dislike?
I didn't find anything unlikable. Just decided to go with an alternative UI. RS is my second favorite.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I create custom reports for my company's database.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
See if you like it! If not, try Eclipse!


    Walter M.

Report Server as Port Dashboard

  • February 08, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Scripting reports gives total freedom to create reports, charts and other kinds of informational panels. All the structure eases the development.
What do you dislike?
The translation to Portuguese isn't fine, but the team is receptive to contributions. The user interface needs a revamp, does not support mobile and is not responsive.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are creating dashboards to our customers in a way they can see all the KPIs in a beautiful and practical manner.


    Alexandre R.

Excellent Option for BI

  • February 08, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Simple to learn.
- Low coasts.
- Community version.
- Eclipse BIRT integration.
- Crystal Reports integration.
- Export reports to Excel, CSV, PDF or HTML.
- Excel exports are perfect
- Scheduling reports very easily.
- Unlimited Users.
- Internationalization.
- Active community.
- You can start with ReportServer Community edition and then go to the commercial ReportServer Enterprise version.
What do you dislike?
- Do not have native AD integration.
- Do not have the possibility to embed a report in a email body.
- Poor layout. Common interfaces (like login screen) can be much better.
- Do not have a mobile app.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It can solve most off BI needs of a medium company. Now we can create and publish reports to managers much faster. We are using ReportServer with Eclipse BIRT.
Your plan is start with ReportServer Community edition and then go to the commercial ReportServer Enterprise version.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make experiments on demo version in order to verify if all features that you need are present.


    Higher Education

ReportServer a useful BI tool

  • February 08, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
RS has integrated interface, which can show reports, static HTML and URL together. This provides multiple options for users to choose from.

Multiple dashboard gadgets (dadget) are supported. Multiple DBMS systems can be connected to ReportServer service.
What do you dislike?
RS does not have built-in plotting tools. RS's reports are only table-based, which limits the visualization functionality of this product. In order to use visualization, third-party tools/libraries must be imported, which interface sometimes is difficult to integrate smoothly with the interface of ReportServer.

RS support exporting data into html, pdf, json, and csv format, but it does now allow users to customize the exporting format. E.g. the exported csv files uses semicolon (";") as separator instead of comma. Hopefully the exporting format can be customized in the future versions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I intended to use ReportServer visualize the data stored in DBMS in order to provide insights for business decisions. RS is easy to use, and solves most of my requirements.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a BI tool that is easy to use, ReportServer may be a good option for you.

But if you are looking for a BI tool with fancy interface, it may require extra work.


    Ken L.

Likely Value Leader in Reporting Platforms

  • January 16, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ReportServer, which first offers us a lifeboat away from Crystal Reports, and also provides us a path to JasperReports, BIRT, or even script based reports, at a reasonable price.

The idea of database “bundles”, which make it easy to use the same report for many clients or Organizational Units, as the engine automatically selects the correct database. This relieves us of two major issues – initial report distribution as well as distribution of updates, both of which are eliminated. The ability for technical users to create variants of existing reports is great, too.
What do you dislike?
I feel that the documentation could be more complete.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In developing our application, we looked at a few products. It was almost like Goldilocks….one product was far too complex, and required extended professional services engagement to get started. Another product had what seemed like excessive costs per client and per database connection. And neither of these could handle our collection of over 600 legacy Crystal Reports.

I find the infrastructure in this system to be impressive. It seems like whatever we need to do, there are script samples, and Java classes to handle it. We’re currently syncing teams and users from our production billing system into ReportServer. We are working on running reports directly from our softwarwe, without the user ever seeing ReportServer, using it as a pure replacement for Crystal Reports. I have to mention, too,

Overall, we think that ReportServer is the value leader in reporting, including for software developers, and especially for anyone who needs to access legacy reports on one of the supported platforms. Support has also been fantastic, so we are very happy with our decision.


    Brad M.

ReportServer is everything we needed and more!

  • November 20, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Offers a wide variety of options for reporting on relational databases and warehouses. Several open source reporting tools such as Jasper, BIRT and other systems are included as well as my favorite method, "Dynamic Lists" which are a way to create SQL reports directly through their web client. Using Bitnami's pre-made ReportServer package made server setup and config unnecessary and saved us a ton of time and headache!
What do you dislike?
Currently, there appears to be no way to customize Dynamic List table styling, but apparently there are plans to add this functionality in the future. Also, ran into a few Java issues (incorrect version) with the Bitnami package that we implemented, but otherwise the process was relatively smooth.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In the process of implementing a new backend system, we realized that we were losing a proprietary reporting system during the migration, so we needed a cheap solution and fast. This exceeded both our needs and expectations and frankly shocked us at the fact that such a robust, capable system was completely free and open source.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use the Bitnami stack for sure and definitely purchase ReportServer's training manuals (this supports the developers).


    MAS, Emissary Public "Minister Mario F. Stevenson"

Review of ReportServer Community powered by Bitnami (HVM)

  • June 21, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

DTS-0620212016

Welcome,

RE: Review of ReportServer Community powered by Bitnami (HVM)

From my experience BitRock images are cracked and this AMI was no exception. Immediately after logging into the server errors were thrown from JAVA to MySQL. Ridiculous because Bitnami demo didn't have these Java and MySQL errors. Goes to cracked AMI images.

Thank you,

MAS


    Security and Investigations

I can recommend the product and the team as well

  • February 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like its concept that they merged many different products and I can choose what fit best for my needs. During the test we have tried the different solutions and was able to decide which components we exactly need. Although there are more components the end user does not really realize that the interface hide it.

I like the interface. It is clear and well usable. I hold the idea of TeamSpace good.

The dynamic list is a great feature, it gives the user quite a lot setting possibilities directly from the interface. It is connected with the Saiku engine so the pivot table capability looks great.

The staff is helpful and open for extra demands as well. They continuously read and comment their forum as well.
What do you dislike?
I had problems with the documentation. The User Guide is quite good but the Administration and the Scripting Guide was a bit short for my knowledge (I am not a JAVA programmer, maybe this is the reason.)

You will find lot of information on the net about the components but there are just a few information from the ReportServer itself (mainly their official forum). I was spending many time with looking for the right syntax because I did not want to flood the forum.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We needed a reporting solution to our new product and we were looking a product from the market to replace the software made by us. We realized that we do not want continuously maintain and develop the code. So if the integration will be ready we can adapt the reporting solution more easy between the projects.