Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Symantec Endpoint Protection - BYOL

Symantec Corporation | SEP 14.3

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 Standard - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

513 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    F R.

Good product - Awful support

  • November 12, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is a established product that does its job nicely. The centralized cloud console properly monitors clients and issues alerts as expected, interface is clean and easy to use albeit a bit too simple for the cloud version, compared to the on-prem Enterprise edition that presents clients in a tree structure and has the ability to create firewall and management policies and apply these to groups to control traffic at the port level, service level or source/destination level. A firewall at the perimeter will protect ports and services but many threats come now via http and https, so it's vital to have protection at the endpoint level.
What do you dislike?
Support after Broadcom acquisition is awful. Been using Symantec products since 2004 and never had an issue with support until Broadcom acquired it. I had a problem with my licensing (they offered a free upgrade from SBE to SES because they were discontinuing the former) and opened a support ticket in which I was told it would be upgraded before October 31st but that did not happen. On that day I opened another ticket (high priority this time) and they just tossed it around until for days until I call them and I was told that because my subscription had expired I needed to buy new licenses (my subscription does not show as expired in the console, because it had been extended to help with the transition to SES so that was inaccurate). All support calls went to India, the line quality was very poor and if you add that to a thick accent, it was very hard to understand the rep. Yet the bottom line is this: Regardless being a paying customer, with an active license, she was rude and could care less about loosing a client.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it for Endpoint protection, anitivirus and firewall. It is nice to have an extra layer of protection at the endpoint level as nowadays many threats pass through the perimeter firewall via a web browser, so it catch bugs that users may be unknowingly inviting via an embedded link in an email r an attachment. The console has the needed features to know the status of clients at a glance (all good, needs attention, at risk, needs restart, needs update) and you can create policies and assign to groups, similar to what you can do in the SEP Enterprise edition, though the interface for the latter is much nicer that the one for the SBE Cloud. In general, this is a good product as long as you don't need to call support.


    Telecommunications

Strong protection for powerful PCs

  • October 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I use Symantec Endpoint Protection integrated with Active Domain. It has caught all malicious files so far. Sometimes it also caught files that I thought were not harmful. I like the Network and Host Exploit Mitigation feature.
What do you dislike?
The computer is very slow, whenever it is scanning. It is necessary to use an SSD in the computer.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I can safely plug USB into my computer. It instantly detects sites that are running malicious exploits.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use the SSD disk


    Evren B.

A simple and powerful tool to protect your systems

  • October 22, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best part of the product is the perfectly detailed control of each security component, which can be customized to suit different business environments. With SEP, you have an incredible amount of control over the security policies in place for different machine types and different offices.
What do you dislike?
It really pisses me off to restart the computer so that the installed updates can take effect. I think SEP should find a solution to this. Apart from that, it is another disadvantage of the product that it uses a lot of PC resources while scanning in the background.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
SEP is a first class product for the security protection of client and server computers of all organizations, regardless of whether they are small or large, against viruses and malware. We have been using this product in our company for a long time. Since our staff work from home during the pandemic period, we use SEP to protect client computers from threats, as they make VPN to the corporate network over unsecured networks. This way, we feel very comfortable.


    Information Technology and Services

The solution offers protection from Network threats and is easy to use.

  • October 15, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The solution is easy to use and has the ability to integrate with the Symantec cloud. It is also easy to deploy and adequate support is available.

The Symantec solution is also able to replace any existing endpoint security solution during the installation process.

Useful product documentation is also available and relatively easy to find.
What do you dislike?
More training material and videos should be made available. Things got a little bit confusing after the Broadcom acquisition. The new website layout can be improved to make it easier to find resources.

Replication with Symantec replication partners at other locations fails sometimes. This appears to have improved greatly with software updates.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Endpoint security, Device Control, Intrusion Detection, Asset Management, and Network Security.

We now have improved visibility into endpoints on the network and better asset management.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I advise that you dedicate adequate time to planning your implementation to ensure the solution is deployed properly in your environment. This will lead to faster value realization from the solution.


    Ali T.

Best Web and System Security Software and Endpoint Package

  • October 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It protects workstations and servers running on all platforms such as Windows, Linux or macOS. It includes immense internet security as well as intrusion prevention, firewall and anti-malware features. It is a reputation-based engine that monitors new files for malicious activity. Constant updates and automatic updating of clients, with the latest definitions always available on the client protects the client from the latest threats.
What do you dislike?
There is no side of the product that I do not like. We have provided high-level protection against viruses and malware on our workstation and client computers with SEP. Therefore, we are very satisfied with the product.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use the product to protect the workstations with many different operating systems in our company against threats such as viruses and ransomware, as well as to protect their PCs when they make VPN from unsecured networks to the company on client computers.


    Serkan M.

A Successful Virus Protection Solution

  • October 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
SEP provides real-time protection, the central location helps to easily send updates to client workstations. SEP It is a very user friendly solution. The best part of the product is that it can detect threats quickly with its powerful scanning capabilities and is supported by multiple operating system platforms.
What do you dislike?
The downside of SEP is that it uses a lot of PC resources. So when SEP scans in the background or does some other action, the PC becomes very slow.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use SEP to defend against viruses and malware on our company's end user computers. SEP protects against virus attacks, ransomware, malware attacks, and unknown threats. Symantec Endpoint has fixed several layers of protection. Central management gives very detailed reports. It is an easy to understand and use product.


    Events Services

Perfect software for protection

  • September 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
For anyone looking for security and safety at home or work, this is an industry-standard software. The performance is fantastic and certain features are not available on other software available on the market. An outstanding product overall.
What do you dislike?
It could be updated a little bit more. I prefer daily updates.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The software is solid and reliable and offers top of the bill protection. I used it and updated it from previous versions for several years and I got everything I expected.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Symantec has excellent software for any kind of business, so I would advice everyone to give it a try.


    Events Services

Symantec does an excellent job protecting against threats

  • September 21, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The installation and setup of the software was very simple. The user interface is a little clean, but I prefer to have a lot of features on the dashboard. I ran some antivirus benchmarks and Symantec scored well. The software is a single solution that can defend against all threats and does a decent job protecting against viruses and malware.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the scanning process takes a while and I noticed my system was operating a bit slower while scanning.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I like that Symantec Endpoint Protection is the best single protection solution and performs really well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy and strong solution to protect any kind of system. I would truly advice to use Symantec.


    Events Services

A decent anti-virus solution

  • September 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that Symantec is a solid solution to protect systems from viruses, malware, ransomware and spyware. The software is light on CPU and RAM and does not impact the overall performance of the system. The user interface is clear and easy to understand. I can see that the definitions database receives its updates every week and the software is up to date at all times.
What do you dislike?
I've never encountered any problems or received any false alerts about threats, which is a good thing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Symantec can be trusted and is a well-known brand for computer protection. I can rely on this software and can stay focused on my other tasks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would advice using Symantec as it is a security solution that you can rely on. The software is well maintained and stays up to date.


    katerina G.

It provides end-to-end security

  • September 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It provides end-to-end security for different devices and applications including desktop, mobiles, text messaging, servers and Web communications, etc. Works as a good protective wall against spams and protection for Web gateways. Efficient enough to protect against invisible threats (i.e. zero-day threats). Endpoint protection ensures the safety of delicate data and essential information at the messaging gateways with data loss prevention. It provides quick and consistent recovery for data.
What do you dislike?
It uses most of the system resources that affect system speed and efficiency. Some programs might not work properly or stop working. While deep scanning the whole system becomes extremely slow and sluggish. This issue can affect your business work and eat up your time. On the other hand, it is a bit more expensive in comparison with other software with high license fees and high pricing. These problems need to be worked with such great features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It can help the computers that are used in business work to process data, retrieve and transmit all types of data in a matter of seconds that will give us relief for data processing without any blockage, and saving more of our priceless time. It is a protector that stops the outside threats as well as insider threats. It possesses a feature known as Insight that protects against anonymous threats that can lift unofficial business information.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It possesses a feature known as Insight that protects against anonymous threats that can lift unofficial business information.Highly recommended