Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Esri ArcGIS 10.4.1 for Server with SQL Express (Oct 2020)

Esri | 10.4.1 (Patched Oct 2020)

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 w/SQL Express 2014 Windows Server 2012 R2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

427 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Environmental Services

ArcGIS, used by many for a reason

  • May 24, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Esri software always has a good help database, allowing newer users to learn how to perform functions and get answers quickly. For newer users, the help function and search are your friends. You can do basically anything with ArcGIS. There are so many field for which this software is useful. You can upload a lot of data and produce clean, professional maps. Symbology is easy to work with and there are many options.
What do you dislike?
The more information you add into one project the slower the software tends to work, which occasionally causes crashes in the product. Sometimes errors occur because you missed a step in the data processing, the software provides you with information that says an error occurred, but sometimes the error messages are vague.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have used this software to look at bathymetric data. Using polygons to average GIS points to see whats going on temporally, erosion? deposition? etc. Also, I have used ArcGIS to observe historical site data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The older or slower the computer you have the slower the software runs. Get a fast operating computer! Also, save often! You don't want to lose work because it crashed.


    John H.

The current standard for geospatial analysis.

  • May 18, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is undeniably powerful. There's so much going on behind the scenes that even after years of working with it, I find new tools that sometimes come in handy. I also like that the user community is so active, and so it's easy to find documentation online.
What do you dislike?
The interface is clunky and slow. All of this adds up to wasted time, but more importantly, it leads to headaches for the user.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
One recent example: I was able to conveniently separate the data I needed from the very large dataset they were provided in using spatial joins.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take the time to learn the software, but also consider learning some of the open source alternatives. Quite frankly, Esri's offering is expensive and so not for everyone.


    Shaun M.

Great GIS mapping tool

  • May 17, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Extensive plugins, easy python integration, toolsets that are able to map out vast data sets and provide professional looking printed maps and web apps. ArcGIS also provides valuable data analyses tools that allow for valuable assessments across many disciplines including population dynamics, hazard control and geology.,
What do you dislike?
a clunky interface will crash often, so save as often as possible.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Geologic mapping, site management for paleontological digs, grain analyses of petrographic thin sections.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
ESRI press tutorials are a must when learning this product, also be sure to save often.


    Kate S.

Versatile software package

  • May 03, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I've been using ESRI software for 15 years. I like that between version to version there aren't drastic changes that cause the user to relearn where tools are.
What do you dislike?
There are times when cloud data is down and there is no way to know when it will be restored. My normal.mxt file seems to have issues from time to time requiring several restarts.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using ESRI products like Collector and Survey123 to more efficiently collect field data.


    A P.

Making maps, data collection, analysis systematic examination and evaluation of data or information.

  • April 27, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The flexibility of software comparison with AutoCAD Map 3D I worked in past.
What do you dislike?
Need to study everyday and... I like it. Not sure what I dislike so far. Ha-Ha.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Support by gathering data to many departments in the City - Water, Wastewater, Economic, Fire, Police and all other Departments with their requests.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely! I would recommend.


    Civic & Social Organization

Cumbersome

  • April 08, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Data integration and exploration in my field
What do you dislike?
Too technical and not user friendly. I am the only one in my staff to use it
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Strategic organizing.


    Jim B.

ArcGIS Review

  • March 28, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I like best is that you can visualize certain pinpoints on a map.
What do you dislike?
What I dislike is that it takes a lot of training to use this software.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are mapping out places on a map where we have done Environmental Health Investigations.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
ArcGIS is especially useful during presentations when you are trying to put together a time and a place in terms of environmental assessments.


    Verified User in Environmental Services

Good GIS software, but requires some training

  • March 24, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is really the industry standard, but to achieve anything beyond really basic functionality, you really need to get some training or teach yourself using a good reference book. Honestly to even understand the full potential of ArcGIS, you need some guidance and training.
What do you dislike?
The software is very resource heavy - even on a very new computer with a very good processor and decent memory capacity, the software can lag a bit.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
For any real mapping needs, you need ArcGIS. Visually illustrating anything geographically arranged or even higher functions of data analysis only possible when combined with other geographically projected datasets.


    Environmental Services

ArcGIS for G2

  • March 16, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
python integration. great for creating customized processing of data, customized script tools. large user community leads to easy problem solving through online forums. fast customer/it support
What do you dislike?
convoluted data exporting, limited data manipulation options in-program. more current versions have unresolved bugs and data manipulation issues that have not been addressed or resolved.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
data analysis, geographic analysis. standardized corporation-scale platform for GIS work.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
good if your company has the means to pay for this. otherwise, lots of good free gis programs


    Non-Profit Organization Management

Esri's ArcGIS product offer expansive mapping capabilities but is far from intuitive

  • March 14, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Endless extensions and addins you can download and use, best mapping software for technical users, good way to perform spatial analysis for a number of different types of applications and topics.
What do you dislike?
Software can be very laggy at times, not intuitive at all for non-technical users looking to do basic mapping/analysis, expensive product with limited discount opportunities.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Having ArcMap allows my organization to perform additional mapping and visualization techniques that many other organizations don't have the capacity or technical skills to do.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you haven't had an opportunity to take an introduction to GIS course, this product will be very confusing and difficult to use initially. Picking up a GIS Tutorial book is a great idea, to access a year long subscription and step-by-step guidance through each section.