Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) 7.2 (HVM)

Amazon Web Services | 7.2_HVM_GA

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.0_HVM_GA - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 1
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

211 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Raj A.

one of the greatest Operating system solutions in the industry

  • July 04, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
redhat comes with great range of security sollutions and application hosting availability and most of ythe industry tools are supported by redhat. rhel 7 is updated with systemd and many other advanced OS level changes to improve the perfomance. in recent times redhat also started working on containerized solutions and environmemnts. it was rhel5 when oi started learning it first and it have grown alot and really came over the limitations it had in the past. overall redhat enterprise linux is one of the best linux distribution in industry.
overall a great OS solution
What do you dislike?
rhel is not a free and open source operation system. you always have to pay for the licence. when you are running rhel on cloud platforms it is a really great sollution but you will end up paying more then the required ammount. we would like rhel to reduce the licence fee in pendamic.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
when it comes to hosting tradiotional monolethic applications or running vdi sollution rhel is always the first choice in industry. i specificly love the passwordless authentication and security features provided by rhel. also the beenfits of usinga linux distribution on top of ther competetors in market is really huge in terms of customizing the sollution we are using and the type of devlopments in teh industry are available. we have solved many critical issues with Redhat enterprise linux sollutions.


    Dominic L.

Redhat

  • April 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Redhat provides an amazing and robust Linux OS. They also provide a stellar technical support
What do you dislike?
The licensing is a little bit too expensive for smaller companies.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It provides a stable os and help us focus on other things
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend using the official support


    Information Technology and Services

Good Linux Distro for Gov't Work

  • April 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Good stable Linux Distro that is on all of the government acceptance lists. It's on the FISMA, FedRamp, FIPS, approved list along with many others. Great for federal projects and other enterprise work. It's a stable and well supported distribution that stays on top of security vulnerabilities. Accrediting agencies and auditors are familiar with Red Hat, leading to quicker ATO's
What do you dislike?
Your paying for opensource software, something you can also get for free. Support can be slow at times (but faster and impressive at other times). But in federal environments you need the support so it's worth it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Linux OS for federal environments that need to be accredited. Since it's a well know vendor and OS it makes it much easier to get through audits. It's a stable and consistent platform, good for enterprise, mission critical and government applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a good stable OS ideal for any enterprise, mission critical or government/federal environments. It works well in secure and accredited environments as well since both the accrediting agency and auditors are familiar with Red Hat, making audits much more efficient and leading to a quicker ATO.


    Joshua M.

OS for Enterprise Web sites

  • April 06, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its Security, reliability and there is a community open for Support.
What do you dislike?
You need to be trained for to use RHEL. You need to know atleast the basic linux commands for you to use it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Permission. Deployment. Order Errors (we are using websphere), network troubleshooting, storage troubleshooting.

Benefits is there is a support for emerging technlogies and its security and compliance


    hasnain h.

Easy to use & secure

  • March 10, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
well , its the Linux based distribution and most secure they have a free version as well if before going on the purchased version try free version
What do you dislike?
you need a resource to use this else its perfect
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
none .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would say there is no question about deciding the red hat enterprise


    Raja Z.

raja review about redhat linux

  • February 01, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
most secure and virus free os . best for server side os. easy to configure through cli / terminal command.

very attractive GUI. Free application bundled with redhat.
What do you dislike?
some time very difficult to configure with some software. I fight too much when i configured oracle database. some hardwares still not supported.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
i deployed redhat as my web server and network sever apache and samba
i also using it as file server

its very secure and virus and malware free


    RAJA Z.

redHat review by raja zahid

  • February 01, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
most stable version of linux. Support mostly all hardware and software. very secure and easy to use than unix. compatible with windows. Best Cli based OS.
What do you dislike?
difficult to configure with software because its need more practice and training. Its free but still need to spent money to configured properly as per company needs
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Most i used as sever side i am using as Apache and samba server. Very secure than windows. no virus and malware i still found on my system.


    Harsh R.

RHEL

  • January 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about the RHEL is that it is robust and secure from other operating systems.
Everything that works on this operating system requires permissions.
Every software needs permission before it can be executed which ensures very fewer chances of any virus to get into the computer.

Secondly, It is an open-source operating system which means you can make changes in the operating system code as per your requirements.

Quick turnaround time on security releases.
What do you dislike?
Just the GUI (graphical user interface) else everything is good.
RHEL

Well as Linux is coming along where you can pretty much do anything and more than what Windows allows you to do, there just isn't much support for games.
Other than there are lots of software that do not support Linux.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As an Oracle database admin.
RHEL works pretty well with the oracle.
It is many a time recommended to use RHEL while you are working with Oracle.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This should be your first choice if you are thinking about using Linux mission-critical servers and/or Oracle databases.


    James A.

Linux for high level companies.

  • January 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the entire Linux system, it is perfect for the company and all programmers, Red Hat offers unique services for servers, personal computers and databases.
The graphic interface is simple and easy to understand, it has what it takes to work.
When I buy the system I can install on several PCs without problem and work all users.
What do you dislike?
Configuring server services is difficult, a lot of process and the system license is expensive to be a Linux system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use LAMP services on my server, share files and backup all data on the network and Internet of all users, avoid loss and virus attack.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have a company with many PCs I recommend this system, with a license you can use many users without problems.
RHEL offers many programs and extensions to make the best use of the system, I recommend it to configure everything you need.


    Hung D.

Redhat! True linux for Enterprise company.

  • December 23, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is the oldest linux release which i know, used from version 4 and made me most this ks really trust, stable, high availability... linux.
What do you dislike?
Almost don't have anything to dislike this linux retro. I did worked with so many version of redhat enterprise linux from ver 4 until now ver 7.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Critical application was running very stable, high avaibility, ...
- System was uptime like 99.99%
Recommendations to others considering the product:
- High availability linux, stable linux and great for your company.
- Trustable with your application like: tomcat, nginx, php, mysql,...