Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Symantec Endpoint Protection - BYOL

Symantec Corporation | SEP 14.3

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 Standard - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

518 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Automotive

Symantec is a reliable tool for protection of clients and servers

  • March 04, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec Endpoint Protection notify us and even prevent us from seeing the content of the email and data for our security.
What do you dislike?
as far as our usage is concerned I didn't find anything to dislike
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Its data monitoring and security features is the best thing
Recommendations to others considering the product:
first study your requirement then implement best for clients and servers


    Hospital & Health Care

A good solution both for on premise and cloud

  • February 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec Endpoint Protection is delivering defense-in-depth security using several technologies not relying on any single technique for protection.
What do you dislike?
The on-premise version of Symantec Endpoint Protection is in need of a big refresh regarding it's management interface. Some "newer" features like intensive protection are only available in an hybrid configuration where you "bolt-on" the on-premise SEPM with the Symantec Enterprise Security Cloud. This is also true for new features like Behavior Isolation.

The management plattform for on-premise users should be available as an appliance to replace or complement the need for a standalone installation on Windows Server operating systems. This would enable the on-prem and cloud solutions to follow the same release cycle as the management could be upgraded more easily as it is basically the same. If you're then managing a hybrid environment, it would greatly enhance the management experience. This would also probably reduce the amount of support cases regarding issues with multiple types of configurations available.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A single solution that fits multiple requirements in a diverse enivornment and that tightly integrates with other solutions from Symantec.


    Chemicals

10 years of SEP

  • February 09, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The management of the SEP endpoint has always been very intuitive. I never feel like I have to look hard to fine the settings I need.
What do you dislike?
We have had some issues with updates that cannot be explained by the Symantec team. This causes frustrations with management.

Also, while comprehensive, the console has a steep learning curve. I feel like I am finding new things each day after over 10 years as an administrator.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
An overall protection platform for all of our endpoints
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Include the ATP portion of the production with the base functionality of SEP


    Filip G.

Most comprehensive client protection tool for large businesses

  • February 05, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The possibility for building distributed infrastructure makes it easy to secure clients in a globally dispersed environment. The scanning on the clients is well optimized and it is hardly noticeable from performance aspect. Fast response to 0-day attacks by Symantec. The ability to configure application execution prevention that can ban installers from starting if they are not in a default container. There is minimum detection of false positives.
What do you dislike?
The size of the updates can be a bit of a downside. This goes especially when new clients are introduced in an environment with slower bandwidth. The configuration interface can use an interface update.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have it as the default company wide solution (on over 200K clients) for protection against malware threats and 0-day attacks. Moreover, we also use it to prevent installation of application from unwanted sources.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is definitely worth a try especially if you are a huge organization with 10.000+ clients.


    Information Technology and Services

Complete EndPoint Protection with SEP

  • January 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Antimalware protection, firewall, IPS, Device and application control, host integrity
What do you dislike?
nothing, I like everything, the solution is very complete
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Endpoint protection, host firewall, IPS and redirection of Navigation to Proxy Cloud and CASB
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good Solution for End Point Protection


    Pablo A.

Symantec is a grate Security Solution

  • January 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
SES protect all clients in our organization from security attacks. It is a very easy product for installation, configuration, and cloud management. All Client Agent installations can be done simply without an additional software distribution tool. All SEP Clients can be easily monitored from the Reporting interface. So, If any client has the old version or old signature can be easily updated from the Console with a single click. Helps to reduce the client-based security vulnerabilities in the whole organization. I think Symantec has the best Global Antivirus database to avoid attacks including Zero-Day attacks
What do you dislike?
Endpoint interface aspect and small functionalities
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Manageability, SESE framework of all Home Office devices


    Bill T.

Solid Protection

  • January 08, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
SEP provides best in class protection for all endpoints. The enterprise management capabilities are superior to many other competing products.
What do you dislike?
Managing and maintaining deployments and definition packages can be challenging at times.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Enterprise class threat protection at the endpoint level.


    Computer & Network Security

They had a good product, but good luck trying to renew after Broadcom took over

  • January 06, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Good product, doesn't bog down the computer like other similar products. Have not have any issues with malware while running this software.
What do you dislike?
Like others, the license expired while Broadcom acquired Symantec. I have been trying to get a renewal license for this products for the past 2-3 months. Symantec (now Broadcom) is no longer selling the license, and every reseller I contacted is not responding to the emails regarding pricing information. I have contacted Broadcom directly, and they put me in contact with a vendor, which sent me a quote that was for more devices that I inquired about. Contacted the vendor back asking for a quote for just the number of devices I had, never heard back from them.

At this point I have stations for which the license has expired and do not have a way to renew them. I really hate to start looking for other products, but at the rate I am receiving responses from vendors, I have no choice.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Securing the devices against malware, virus.


    Information Technology and Services

A once popular software security product.

  • November 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec continues to have a large customer base that adds unique value to their global threat intelligence network.
What do you dislike?
Symantec products can be difficult to deploy and manage. Symantec Endpoint Protection is also plagued with performance problems.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Symantec delivers good endpoint security.


    F R.

Good product - Awful support

  • November 12, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is a established product that does its job nicely. The centralized cloud console properly monitors clients and issues alerts as expected, interface is clean and easy to use albeit a bit too simple for the cloud version, compared to the on-prem Enterprise edition that presents clients in a tree structure and has the ability to create firewall and management policies and apply these to groups to control traffic at the port level, service level or source/destination level. A firewall at the perimeter will protect ports and services but many threats come now via http and https, so it's vital to have protection at the endpoint level.
What do you dislike?
Support after Broadcom acquisition is awful. Been using Symantec products since 2004 and never had an issue with support until Broadcom acquired it. I had a problem with my licensing (they offered a free upgrade from SBE to SES because they were discontinuing the former) and opened a support ticket in which I was told it would be upgraded before October 31st but that did not happen. On that day I opened another ticket (high priority this time) and they just tossed it around until for days until I call them and I was told that because my subscription had expired I needed to buy new licenses (my subscription does not show as expired in the console, because it had been extended to help with the transition to SES so that was inaccurate). All support calls went to India, the line quality was very poor and if you add that to a thick accent, it was very hard to understand the rep. Yet the bottom line is this: Regardless being a paying customer, with an active license, she was rude and could care less about loosing a client.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it for Endpoint protection, anitivirus and firewall. It is nice to have an extra layer of protection at the endpoint level as nowadays many threats pass through the perimeter firewall via a web browser, so it catch bugs that users may be unknowingly inviting via an embedded link in an email r an attachment. The console has the needed features to know the status of clients at a glance (all good, needs attention, at risk, needs restart, needs update) and you can create policies and assign to groups, similar to what you can do in the SEP Enterprise edition, though the interface for the latter is much nicer that the one for the SBE Cloud. In general, this is a good product as long as you don't need to call support.