Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Symantec Protection Engine for Cloud Services on Linux

Symantec | 8.2.2*

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

483 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Alejandro M.

SEP: Always leading the way of endpoints protection

  • January 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy setup and management. By having only one agent (software peace in each machine) makes things pretty smooth to deploy, troubleshoot, update and manage. One feature I really love about this suite is SONAR which is a great way of advanced protection against unknown malicious code.
What do you dislike?
It is really pricey. Let´s be realistic, it is the most powerful tool out there but still I think Symantec Corporation should re-think the price strategies and make it more competitive specifically when it is a support renewal.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Besides the benefits of having our data secured, thanks to SEP we could integrate both email and endpoints (desktops, laptops and servers) on the same security platform.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As I state in this review, SEP Suites are a bit pricey, so, you´d like to save some money by dealing a multiple year support contract.


    Telecommunications

Like most Symantec products, it causes severe degradation to my system

  • December 29, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like absolutely nothing about this software.
What do you dislike?
Everything. The user interface is ancient and it causes severe degradation to my system performance.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Centralized deployment, but other solutions offer this too.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do not use this product


    Farming

Symantec Endpoint Protection

  • December 19, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Symantec Endpoint Protection can be easily installed. You can create and deploy a silent install package with ease.
What do you dislike?
My origination has had some problems upgrading different client version of Symantec Endpoint Protection. We had to download a special tool from Symantec to remove the previous version to install the newest version.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Symantec Endpoint Protection for anti virus solutions in our enterprise environment. Usually easy to deploy and manage from a central server. You can also configure end clients to distribute definitions for remote offices.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For now Symantec Endpoint Protection meets our company needs. We have discussed exploring other options but so far we have not done so.


    Verified User in Logistics and Supply Chain

Symantec Endpoint Protection

  • December 15, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the fact that I can authenticate another machine or my cell phone and use it elsewhere. I also like the fact that it has multiple protection choices. You have to enter your credentials before you can even load into the windows screen. It just offers that much more protection.
What do you dislike?
The only thing I dislike is the fact that you need to reset different credentials to a different computer, to make that the main.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
User identification, anti malware and spyware protection and removal.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a try, I think it works very well.


    Biotechnology

Great simple product to use

  • December 10, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The interface is simple to use and gives you the ability to set basic exclusions. SEP takes all the hassle of management out and gives you an easy way to get reports and notifications on what is happening in your network.
What do you dislike?
At times, the product can be too simple and leaves you wanting more. The default is to use the normal basic profile without any modifications.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using SEP to ensure we completely understand and stay involved with what is going on with our computers and protect us from any sort of malware. The main benefit to us is that it removes the hassle of setting up a management server (but gives you the option to setup a local update server).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a large company you can trust, this is one of the BEST!


    Internet

best antivirus

  • November 28, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This offers the best protection against malicious softwares
What do you dislike?
It slows down the computer. Sometiems there are some background processes that keep running.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Nothing from business standpoint.


    Financial Services

Review

  • November 08, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
easy to use, reliable and works as expected.
What do you dislike?
could be complicated to set up, some customization required
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
business security, encryption


    Philanthropy

Great product

  • November 08, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like how it includes malware protection and it has improved a lot over the years.
What do you dislike?
They are slower to release new versions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Antivirus and malware protection


    Computer & Network Security

Good work

  • November 07, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to do custom scans across the network.
What do you dislike?
The amount of space it takes and the fact that it does not always remove the update files when it is done installing,
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Virus protection.


    Amber B.

Meets Virus Protection Needs

  • October 30, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that I can log into our admin portal and deploy Symantec to any devices.
What do you dislike?
I dislike strongly how difficult it is to uninstall this product when need be. If you don't have access to our admin portal it can be a nightmare to get this off a device to open up a license for another device. Once we recycle a device we will remove Symantec from the device so we can use the remainder of the license on another device, but it can sometimes take several times to get it to uninstall.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using Symantec only as a virus protection software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recommend this as a solution for virus protection. It isn't overly expensive and is easy to use and deploy.