Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Meteor

Elastrix | 1.0

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 14.04.3 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

16 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Chelsea G.

The best JavaScript framework, Fast development for small projects.

  • December 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to learn and customize. Interestingly, on both the front and the back end we need only use one word. Good support from the family. It's easy to learn Meteor Framework, build in a unique language, and let me create more with less effort.
What do you dislike?
With SQL, it doesn't work well. The user community isn't too large, so I have found it difficult to find resources and content that were so necessary to address the problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Meteor is a javascript open source setting. The front end and back end can be used both. In small mobile apps, I have used this platform primarily. Easy to learn and to customize. Meteor.js has excellent documentation and a large development community. With mongoDB, it works well. We can quickly create prototypes and codes that operate over multiple platforms with Meteor.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is user friendly and easy to understand. If your request is to be smaller, meteor is one of the best settings for that.


    shiv c.

Fasters Implementation And Real-Time Feature Is Good But Sql Support Isn't That Good

  • November 11, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I am working on meteor JS for last one year and my experience with meteor java script framework is very good.
we used meteor.js for developing our mobile(android and IOS applications) and web application one of the main advantages we got fromthis framework is we have to use only one language for front-end, back-end and for database,
Which coupled with MangoDB database which stores JSON Objects, and uses java script as a query language meteor.js is very fast due to its real - time feature, which propagate data changes to client without requiring the developer to write any synchronization code.


What do you dislike?
There are very few disadvantages of meteor.js, some of we are faced are following
1) you have to use mongoDB as database query language also there is lack of sql support in meteor.js
2) In meteor there is lack of testing frameworks which turns out to be one of main disadvantages of meteor.js.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We developed web application for our organization in meteor and written back-end scripts for the android and IOS mobile application .
and for all of this we used single java script framework i.e Meteor.js which is very big advantage for us.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
IF you are planning for multi platform application and want to save development time and cost then
i would suggest go for meteor.js
another advantage for the organization is you only have to hire meteors.js resources as front and backed and database queries are written in JavaScript language with meteor framework.


    Eddie K.

Meteor - A Javascript application framework to move FAST

  • July 13, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Meteor makes it easy to build real-time applications, it has a large community with many custom packages. It supports the use of NPM packages as well. There are plenty of tutorials and posts covering a wide variety of topics.
What do you dislike?
Meteor's package system can be an impediment sometimes, but this is usually mitigated through the use of the appropriate NPM equivalent.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It helps build real-time applications from concept to production in very little time and allows developers to focus more on the business logic.


    Guido G.

Real-time app in action

  • April 21, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Meteor is a framework that allows the rapid development of applications, which can be deployed on the dominant platforms (web, ios, android). Its integration with MongoDB facilitates data storage and uses Distributed Data Protocol and a publish-subscribe pattern to automatically send any changes to the client without the need for the developer to write some synchronization code or client refresh. In the client, Meteor depends on jQuery and can be used with any library for graphical interfaces with JavaScript.
What do you dislike?
Being based on Node.js, we depend that it is installed on the server computer for its operation, therefore, applications made with Meteor can not be deployed on traditional web servers. This increases operating and commissioning costs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Having a real-time application, clients do not need to reload the page to have the latest content, this is particularly desirable in companies where up-to-date information is their priority. Imagine that in company X have an activity control system, where the current activities should be reported to the immediate leader / leader, the leader / leader should not reload the page to find out what the staff on his team is, it will simply remain In the application and every time you look it will have the updated information. At least apply this in a freelance project
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You must consider that meteor is a framework that is constantly evolving, so it is necessary to keep up to date in knowledge. If you give it a try, you will not regret it, it's best to create real-time applications.


    Research

Excellent Full Stack Framework

  • October 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
With Meteor you can develop full stack application very easily in minutes. Seriously, if you are interested in developing a Web Application with Javascript-MongoDB, Meteor is your framework to go. The Meteor community is amazing, and the support is very good. Meteor also comes with React support.
What do you dislike?
The flexibility to switch databases.
The tutorials, probably are not clear enough.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Developing Web Applications that are reactive and responsive with a beautiful design in mind.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As always first analyse your problem, Meteor is a framework that allows your to implement WebApps very fast. However sometimes is better to analize the options you have and then proceed. Meteor is just another node-based framework, and you can use any modules that you like, via npm or yarn.


    Erik U.

Most complette Javascript full-stack development framework and toolchain

  • September 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Meteor provides an easy to setup full stack development framework.
Developers can choose what to use for front-end development: from Meteor native Blaze view layer to Angular and React.
Samples and tutorials provide a good base to get started in minutes.
Included support for Cordova enables building apps for both iOS and Android.
What do you dislike?
Developers need to take in account there is heavy ongoing development on several opensource projects included in this framework.
For market-ready products some time must be dedicated to review and assesment of utilized opensource modules.
Even if Meteor can be installed on Windows keep in mind that Windows PCs are still handicapped for modern full-stack developmnet.
Enterprise requirements for RDBMS can represent some blocking issues, but this should get improved with Apollo stack as the data stack for modern apps.
Support for Electron.js to buld desktop apps could be another plus for the Meteor framework.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our challange is building an iOS and Android app quickly and with limited developer resources.
Meteor combined with Npm and its rich ecosystem of Javascript and Node.js libraries allows developers fast prototyping and unprecedented time-to-market for websites, APIs and mobile apps on both iOS and Android.

Challange remains convincing teams of developers and decision-makers that Javascript is one of best directions. All major corporations have allready realized this (just have a look at JS-based code editors/IDEs from GitHub, Microsoft, Facebook, Adobe ... ).

Meteor provides an easy way to start an ongoing invesment in full stack developmnet where knowledge of Javascript can be employed to develop anything from REST APIs to websites and apps.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's worth trying Meteor on some project that requires a vertical prototype (PoC). In most cases it will be the tool that will save you time (and money) but it is likley your prototype will evolve in a product.


    Computer Software

Great framework for quickly building rich real-time applications

  • May 08, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's extremely easy to get started with Meteor, and required configuration is kept to a minimum. Everything you need is either built-in or easily installable with a simply command. You're free to organize your project however you like, as Meteor gathers together all code into a single bundle. There is a large amount of help available in the community.
What do you dislike?
The framework tends to be a bit monolithic, since it combines all code together. It's a relatively closed ecosystem (although the situation is improving with NPM support). Large applications can run slowly and get unwieldy to develop due to long build times.


    Tyler M.

Meteor in light of 1.3 - Going Forward

  • April 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of configuration, especially since the introduction of native NPM modules in 1.3. Definitely a nice change from having to take the time to wrap the packages. Ease of OAuth configuration is also an absolute pleasure. Having Mongo as the DB is great for the number of projects I do which rely heavily on GTFS/geospacial data - combined with meteors reactivity, it can speed up development time on these projects immensely.
What do you dislike?
The direction MDG is taking Meteor - particularly in the scrapping plans for Postgres support in n favour of GraphQL.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Speed of development by far the biggest. Being able to cut development time almost in half is huge for a company our size, and the workload we acquire. An active and supportive community is also very reassuring, and a big bonus as well, as we are also a company primarily consisted of Jr Devs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you jumped on the Meteor bandwagon with the hopes that the rumours of SQL support coming were true, steer clear. I honestly do not agree with MDGs decision to entirely scrap the idea of building Postgres support in favour of GraphQL-like support. A number of changes in 1.3 have actually caused me to reconsider using Meteor in favour of Pyramid for certain projects going forward.


    Adam H.

Fun with meteor

  • April 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fast and easy to get started. I can implement new features and make changes to my existing code base very quickly. Meteor is very opinionated, but because it was built on nodejs, you have the entire catalog of NPM at your fingertips.

Meteor is also incredibly easy to learn.

It's an SPA framework, so it shifts a lot of the computational power away from my server and onto my user's device. This is great because I can spin up a tiny VM and still serve plenty of users.
What do you dislike?
It's too closely tied to mongodb. I could use npm to import other db drivers like postgres, but I would lose a lot of the native support for mongodb that meteor baked in (e.g. minimongo on the client, meteor accounts, etc.).

Some people don't like Blaze (the reactive front-end templating system that comes with Meteor), but I personally love it. Also, meteor does integrate well with angular and react.

It's a bit of a memory hog. An idle server requires 200-300mb of RAM. Furthermore, you need to be careful what you "publish/subscribe". My understanding is that anything you "publish" from your server gets put into RAM, so if you have a lot of users who are subscribing, you'll quickly blow through the memory on your server.

The phonegap integration is great, but it's done some handwaving to achieve the appearance of a native integration. When you run into a problem, you have to learn "the Meteor way of doing things" to fix your problem rather than relying on the plethora of phonegap build solutions you can easily find on stackoverflow.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Speed, speed, speed.

Meteor allows me to spin up new features and apps incredibly quickly. It may not be the best choice for a large team of distributed engineers, but for small teams it's incredibly valuable!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
One additional comment. Meteor is very young (it just released v1.0 roughly a year or so prior to the writing of this review). For that reason, it is constantly changing things. For instance, a few months ago, they announced they were dropping support for Blaze (their reactive templating engine) in favor of react, only to recant a few weeks later after significant community backlash.

Also, they've been promising things like native SQL integration for months but haven't delivered.

It can sometimes be frustrating as a developer for the future of the framework to be developed SOMEWHAT in the dark. I say somewhat because they do have a Trello board and are pretty good at communicating with the community.


    Idraki M.

The best full stack framework for web and mobile development

  • March 31, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The out-of-the-box reactivity make it the best framework to be used for application. Other tools might take so much to get this reactivity as a standard
What do you dislike?
The uncertainty of MDG with the direction of the whole framework
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It enable a software development to be accomplished in a much shorter time frame, with powerful data reactivity and optimistic UI