Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Barracuda Email Security Gateway - PAYG

Barracuda Networks | 8.2.0.004-20201028

Linux/Unix, Other 2.4.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1

External reviews

76 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ibrahim A.

Awesome new, modern software

  • January 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like how the firewall is very aware of bugs and firewall. Very useful for allowing individuals to know what’s going on and be aware instead of a passive firewall that just runs in the background
What do you dislike?
There are a TON of features to customize. Someone who doesn’t really know firewalls and their associated risks would definitely have trouble using this software- the features and customization options would allow a ton of unique user experiences but can take a while to get accustomed and used to.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In the insurance industry, keeping client files secure and safe is extremely important. Especially when you have sensitive data stored. A good firewall allows you to make sure that that system is not at risk when visiting third party websites and this software makes you fully aware if that is ever a risk.


    Legal Services

Great Product

  • January 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
They have wonderful products and very effective support. I recommend their products. We haven't found anything better.
What do you dislike?
It is a little costly. There have been some software update bugs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It helps us with all the spam emails we receive. We used to receive 50-100 spam e-mails per day. Now, it is down to less than 10.


    Cesar G.

Great cloud integration

  • January 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's clound integration promises a lot of pros against spam and it delivers on that promise.
What do you dislike?
Not much to dislike. It's a server based hardware and software.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I don't have a need for it but it's good if there's a huge network to maintain.


    Elizabeth N.

Barracuda Works Well

  • January 29, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We like the daily summary of what the filters catch and that our employees can easily whitelist or deliver any email that was quarantined.
What do you dislike?
The look and feel of the Spam Quarantine Summary email, looks outdated, but that is really not a problem, just more off something I think they could improve in order to up their industry relevance.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Barracuda helps us reduce inbox clutter, which increases employee productivity. Additionally, it enables us to protect our company's intellectual integrity, which enables us to save money, and reduce all issues related to spam.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Buy it - it is a worthwhile product that can save you and your employees, time, money, and reduce spam frustrations. It can be one of the largest assets to your company, especially as spam is only increasing as time goes by.


    Education Management

Works Quite Well

  • January 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
To be concise, it does the job it is supposed to do. There were many instances where a Trojan was detected entering the boundary retrospectively (hash was identified by another project after it had went through the firewall) but was blocked 9/10 times when coming through email. We could back to the spam firewall and see that it was blocked before it ever reached the end user.
What do you dislike?
No real complaints. For my level of access, there is nothing I dislike. It is simple and to the point, finding information is not difficult.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Serves as an excellent layer in our defense in depth strategy in relation to email security. It serves one of the front lines of defense to our end users, this is extremely important as email is one of the most easily exploited attack vectors for malware.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
To put it simply, it gets the job done without an unacceptable rate of false-positives or false-negatives.


    Hospital & Health Care

This product is used by the company I work for to screen emails for potential spam

  • January 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is very clear about the emails it blocks due to suspicion of spam. It sends you an email of what is spammed and where it is. You can supposedly retrieve it if you want to.,
What do you dislike?
Once something is quarantined it is really, really, hard to figure out how to open it up if you need to! This is because sometimes emails about things like education opportunities, person emails, etc get mistaken for spam so they are blocked. It's frustrating. When you try to look it up in the help section you are led to multiple pages about other Barracuda products. I don't want to have to call Barracuda Tech support to figure out how to retrieve emails marked as spam!
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is really good at blocking spam and potential viruses. Compared to the other place I work, I never hear about virus emails being a problem. Overall it does a great job of keeping the network and client's personal information very safe.


    Non-Profit Organization Management

Strange things filtered out from time to time

  • January 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It can be easy to tell what didn't make it
What do you dislike?
I'd like to see a log of stuff that is full on blocked. sometimes I miss professional emails.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
spam


    Christen L.

Works well to filter out harmful sites

  • January 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how easy Barracuda is the manage and specifically filter out sites. The ability to filter by key words really has helped with website and time management.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes Barracuda filters out sites that are not listed in the database and it's difficult to have them removed. We have not yet mastered how to manage safe sites within our department.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We manage our entire university campus computers and we are using the spam firewall to filter out harmful sites. We have had many hacking attempts and spam and this has seemed to be a a great resolution.


    Research

Barracuda review

  • January 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Having been set up by our IT department, as a user, it does filter and encrypt as it should, saving us from numerous unwanted messages.
What do you dislike?
The messages seem jumbled and can be hard to follow upon replying several times. Attachments do not seem to be an option.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Filtering unwanted messages which saves time.


    Stephen J.

Very good protection and excellent fine-tuning capabilities at a good price

  • December 28, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The price is excellent and the protection is very good.
Sandboxing, Advanced Analytics, Block lists, reputations and even basic (but powerful) regex's.
Allows for Quarantining and, by using the Cloud Protection Layer, spooling for when your mail server is not contactable.
What do you dislike?
There are false positives and negatives, but if you take advantage of Quarantine, it will help in the initial training. Not quite set and forget.
Ensure the people who have access are well trusted, as it does show the full email content.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Phishing protection, email virus protection, URL rewriting and protection.
Email threat protection - not just anti-spam.