Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

RethinkDB

RethinkDB | 2.3.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 14.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

14 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    James R.

Quality scalable and easy-to-use database

  • January 26, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ReQL, RethinkDB's query language is one of my absolute favourite things it offers. As someone who isn't very fond of generic SQL databases, ReQL feels just like programming, and I don't have to shift mind-sets to think about another language.
What do you dislike?
Unfortunately, RethinkDB is no longer actively developed, and was the company behind RethinkDB officially shut down in October 2016. The project has since joined The Linux Foundation and has seen one update in mid-2017, but the future for RethinkDB isn't looking too positive currently.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
RethinkDB's powers all of our database needs in our business. From managing customer game servers, to running our entire OAuth 2.0 API, RethinkDB is behind it all. Its real-time queries have been a godsend for managing real-time data with game servers and other aspects of our API.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
RethinkDB is a great database engine, but be wary of the fact that its release cycle has slowed down drastically since moving to The Linux Foundation. We're hoping that this improves in 2018, but are starting to discuss internally about its viability in the next few years.


    Marketing and Advertising

Excellent DB

  • March 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The query language is a brilliant addition and functional style of fetching data works really well.
What do you dislike?
Unfortunately at the time when I was using RethinkDB support for Windows was still lacking. I believe this is fixed now.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The database works well in both strictly structured and not-so-strictly structured datasets. In case of proper number crunching and analytics this DB is probably not the best option.


    Alexandre C.

A young user-friendly and featureful Database but...

  • March 16, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
First what I like best is the transparency of the RethinkDB team and its dedication to make RethinkDB a user-friendly product.
The website is full of information about the current bugs and performance issues. And there is a real effort to make the product very user-friendly: a nice documentation, a beautiful UI, a clean and well-thought API, simple sharding and replication features, joins, real-time features...

It really has lots of attractive features for such a young product.
What do you dislike?
RethinkDB is still quite slow for many operations. I know a Swiss start-up that switched from RethinkDB to PostgreSQL because of performance issues. These problems could be fixed in the future but if you need good performance right now at the very least do some benchmark and load-testing before investing too much in this database.

Also using RethinkDB made me realize that I prefer databases that use a text-based query language (SQL databases, Cassandra, Redis, ...) than databases that use a Javascript API by default (MongoDB, RethinkDB, ...) because:
- drivers in other languages are easier to implement when you just have to send some tex queriest than when you have to mimic the Javascript API.
- Javascript is a very dynamic language and it is sometimes hard to mimic the Javascript API in other languages, especially in compiled ones. It makes the API in all languages different, so you first have to learn the Javascript API and then you have to look how to do it in your language. The languages in the official documentation are JavaScript, Python, Ruby and Java. So be careful if you are not using one of these languages.
- It makes unit tests more difficult to do. A database with a large API containing plenty of functions is harder to mock than a SQL database with a leaner API.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used RethinkDB on small personal projects and have not used it in production.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do benchmarks for your use. Think twice if you are not using JavaScript, Python, Ruby or Java.


    Computer Software

Modern Query Language and Scales Well

  • March 12, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
RethinkDB raises the bar: it has a modern query language (i.e., it's very intuitive) and it scales well in enterprise (i.e., massively parallel distributed infrastructure). Also, RethinkDB is a must for realtime apps. A
What do you dislike?
Adoption isn't very widespread in industry, as in many developers I know tend to play it safe with MySQL. There are simply too many restrictions with which operations can be performed atomically that it can't be adopted for tier one services such as user/org, login, sessions, etc.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
RethinkDB definitely beats out other realtime DBs such as Firebase that are much less flexible. I think RethinkDB would work great for real time features within enterprise. It's much more intuitive than Mongo, so any situation in which I would consider Mongo, RethinkDB would definitely be in the talk.


    Taylor M.

Great multi-purpose database

  • March 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
There a ton of things to like about RethinkDB. Of particular interest are the query language which feels just like programming. I'm a big fan of the community around it because they've very welcoming and supportive as well. It's well designed and everything is done out in the open which builds a lot of trust and understanding.
What do you dislike?
One downside is that using the in-browser data explorer requires you to write your queries in JavaScript. I do most of my analysis in Python so the conversion can be a pain sometimes. It'd be nice to be able to write Python in the browser but I understand the challenges of making that a reality.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We're working to bring efficiency and transparency to the genetic testing industry. RethinkDB powers our internal data pipeline that ingests massive amounts of laboratory data, standardizes it to industry-specific terms, and formats in a clinically-relevant and hierarchical manner. One of the many nice things about RethinkDB is that it allows us to be flexible about what data we're capturing as well as enables us to transform it into a myriad number of ways quickly and on the fly. It's a lot of fun to use and it just works!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Reach out to them on their Slack channel and via GitHub. They're very friendly and helpful!


    Vesa K.

RethinkDB review

  • March 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Changefeeds in RethinkDB and easy-use are awesome
What do you dislike?
I think performance should be little bit better
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I need realtime data from database so RethinkDB is best for that.


    Shahid S.

One of the revolutionary design in database technology

  • March 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Real time updates using changes() syntax. We can use this feature to do most of the real time processing with less latency possible.
What do you dislike?
It requires like minimum 2GB to run and i have seen some issue of memory leak too. Although its still evolving so we can expect these for now.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am developing API engine in micro service architecture. For event store to make API"s communicate we used Redis and Socket.io and we do polling to get the information. Now with this, for any change i am going to get the information pushed to my Server :)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try to use changes() function as much as you can if you are developing the real time application. ReQL query language is indeed the advanced and quite useful to perform SQL like operation in NoSQL database.


    Internet

I have enjoyed working with rethinkdb and think it is a great choice for a lot of projects.

  • March 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The query language offers a ton of features, including advanced aggregations and transforms.
What do you dislike?
Since it is new, there are still some features that are immature or missing. One big one is an authentication system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I had a need for a fast database that could handle many transactions. I was able to put some things that would normally be the the application layer into the database.


    Information Technology and Services

My RethinkDB Review

  • March 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The way you get to query the database. It is absolutely brilliant. Being a fan of functional programming, it had been a god send to me. And then there is the real time change facilities although I dont use that much.
What do you dislike?
Performance. The insertion, especially the batch insertion performance is rather slow. Also foubd it to be slower in geo queries compared to Mongo or Postgres with the same data.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Notification system fora business automation system and a location database for a vehicle tracking system. I am storing vehicle's locations in realtime to RethinkDB and it gets queried by the browser and dropped to the map. Also nearest landmark queries are made.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It has some performance issues, but it is gettibg improved with each upgrade. Other than that ut is a fantastic product.


    Telecommunications

Internal analytics and metrics tracking

  • March 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that RethinkDB is open source, fast and declarative. It has a wonderful built in visualization tooling and works across many different server types.
What do you dislike?
It is a new tech and has limited documentation, as well as very few people using it in production environments.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was creating simple analytic data streams from web events. As the product is still in development, most of my benefits are from the developer friendly nature of the platform - learning the query language, building tables, updating models are all simple tasks w/ RethinkDB
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure that Rethink is the right tool for the job.