Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

RancherOS - HVM

Rancher Labs | v1.1.0

Linux/Unix, Other RancherOS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

26 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Philip S.

Strong production grade Kubernetes distribution

  • July 16, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Simplicity to manage multiple K8s clusters
- Near upstream Kubernetes architecture of Rancher RKE clusters
- Ranchers support of multiple public cloud / on-prem infrastructures
- RKE2 will bring Rancher to the next level: Removal of Docker (replaced by containerd), hardened setup, etc.
- Rancher's user authentification & authorization via AD, LDAP, OpenID Connect, etc.
- Simplicity up upgrade Kubernetes clusters via Rancher
What do you dislike?
- Fleet: Why do we need another GitOps solution instead of using existing ones like ArgoCD & co.?
- I miss that Rancher does not provide a self-maintaining master/worker OS like CoreOS, Flatcar Container Linux & co.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Rancher helps to quickly deploy and manage multiple Kubernetes clusters from a single control plane


    Steffen J.

Kubernetes the easy way.

  • July 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I think Rancher is one of the simplest ways to get a production-ready Kubernetes Cluster up and running. When I remember right, only a few well-documented commands were necessary to set up the cluster and get it up and running. A few more Clicks and config entries in the Rancher GUI then enabled monitoring, logging (with an already setup Backend for the logging data), and a storage solution (longhorn).
A later run kube-hunter didn't show severe problems regarding the security, even though I mainly used standard entries.
The Rancher community and employees were also constructive in answering questions or providing how-tos (line for MetalLB), making implementing those solutions straightforward.
What do you dislike?
In a HA setup, the overhead on Nodes you need for the Clusters themselves is pretty high (assuming the use of RKE and etcd):
Three nodes for the Rancher Cluster
Five nodes for the downstream clusters (2 for the Control plane and 3 for etcd ) + x nodes for the workload
Other than that - Rancher makes me too spoiled and lazy to look for other add-ins and solutions that Rancher does not prepare ;)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am running a complicated application using some available products and some self-written code in containers. Benefits were a stable and easy to setup/maintain infrastructure.


    Esko W.

Fits everywhere!

  • July 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Based on standards, no vendor lock-in, fits everywhere, manages everything and everywhere!
What do you dislike?
I haven't found anything very critical yet! When multi-tenancy is in place, everything is pretty good!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
There were multiple Kubernetes platforms, no standard tool to manage them.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There is a lot of demand for Rancher kind of solution. If your environment is "mixed" between private, hybrid, cloud, hyperscalers, etc. - then you should look especially Rancher!


    Kim A.

Get in control of your container orchestration infrastructure

  • July 09, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Comprehensive management capabilities across various use cases, ease of deployment, and straightforward to get to value quickly. Not that many tools out there that are useful when systematizing the Kubernetes-related management tasks. The platform, the tools and the community are great to work with and provide plenty of opportunities.
What do you dislike?
More work on deployable apps still needed
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are managing and controlling Public Cloud Kubernetes deployments and systematizing on-premise Kubernetes management for our own infrastructure and customers.


    Michael H.

If you want to start with Kubernetes, use Rancher

  • July 07, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
A good GUI to show what's going on. It helps you get started with Kubernetes, even when you don't have a large IT department.
What do you dislike?
Not much. It's getting better every iteration.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We can do deployments much faster now. Also, the visibility of our deployments for (non-techie) teammates is much better.


    Ajinkya B.

A great container management platform for ages!

  • July 06, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's cross-cloud compatibility.
Its multi-host docker-compose support.
What do you dislike?
A bit pricy support.
No ability to see, edit and manage CRDs from the GUI.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With Rancher, I can connect to Containers, Manage Disks, Deploy Load Balancers.
We have about ~30 rancher-provisioned clusters, and it works nearly perfectly. The only issues we had were that of all our nodes; one node once got disconnected after a Kubernetes upgrade initiated by Rancher.


    Florian R.

Complexity made easy with flexibility built in

  • July 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The fact that Rancher can be deployed in its most basic way in a matter of minutes and upgrading clusters is stable and working exceptionally well
What do you dislike?
Lack of documentation regarding in-depth cluster configurations (namely, how to change or define the cluster networks and why single project networks are 255 IPs)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Large scale cluster management between private, public cloud, and bare metal
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you read up on rancher and test it.. testing it and getting familiar with it is a simple docker command and it really makes you want to work with it


    Information Technology and Services

Contain your containers with Rancher

  • June 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
* 100% open source
* Easy to install and use
* Not tied to any particular Kubernetes platform
* There seems to be a good community around Rancher offering support and training

I can see why SUSE bought the company and I'm looking forward to seeing how things develop, particularly with their Harvester product.
What do you dislike?
It's still early days but nothing so far - hopefully that will continue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm trying Rancher to help with running and managing a Kubernetes cluster.


    Nuno D.

Kubernetes should not be complicated: meet SUSE/Rancher

  • June 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
All the projects are thought with the end-user in mind. Be it Ops or Devs. Rancher, the project, is one of the best UIs to manage the often complex Kubernetes clusters.

At the same time, K3s has become by far one of the Kubernetes distributions the most used and loved by the community.

Last but not least, the SUSE Rancher employees are very knowledgeable and take time to listen to the customers.
What do you dislike?
Right now, nothing in special. I'm really waiting on seeing what SUSE and Rancher can accomplish together and hoping that "corporate" does not kill the innovation both companies are known for.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The abstration the Rancher projects have, allows me to learn and demo Kubernetes in a very easier way.
K3s is also very tiny and fast, which allows me to test it on Edge cases (read: WSL, RasperyPi, Smaller cloud instances)


    👾 Victor E.

A great tool to manage your k8s envs

  • June 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to manage multiple kubernetes clusters with one interface
What do you dislike?
Nothing so far, I haven't found any real thing yet
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To have different kubernetes providers. Rancher provides me with the same UX for all my k8s envs