Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

RancherOS - HVM - ECS Enabled

Rancher Labs | v1.1.0

Linux/Unix, Other RancherOS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

14 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Building Materials

excellent software to orchestrate kubernetes

  • October 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
rancher allows to orchestrate more kubernetes clusters, integrates logging and alarms.
it can be installed both in single node and in high reliability.
What do you dislike?
installation procedure of rancher in high reliability is not really simple, you need to do more steps.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we use rancher for development installations and for those on premises. with this software we can easily orchestrate, schedule and monitor all kubernetes workloads.


    Computer Software

the orchestrators orchestrator easy to use

  • October 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
rancher allows you to easily install and maintain complex container orchestration systems
What do you dislike?
the community is very active but the guides and tutorials on the use of this tool are not many. offline installation is not easy.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
thanks to this tool we install and maintain kuberbetes clusters quickly and easily.


    Marcel G.

Best Container management platform

  • March 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- It's easy to use UI
- Very good technical docs
- V2 is running on Kubernetes
- Takes the complexity out of Kubernetes
- Multi-cluster management
What do you dislike?
- Not possible to upgrade/downgrade from alpha release to stable
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We had to implement Kubernetes and Rancher was the perfect Software for our use case.


    Information Technology and Services

Product Review - Rancher

  • January 03, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Rancher 2.x is the one of best tools which gives you a lot of out of box solutions with kubernetes.
Rancher 2.x introduced pipelines as well which can be integrated as CI system and then CD on Rancher only.
Another good thing, with rancher you get lot of different options when setting up a cluster like various options for clouds(AWS,Bare Metal, Digital Ocean, Custom, Azure) means where exactly you nodes are lying.
With Rancher it's very easy to setup a multi clusters for different teams in a bigger organisation and you will be able to control form a single place.
They handle container networking very well and lot of network drivers are available.
Team behind rancher is very good
What do you dislike?
Rancher 2.x still not able to pull images from private docker registeres and have to pull it before we upgrade a rancher or install it. May be I am doing wrong but have to use a shell script which is pulling the images.
Another thing, performance gets affected at a higher load due to lot of hung threads of websockets.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are trying to have a platform where we can configure multiple kubernetes clusters and easy to manage from a single place. And even to have a cluster in which nodes are lying on the different clouds as well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's an open source product where you can have multiple clusters at one place and that too each cluster in an isolation without interfering each other.


    Ajay G.

Product Review - Rancher

  • October 14, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Best part of Rancher is Rancher2.0 which is totally kubernetes and there is no need to setup manual kubernetes otherwise the documentation of kubernetes is very bad to setup.
Rancher provides lot of orchestration engine supports as well like Mesos, Cattle, Docker Swarm.
Rancher 2.0 has enabled the pipelines options as well which supports Github as well as Gitlab which is kinda out of box solution
What do you dislike?
Whenever the load increases, the performance degraded. Web sockets are not really reliable in Rancher UI due to which sometimes we are not able to open a shell on the Rancher UI for containers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are trying to host multiple environments(Multiple Kubernetes Clusters isolated for each Team) on a single platform so that it can be easy to manage from a single platform otherwise we have to go to different tools and have to setup that
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Every Company which is handling lot of different teams and they want a isolated environment for every team . Lets say for every project as well. They should use rancher as it has various layers of Isolation starting from environment then Project then Kubernetes Namespaces.
Other best thing, For running docker containers you don't have to go via Command Line. You can do everything via UI which is like User friendly. Various operations like ssh into Container, start container, read logs , etc..


    Computer Networking

Network automation

  • October 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Concise and clear use cases and definitions
What do you dislike?
Slow and crashes sometimes on heavy usage
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Container orchestration and management


    Nischay G.

Product Review - Container Management Platform

  • October 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Rancher is one of the best tool I used for Container management. The best part is Rancher 2.0 which is totally kubernetes.
Ease of setup:- You don't have to manually follow the steps to install kubernetes Cluster. Just run the rancher server and it will setup the whole cluster for you which is nothing but kubernetes.
Multiple Teams:- You can onboard multiple teams on this and can manage different clusters easily which can be (Kubernetes, Docker Swarm, Mesos) .
You can easily achieve High Availability for the applications due to which you will there will be zero downtime for the application
What do you dislike?
I find websockets sometimes create a problem in Rancher UI and person is not able to execute shell on the UI. Sometimes not able to view the logs on the Rancher UI for different containers.
Another thing, Inactive Environments degrades the performance of the Rancher due to long running queries which increases the pressure on the Database
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are trying to create a single platform for the multiple teams to manage the containers and can do the orchestration in a manner so that we can achieve High Availability, Canary Release, Service Discovery , Auto Scaling kind of features to our applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Big companies should use this Container Management Platform if they are dealing with lot of different teams and they want a isolated infrastructure environment for them.
For a POC as well, it will not take much more time as it's easy to setup


    Research

kubernetes management tool

  • September 26, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
that is able to integrate with kubernetes and manage all its clusters
What do you dislike?
the port assignment is not consistent with software
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
ONAP deployment


    Ross A. B.

Great UI - Expanding

  • July 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple, clean UI that delivers relevant information.
Easy to set up and manage, even manages multiple locations cleanly.
What do you dislike?
Health checks, failovers, and alerting still have some room for growth. Can bake some precautions into the containers, but meta information isn't readily/easily accessible.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Managing the VM's for our core and auxiliary web site services
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As Rancher continues to move to a kubernetes backbone - this product should continue to improve.


    Brian D.

Container Orchestration Without the Headache

  • January 05, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Hard to pick one thing I like best because the beauty of Rancher lies in how well it ties together many different features to make up one of the most complete, usable container orchestration platforms available. In particular, the API is very intuitive for building custom tooling against, and the UI gives me a complete view of my infrastructure from the container level down to the hardware itself.
What do you dislike?
After continued use, the web UI can become extremely slow to the point that I have to close my browser and re-open it in order to perform basic administration tasks. This has been a source of frustration, but my understanding is that newer versions of Rancher have addressed this (we currently run v1.2).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Rancher is our go-to control panel for simple, failsafe container deployments. We initially chose Rancher because it allowed us the flexibility to switch between many different container scheduling platforms (Mesos, Swarm, Kubernetes, and Cattle). As all of these solutions were very new, this flexibility gave us the confidence to move to a container-based infrastructure without the fear that we were investing in a container scheduling platform that might soon become obsolete. I do believe that v2+ of Rancher only integrates with Kubernetes, however I don't see this as a loss of flexibility as much as an indication that it has become a clear winner among the previously supported platforms. Since adopting Rancher, we've seen a significant reduction in downtime, since healthchecks and automatic rescheduling keep our systems healthy with very little manual intervention.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The current major release of Rancher (2.0 at this time) is built exclusively on top of Kubernetes. If you are considering Rancher, I would recommend becoming familiar with Kubernetes administration as well.