Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Symantec Endpoint Protection - BYOL

Symantec Corporation | SEP 14.3

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 Standard - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

467 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Joey A.

The ultimate End Point Protection

  • June 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The lastest version of Symantec EPP we are using is 14.2 (Ru2 MP1). It runs with a small Footprint and doesn't impact performance of our company PCs unlike the previous versions. SEPP offers outstanding malware protection, self updating and self healing. Although we use a multi-tiered approach, from our cloud gateways, individual routers, Server endpoints, PC endpoints and browsers, this is a must have for every user to ensure a practice of safe/secure computing.
What do you dislike?
There are times when the definitions get corrupted and certain versions have caused conflicts with newer updates of Windows 10 and Google Chrome. There are minor false-positives where you can download a famous FTP program and SEPP will flag it as a risk and delete it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The problems we solved are plain and simple. Since we deployed SEPP and allow none of our users to be admins on their box, we have not had Spyware/Malware and the like since one incident in 2009. Enough said.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Test, test and test. You will see that self administered SEPP clients have a "set it and forget it" theme.


    Banking

Solid AV and easy to manage.

  • June 16, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Its very effective against modern threats. I never had to deal with ransomware as Symantec timely detects and isolates it.
What do you dislike?
The support could be better, sometime it takes a few days to get a response.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it across the board on all endpoints.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consult with Symantec team prior to the implementation


    Clayton H.

Symantec Endpoint Protection tool is the most powerful solutions for the protection of our devices.

  • June 05, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
One thing that I use this software is that this program is a great for protecting our network because it makes us more comfortable handling sensitive information for our networking cloud. In addition in this platform is that it gives customers effectiveness and productivity in detecting viruses and defending your computer. Symantec is comprehensive protection software that can allow our employees to work more secure and with greater control by our systems. It can also allow us to scan for each sector of the company and prevents information through attacks or foreign devices on the network.
What do you dislike?
This antivirus consumes a lot of memory in the system and it can slow down our system for other applications. Some of its features are relatively complex for me when I use this tool for first time. As my personal experience it is bit expensive rather than other antivirus tools of market.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Symantec is fast and runs easily in the background and it can also provide easy-to-use central management capability.


    purnendra s.

Superb virus detection technology to protect against unknown threats

  • May 28, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec Endpoint Protection is being used in all workstations in the organization. It is one of the best protection solutions for our device to protect against online theft, virus attacks, malware, email phishing access. Administration design and control is very simple and easy to use. The background process is very smooth that doesn’t affect system performance. It is easy to deploy and easy to maintain. Customer support was great and they can easily resolve any technical solution. Overall it is a great endpoint protection solution for our organization that protects our daily work.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing I have found to dislike it. I am always using it in my office to protect my all digital assets from any virus attack. It works very smoothly in the background process.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It helped in daily job work where we keep hundred of digital files in our system to access in the future when it needed. SEP always check all the files in the background process and perfectly create firewall between inbound and outbound.


    Bellamy A.

Symantec endpoint protection professionally secures the device.

  • May 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The online security server which had made our company officially well protected is Symantec endpoint protection. It had gone towards the end of all the probable damages a malware can give and eradicated it from the root. The threatening engines that run with the browsing are put away from the system. The traffic on the networking systems are monitored quite well with this service and prevention of any intruder is done with full force. It guides the system with its powerful protection systems to manage the things secretly and quickly.
What do you dislike?
Some mistakes it made while working were the misjudgements. It blocked the much needed servers we wanted to use. So it offers much than a person desires. The overwhelming features are sometimes not good for the system and might be damaging as well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The corrections this service had made in our ongoing servers are great. The sensitive data js secured with its assistance. It had brought peace in the life of technology wars. It had given a virtual support system to our online business and shown it's abilities with the best way possible. The workforce is able to gain access to any type of servers with full protection. We don't have to worry for spywares as it operates the functions quite well. It had put extra layer of sensibility into the work and hackers can get the hand on working servers easily.


    abhishek v.

Robust technology featured endpoint protection solution

  • May 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec Endpoint Protection is a complete and integrated endpoint solution. It is a multilayer protection software to stop unknown threats. We have integrated it with the existing security infrastructure to provide synthesize responses that identify threats very quickly. It is a high-performance endpoint protection solution without compromising productivity.
What do you dislike?
While deep scanning it takes a huge amount of system resources that require higher-end specs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is easily integrated with the existing security infrastructure and It is a high-performance endpoint protection solution without compromising productivity. Overall SEP is the best multilayer protection software that makes us to reliable on it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recommend this security solution due to its multilayer security feature that doesn't compromise with productivity.


    Aniket S.

Excellent Security solution for protecting our Systems

  • April 28, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec Endpoint algorithm to detect malware and security issues in our systems is very accurate and powerful. The software scans every bit of the files and emails for malware and viruses. Ever since the usage of Symantec, we have hardly encountered any security issues in our systems. Symantec Regularly Monitors our system for vulnerabilities and possible threats that could harm our systems through the internet or any other external source. Symantec regularly releases new security updates and provides virus definitions database update for improving its algorithm to detect virus and malware.
What do you dislike?
Whether the system is a Windows or MAC, the Symantec tool consumes a lot of physical resources while running the full scan of the system. Ransomware protection isn't that great as a few months back our systems were hit with ransomware virus and it wasn't detected by Symantec.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Symantec has been our primary security solution for a long time and it has been protecting our systems from all kinds of threats such as malware, virus, and intrusions. Symantec Endpoint has been deployed in almost all our Windows and MAC Systems and it is very reliable and accurate in detecting viruses and malware. Malware Detection is overall great but not perfect as a few months back our two systems were hit by ransomware malware and Symantec wasn't able to detect it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Symantec Endpoint Protection is well suited for small to a large business organization as it helps in protecting and safeguarding our organization important data from malware and virus.


    Jagat K.

Antivirus shield agaisnt powerful threats and malwares.

  • April 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec Endpoint Encryption uses two-factor authentication software which saves the data from lost or stolen. The software provides the user with multi-grade threat protection. For a stolen device, the software enables administrators to decide whether it was encrypted. As it is made of removable media encryption and strong full-disk backed by intuitive central Privacy (PGP) technology and provides an opportunity for users to have a secure Web Gateway for all web applications. We all are facing the pandemic Covid 19 issue which hamper our business very badly however still we are struggling and working using this software.
What do you dislike?
There is a main issue with creating a user name. Symantec has various stems for user creation and to answer a lot of security questions to reset the password, but it is very difficult to remember the answers with the passage of time. As it is used for remote users and with the change of network, password cant be reflected in Windows and Symantec Endpoint Encryption which goes out of sync—thus causing login issues.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In my opinion, Symantec Endpoint Protection gives overall protection to the systems for all kind of threats. Initial set up needs some time but after that it is very easy in operations It makes the system feel very safe in respective of system safety. As it deals with all kind of threats of like spyware or malware to protect the system against all kind of protective requirements.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
What I like most is that it can detect and block any address that tries to reach your PC without your knowledge. The best software that can even be used for IPS signatures.


    aniket k.

Reliable solution to keep digital assets more secure

  • April 21, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec Endpoint Security is a reliable solution for our organization that works as a protective shield. It is available for windows and MacOs platform. It is like a barrier between the computer and the internet that protects from unauthorized users from accessing the system. The IPS feature is an advanced layer of filter that automatically blocks the known virus attack. It also expands with rootkit protection that rootkit easily affect the operating system and they are generally used for malicious purpose.
What do you dislike?
Difficult to understand the troubleshooting communication problems between content analysis and the Symantec endpoint protection manager.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In our daily life, we are so busy while working on the computer and most of the time we ignore the virus attack. Symantec Endpoint Protection is a complete protective shield that doesn't make us worry about it. It works perfectly and regularly updates with the latest virus database.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Well, I would definitely recommend this protective shield to others. It is the best endpoint security software in the market that protects your personal files from any type of unknown threats or unauthorized access.


    Vaibhav S.

Powerful and Reliable Security Solution

  • April 17, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec is the most powerful solution for protecting our systems from malware and intrusions. We can easily check the health of our end-users system and monitor everything from the Symantec cloud console. Our System are regularly updated with the latest virus definitions to protects us from the latest threats. Its scanning mechanism is great and very accurate in blocking all kinds of malware and intrusions.
What do you dislike?
One of the biggest concern with the Symantec endpoint protection is that it consumes a lot of System resources while running deep scans and make it impossible for us to do any other work on the system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have implemented Symantec endpoint protection on all our systems to protect them from known and unknown threats and intrusions. It acts as a strong layer of defense on our systems and protects them from viruses and intrusions. Our Systems are configured to be scanned daily and these daily deep scans ensures our system safety from viruses and malware.