Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Symantec Protection Engine for Cloud Services on Linux - BYOL

Symantec | 8.2.2*

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

481 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Matthew M.

Powerful, but hampered by system clutter

  • June 12, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love the depth of the integration, how it can manage and protect all the trouble spots a system can have. I really like the depth fo the customer service too, they are helpful and educated, far more than your average 'lvl 1 support' person reading from a script usually is.
What do you dislike?
Its biggest feature is also its biggest downfall, as with so many Norton/Symantic products they dig deep into your system to provide some very impressive features, but at the same time that deep integration bogs your system down, makes for a tedious uninstall and I dislike their payment model as well. I want to go back to paying one for software, I really dislike the subscription model as the primary payment method for software.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were trying to find all in one, full featured protection suite. We had grown tired of having to run 4-5 programs to protect our system, keep them all update and have to deal with the mixture of 4-5 different payment for service models too.

Its main benefit is that is simplified everything, protection, updates, payments. All were much simper with Endpoint.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Powerful software, if you are one the many forced to use multiple software packages to provide your system and/or network of computers with security I'd recommend Endpoint, just make sure you systems are new and powerful. Older systems can't really handle the deep, entangling integration that Endpoint necessitates to do its job well.


    Computer Software

Not just AV - Use the

  • June 10, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
All of the portions of SEP work great together, and don't just leverage AV. In fact AV is dead and you need things like SONAR and the Firewall and other portins to be sucessfull

SEP also works great for Device Control allowing us to limit the types of USB drives we allow
What do you dislike?
Symantec needs to speed up the support of new versions of Windows 10. Now that releases are happening twice a year I can't wait a long time for a new update to Symantec to upgrade .

ALso increase speed of support of Mac OS upgrades
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Protecting our endpoints from malware, APTs and other virus problems. Limit USB use to only approved devices
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look into all of the features that SEP provides. So many people only setup AV. Application Control, Device Control, etc. all work great


    Education Management

Symantec Endpoint 14

  • June 05, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The reliability with ease of install and support, the trustworthiness of Symantec to get the job done correctly and a well developed and supported product.
What do you dislike?
I haven't found any things to dislike yet, i'm still looking, I find the full can time can be slow but i'm sure the competitors would have the same issue.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using SEC14 to protect our endpoint clients, we enjoy the benefits of a reliable and easy to use client software with the trust that its protecting our users.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Save time and don't bother trying others save time and go for this product first.


    Robert B.

Decent Product Heading in the Right Direction

  • May 27, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Centrally managed from a server, using Agent based deployment. Central console can be used to manage all aspects of your protection setup. Integrates well with the rest of Symantec's security platform.
What do you dislike?
Symantec's licensing can be a minefield, though that isn't an issue with the product itself. Can be a little resource heavy, will run fine if adequately resourced.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Endpoint protection that needs little client-side management. While everything works well and it's a strong product, we chose to go with a competitor for our Endpoint Protection. This was mostly a case of preference and choosing to stay with our current vendor. If there had been no existing relationship, the choice may have been different.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Well worth looking at, particularly with the recent merger with Bluecoat.


    Venelina V.

Outstanding

  • May 27, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We have been using Symantec for protection for all of our computer systems in the entire network for a couple of years. Symantec's malware scanning process is very quick and effective. We have not had a malware threat go unnoticed and not taken care of by Symantec so far. Symantec does not slow down our network or computers and runs perfectly in the background.
The system provides detailed logs about the points of scanning and many other valuable features.
What do you dislike?
Interface could be updated and sharpened, but there isn't anything negative about the functionality and effectiveness of Symantec.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Symantec to provide malware security in all of our computer systems in the network--more than 1000 computers and laptops.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Symantec is easy to be deployed for your business needs. Definitely recommend as a possible malware scanning system.


    Automotive

Symantec Endpoint Protection 14, take another look!

  • May 26, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the fact that Symantec (with new partner, BlueCoat) has listened to the masses and brought forth a solid platform that we can rely on.
What do you dislike?
This is an evolving platform, getting better with each release!
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
As one of the first to admit that traditional AV wasn't enough to combat the advanced threats that we fight in this age, Symantec went back to the drawing board and brought the best of the old and of the new.


    Retail

The Protection which all PCs Need!

  • April 14, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec Endpoint Protection is a powerful tool to ensure full security of your system and official files. We are particularly impressed by the levels of protection that Symantec offers including - Antivirus, Anti-Spyware, SONAR, Device Control, Download Intel, Browser Security and Smart Firewall. They are also excellent in Email Protection and related security features.
What do you dislike?
It's an excellent solution for all businesses and definitely way ahead of it's competition!
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use them for the following -
Antivirus, Anti-Spyware, SONAR, Device Control, Download Intel, Browser Security, Smart Firewall, Email Protection and related security features.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
They are good people to do business with in the system protection and data privacy space. We have been long-term users now and have been completely satisfied. The product with very intuitive and the best in the market. They are very cost effective too and hence, I advise and recommend!


    James C.

Quality Enterprise Protection

  • March 04, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the fact that you can manage 100's of end points globally, from the Single Console.

The single console is very useful to manage their risks, forcefully enable scans to remediate any infections. Installs and scans run silently in the background for minimal user disruption.

Server interface is very straight forward.
What do you dislike?
I find that the GUI interface can be a bit slow at times and reports can take time to generate, especially when dealing with lots of end points.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The university that I work at has staff traveling around multiple locations at times, covering many different time zones. We have a dedicated IT team who supports these staff 24/7, this enables us to schedule scans and deal with infections whenevers convenient.

We have multiple categories of policies and package installations required for each time zone. These are easily managed using separate sub-folders and groups. It generlly works really well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Worth trying out and compare to other solutions.


    Kimiya K.

Symantec Endpoint protection

  • January 16, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is very easy to install and they provide very good support. and they keep updating it.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes there is conflict between Symantec and some softwares
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Its a golf club


    Government Administration

Great easy to use product

  • January 12, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The installer is quick and painless to run, and using the console to manage workstations is super simple. The software does a very good job of running in the background and not using a ton of system resources. We haven't had any problems with it running in a ~50 workstation environment.
What do you dislike?
I can't say there's really anything that I have found to dislike about the product. it does its job pretty well.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Keeping the workstations infection free and running well.