Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

NAKIVO Backup & Replication - Free Trial & BYOL

NAKIVO | 10.5.1u1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 1
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

202 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    M R.

Reliable & Easy To Use Backup Solution for ESXi

  • February 15, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The web based interface is easy to use and is pretty clean. Configurations can be changed easily as needed.
What do you dislike?
The use of transporters and best practices is not explained well.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The backup solution has low overhead and does not consume large amount of resources like some products I have used. It is fairly fast with recovering data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try their product for free and see if it does what you need. It is a very good solution for backing up VMware virtual systems.


    Tyler M.

Excellent software!

  • February 15, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The software is extremely powerful and does not cost a lot. This software has features that are found on enterprise grade backup systems, yet only costs a fraction of the price.
What do you dislike?
The process to restore a file is a bit convoluted, but it works.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We didn't have a backup solution, and needed a cheap, yet good solution. Nakivo is a very inexpensive software and its capabilities are enterprise grade.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For the price, I have not found any comparable products.


    Martin L.

Used for VM replication - VMware

  • February 14, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I needed a solution to move vm from old to new site. Nakivo is quick to deploy, tiny vm Appliance, work on linux free of charge. Simple to use, all working me in short amount of time.
What do you dislike?
Nothing for curent use. I think that reporting could be better
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Relocalisation of some servers


    Edward B.

Right on Target

  • February 13, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, can mount on Synology NAS. Easy to configure and use. Functionally awesome. I am impressed with the CBT and how fast the incremental backups are. Also very impressed with the support when I had questions. I compared against their nearest competitor and was very satisfied that this was the absolute best choice for our implementation and growth plan.
What do you dislike?
So far nothing. We just asked for quote
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Archival of test environments for multiple firmware test VMs, and Easy replication between VSphere hosts.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't waste your time reviewing a lot of others. Solid functionally and support was outstanding! Thanks Oleksandr! Dzhevaga


    Luiz Fernando B.

Excellent price-performance ratio and totally user-friendly

  • February 09, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Well, there are a lot of thing great in this tool, smart storage, low cost, easy configuration I'm really impressed with this tool comparing other existent on the market.
What do you dislike?
Documentation, I think there's needed to improve that.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
less cost, this tool cost less than a half comparing veeam for example and do the same job.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I've liked a lot, because is easy to make deploy and to make the administration is easy as well.


    Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Great Solution for Hyper-V

  • February 07, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Integration with Synology makes implementation and applying updates very easy.
What do you dislike?
Understanding the transfer mechanism Nakivo uses is not simple.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Key to our disaster recovery system for securing our Hyper-V assets off site.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great choice for Microsoft Hyper-V environments


    Human Resources

Decent Backup utility for virtual backups

  • February 07, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install, fast and reliable backup tool
What do you dislike?
There is nothing that we dislike on this product
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
No additinal hardware required if you use a Synology NAS


    Information Technology and Services

Great backup and replication service

  • February 05, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of use of the application and how quickly you can get up and running
What do you dislike?
This would be even better if you could get a screenshot verification from Hyper-V VMs
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Struggling with cost effective backup and disaster recovery solutions that just didn't fit with clients needs or budgets. Nakivo removes those issues


    Robert H.

High value, entry-level backup software

  • February 03, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's really easy to setup and works great right out of the gate.
What do you dislike?
I've had it installed for about 6 months, and I haven't really found anything about Nakivo that I don't like.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have a small number of VMs on ESXi that I need to support. I don't have a need yet for a VM server farm, but I will soon. I wanted a product that is easy to maintain and less expensive than some of the other solutions on the market. Nakivo fit all of the requirements I had.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely do your due diligence, as there may be other products that fit your needs better. However, I recommend doing the trial and checking it out for yourself.


    Tamara J.

Fast backups & reliable restores

  • February 01, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1) Runs as a Linux VM, so does not consume a Windows license. Nakivo can run on Windows if you are in a Windows-only shop, but if you have a mixed Windows / Linux environment, Linux can understand both NTFS and EXT4, so you can do individual file restores for both platforms.

2) Relatively low resource requirements. My Nakivo VM is backing up around 40 VMware guests, but only needs 2 vCPU and 4GB RAM.

3) Simple and intuitive web interface. I've even run it on my phone.

4) The dedupe functionality does not consume much CPU / RAM.
I can't say that Nakivo has the best dedupe I've ever seen (EMC Avamar holds that crown), but the low CPU/RAM resource consumption makes up for that.

5) The Backup Copy Job makes it easy to have an offsite backup for DR purposes.
I use this feature to provide cross-site offsite backups between two data centers.

6) The VMware replication feature is great for test labs. I've used it to rapidly deploy multiple VM's for testing, so it saves me a bunch of time.

7) Flash VM Boot makes it really quick to recover from hardware failures. I had an old VMware server die on me last year, and the dozen or so VM's on that machine were up and running on an alternate host 5 minutes later.
What do you dislike?
The individual file restore process is a bit clunky.

I'm not a big fan of the whole strategy of downloading individual files from the web interface, and then using a separate procedure to copy the files to the machine that needs the files.

In a perfect world, I would like to be able to kick off individual file restores directly on the client machine, but I realize that is not really feasible in an agentless environment.

I've been working around this by exporting the mounted backup image from the Transporter directly to the client machine, and then using the client machine to copy from the NFS or SMB export, as described at https://helpcenter.nakivo.com/display/KB/Direct+Recovery+of+Files+to+a+VM

NOTE: Apparently, in-guest file restore is on the roadmap for Q2 2018, so this might not be an issue for much longer.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Easy to make both onsite and offsite backups, with simple and reliable restores.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are still using legacy in-guest backup solutions (Netbackup, Commvault, TSM, etc), look at Nakivo for backing up your VMware/Hyper-V environments.