Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

RancherOS - HVM - ECS Enabled

Rancher Labs | v1.1.0

Linux/Unix, Other RancherOS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

16 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Yiorgos [George] A.

The Royal Road to Kubernetes

  • December 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Rancher2 is many things. It is a GUI that can sit in front of your Kubernetes cluster, regardless if it was created by Rancher, RKE, kubeadm or whatever. It offers a curated lists of k8s, which allows for smooth upgrades in-place (if you've done it with kubeadm, you get what I mean). It allows for RBAC without needing to read a lot about it when you begin your k8s journey. It makes your life easier.
What do you dislike?
I do not like it that the non-HA solution runs a k3s inside a container. It is essentially a black-box that if things go wrong, you cannot easily decide what to do next to salvage it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Fast deployment of bare-metal k8s clusters


    Higher Education

A good management tool for Kubernete's complexities

  • October 30, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Rancher greatly simplifies management of Kubernetes for our multi-tenant cluster. It comes with a built-in user management system, and can isolate teams by using Projects. All of this is very difficult to do with Kubernetes by itself.

The Kubernetes ecosystem is immense-- too large really, and each layer of the Kubernetes stack requires you to evaluate different products for every single layer-- the decision paralysis is real! Rancher simplifies this by providing some good choices out of the box-- Canal for the network driver, Prometheus/Grafana/Rancher Alerts for monitoring & alerting, a Rancher Logging front-end to configure your Network driver. Their choices save me time and let me focus on the needs of my users, not the needs of Kubernetes.
What do you dislike?
Rancher before 2.4 was not quite ready for production-- crashes and instability were common. This has improved in Rancher 2.4+.

The documentation is split between Rancher Server and RKE, which are two different products, and you need to read both to understand some configuration options.

Rancher's support for bare metal environments is a little bare-- there is no built-in Layer-4 loadbalancer like you would have with AWS ELB or other clouds. This is a critical, missing component.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Kubernetes is for a small group, but for a larger installation, Kubernete's complexity becomes difficult to manage. You need to think about user-RBAC, which isn't built into Kubernetes, integrating with a monitoring program such as Prometheus & Grafana-- all of that becomes a burden. Every level of the stack comes with an ecosystem full of choices, and you end up spending your entire time *evaluating* Kubernetes instead of *using* Kubernetes.

Rancher makes many of those choices for you, and saves time so you can focus on the real goal-- allowing the team to use the product.


    Building Materials

excellent software to orchestrate kubernetes

  • October 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
rancher allows to orchestrate more kubernetes clusters, integrates logging and alarms.
it can be installed both in single node and in high reliability.
What do you dislike?
installation procedure of rancher in high reliability is not really simple, you need to do more steps.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we use rancher for development installations and for those on premises. with this software we can easily orchestrate, schedule and monitor all kubernetes workloads.


    Computer Software

the orchestrators orchestrator easy to use

  • October 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
rancher allows you to easily install and maintain complex container orchestration systems
What do you dislike?
the community is very active but the guides and tutorials on the use of this tool are not many. offline installation is not easy.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
thanks to this tool we install and maintain kuberbetes clusters quickly and easily.


    Marcel G.

Best Container management platform

  • March 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- It's easy to use UI
- Very good technical docs
- V2 is running on Kubernetes
- Takes the complexity out of Kubernetes
- Multi-cluster management
What do you dislike?
- Not possible to upgrade/downgrade from alpha release to stable
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We had to implement Kubernetes and Rancher was the perfect Software for our use case.


    Information Technology and Services

Product Review - Rancher

  • January 03, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Rancher 2.x is the one of best tools which gives you a lot of out of box solutions with kubernetes.
Rancher 2.x introduced pipelines as well which can be integrated as CI system and then CD on Rancher only.
Another good thing, with rancher you get lot of different options when setting up a cluster like various options for clouds(AWS,Bare Metal, Digital Ocean, Custom, Azure) means where exactly you nodes are lying.
With Rancher it's very easy to setup a multi clusters for different teams in a bigger organisation and you will be able to control form a single place.
They handle container networking very well and lot of network drivers are available.
Team behind rancher is very good
What do you dislike?
Rancher 2.x still not able to pull images from private docker registeres and have to pull it before we upgrade a rancher or install it. May be I am doing wrong but have to use a shell script which is pulling the images.
Another thing, performance gets affected at a higher load due to lot of hung threads of websockets.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are trying to have a platform where we can configure multiple kubernetes clusters and easy to manage from a single place. And even to have a cluster in which nodes are lying on the different clouds as well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's an open source product where you can have multiple clusters at one place and that too each cluster in an isolation without interfering each other.


    Ajay G.

Product Review - Rancher

  • October 14, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Best part of Rancher is Rancher2.0 which is totally kubernetes and there is no need to setup manual kubernetes otherwise the documentation of kubernetes is very bad to setup.
Rancher provides lot of orchestration engine supports as well like Mesos, Cattle, Docker Swarm.
Rancher 2.0 has enabled the pipelines options as well which supports Github as well as Gitlab which is kinda out of box solution
What do you dislike?
Whenever the load increases, the performance degraded. Web sockets are not really reliable in Rancher UI due to which sometimes we are not able to open a shell on the Rancher UI for containers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are trying to host multiple environments(Multiple Kubernetes Clusters isolated for each Team) on a single platform so that it can be easy to manage from a single platform otherwise we have to go to different tools and have to setup that
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Every Company which is handling lot of different teams and they want a isolated environment for every team . Lets say for every project as well. They should use rancher as it has various layers of Isolation starting from environment then Project then Kubernetes Namespaces.
Other best thing, For running docker containers you don't have to go via Command Line. You can do everything via UI which is like User friendly. Various operations like ssh into Container, start container, read logs , etc..


    Computer Networking

Network automation

  • October 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Concise and clear use cases and definitions
What do you dislike?
Slow and crashes sometimes on heavy usage
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Container orchestration and management


    Nischay G.

Product Review - Container Management Platform

  • October 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Rancher is one of the best tool I used for Container management. The best part is Rancher 2.0 which is totally kubernetes.
Ease of setup:- You don't have to manually follow the steps to install kubernetes Cluster. Just run the rancher server and it will setup the whole cluster for you which is nothing but kubernetes.
Multiple Teams:- You can onboard multiple teams on this and can manage different clusters easily which can be (Kubernetes, Docker Swarm, Mesos) .
You can easily achieve High Availability for the applications due to which you will there will be zero downtime for the application
What do you dislike?
I find websockets sometimes create a problem in Rancher UI and person is not able to execute shell on the UI. Sometimes not able to view the logs on the Rancher UI for different containers.
Another thing, Inactive Environments degrades the performance of the Rancher due to long running queries which increases the pressure on the Database
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are trying to create a single platform for the multiple teams to manage the containers and can do the orchestration in a manner so that we can achieve High Availability, Canary Release, Service Discovery , Auto Scaling kind of features to our applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Big companies should use this Container Management Platform if they are dealing with lot of different teams and they want a isolated infrastructure environment for them.
For a POC as well, it will not take much more time as it's easy to setup


    Research

kubernetes management tool

  • September 26, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
that is able to integrate with kubernetes and manage all its clusters
What do you dislike?
the port assignment is not consistent with software
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
ONAP deployment