Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Symantec Protection Engine for Cloud Services on Linux - BYOL

Symantec | 8.2.2

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

530 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer & Network Security

They had a good product, but good luck trying to renew after Broadcom took over

  • January 06, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Good product, doesn't bog down the computer like other similar products. Have not have any issues with malware while running this software.
What do you dislike?
Like others, the license expired while Broadcom acquired Symantec. I have been trying to get a renewal license for this products for the past 2-3 months. Symantec (now Broadcom) is no longer selling the license, and every reseller I contacted is not responding to the emails regarding pricing information. I have contacted Broadcom directly, and they put me in contact with a vendor, which sent me a quote that was for more devices that I inquired about. Contacted the vendor back asking for a quote for just the number of devices I had, never heard back from them.

At this point I have stations for which the license has expired and do not have a way to renew them. I really hate to start looking for other products, but at the rate I am receiving responses from vendors, I have no choice.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Securing the devices against malware, virus.


    Information Technology and Services

A once popular software security product.

  • November 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec continues to have a large customer base that adds unique value to their global threat intelligence network.
What do you dislike?
Symantec products can be difficult to deploy and manage. Symantec Endpoint Protection is also plagued with performance problems.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Symantec delivers good endpoint security.


    F R.

Good product - Awful support

  • November 12, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is a established product that does its job nicely. The centralized cloud console properly monitors clients and issues alerts as expected, interface is clean and easy to use albeit a bit too simple for the cloud version, compared to the on-prem Enterprise edition that presents clients in a tree structure and has the ability to create firewall and management policies and apply these to groups to control traffic at the port level, service level or source/destination level. A firewall at the perimeter will protect ports and services but many threats come now via http and https, so it's vital to have protection at the endpoint level.
What do you dislike?
Support after Broadcom acquisition is awful. Been using Symantec products since 2004 and never had an issue with support until Broadcom acquired it. I had a problem with my licensing (they offered a free upgrade from SBE to SES because they were discontinuing the former) and opened a support ticket in which I was told it would be upgraded before October 31st but that did not happen. On that day I opened another ticket (high priority this time) and they just tossed it around until for days until I call them and I was told that because my subscription had expired I needed to buy new licenses (my subscription does not show as expired in the console, because it had been extended to help with the transition to SES so that was inaccurate). All support calls went to India, the line quality was very poor and if you add that to a thick accent, it was very hard to understand the rep. Yet the bottom line is this: Regardless being a paying customer, with an active license, she was rude and could care less about loosing a client.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use it for Endpoint protection, anitivirus and firewall. It is nice to have an extra layer of protection at the endpoint level as nowadays many threats pass through the perimeter firewall via a web browser, so it catch bugs that users may be unknowingly inviting via an embedded link in an email r an attachment. The console has the needed features to know the status of clients at a glance (all good, needs attention, at risk, needs restart, needs update) and you can create policies and assign to groups, similar to what you can do in the SEP Enterprise edition, though the interface for the latter is much nicer that the one for the SBE Cloud. In general, this is a good product as long as you don't need to call support.


    Telecommunications

Strong protection for powerful PCs

  • October 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I use Symantec Endpoint Protection integrated with Active Domain. It has caught all malicious files so far. Sometimes it also caught files that I thought were not harmful. I like the Network and Host Exploit Mitigation feature.
What do you dislike?
The computer is very slow, whenever it is scanning. It is necessary to use an SSD in the computer.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I can safely plug USB into my computer. It instantly detects sites that are running malicious exploits.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use the SSD disk


    Information Technology and Services

The solution offers protection from Network threats and is easy to use.

  • October 15, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The solution is easy to use and has the ability to integrate with the Symantec cloud. It is also easy to deploy and adequate support is available.

The Symantec solution is also able to replace any existing endpoint security solution during the installation process.

Useful product documentation is also available and relatively easy to find.
What do you dislike?
More training material and videos should be made available. Things got a little bit confusing after the Broadcom acquisition. The new website layout can be improved to make it easier to find resources.

Replication with Symantec replication partners at other locations fails sometimes. This appears to have improved greatly with software updates.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Endpoint security, Device Control, Intrusion Detection, Asset Management, and Network Security.

We now have improved visibility into endpoints on the network and better asset management.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I advise that you dedicate adequate time to planning your implementation to ensure the solution is deployed properly in your environment. This will lead to faster value realization from the solution.


    Ali T.

Best Web and System Security Software and Endpoint Package

  • October 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It protects workstations and servers running on all platforms such as Windows, Linux or macOS. It includes immense internet security as well as intrusion prevention, firewall and anti-malware features. It is a reputation-based engine that monitors new files for malicious activity. Constant updates and automatic updating of clients, with the latest definitions always available on the client protects the client from the latest threats.
What do you dislike?
There is no side of the product that I do not like. We have provided high-level protection against viruses and malware on our workstation and client computers with SEP. Therefore, we are very satisfied with the product.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use the product to protect the workstations with many different operating systems in our company against threats such as viruses and ransomware, as well as to protect their PCs when they make VPN from unsecured networks to the company on client computers.


    Serkan M.

A Successful Virus Protection Solution

  • October 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
SEP provides real-time protection, the central location helps to easily send updates to client workstations. SEP It is a very user friendly solution. The best part of the product is that it can detect threats quickly with its powerful scanning capabilities and is supported by multiple operating system platforms.
What do you dislike?
The downside of SEP is that it uses a lot of PC resources. So when SEP scans in the background or does some other action, the PC becomes very slow.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use SEP to defend against viruses and malware on our company's end user computers. SEP protects against virus attacks, ransomware, malware attacks, and unknown threats. Symantec Endpoint has fixed several layers of protection. Central management gives very detailed reports. It is an easy to understand and use product.


    Events Services

Perfect software for protection

  • September 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
For anyone looking for security and safety at home or work, this is an industry-standard software. The performance is fantastic and certain features are not available on other software available on the market. An outstanding product overall.
What do you dislike?
It could be updated a little bit more. I prefer daily updates.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The software is solid and reliable and offers top of the bill protection. I used it and updated it from previous versions for several years and I got everything I expected.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Symantec has excellent software for any kind of business, so I would advice everyone to give it a try.


    Doğan D.

the only effective protection I trust for my computer's security

  • September 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The security infrastructure of the application works exactly as I want it. It blocks all malware. The risk factor is minimized. It monitors the system very well and provides full protection.
What do you dislike?
I see that the application is using a lot of System resources. usually uses 50% performance of the processor. This situation affects me very much. Symantec application causes some of my applications to open too late. As an example, I can say Anydesk remote desktop application.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In addition to actively providing protection, it is very convenient to have a programming scan structure. It makes my job very easy to immediately terminate the detected malicious processes.


    Events Services

Symantec does an excellent job protecting against threats

  • September 21, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The installation and setup of the software was very simple. The user interface is a little clean, but I prefer to have a lot of features on the dashboard. I ran some antivirus benchmarks and Symantec scored well. The software is a single solution that can defend against all threats and does a decent job protecting against viruses and malware.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the scanning process takes a while and I noticed my system was operating a bit slower while scanning.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I like that Symantec Endpoint Protection is the best single protection solution and performs really well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy and strong solution to protect any kind of system. I would truly advice to use Symantec.