Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Esri ArcGIS 10.4.1 for Server with SQL Express (Oct 2020)

Esri | 10.4.1 (Patched Oct 2020)

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 w/SQL Express 2014 Windows Server 2012 R2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

427 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Higher Education

Quickly being supplanted by Google Earth Engine

  • January 11, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS has had the longest run of GIS software. Due to this, it is the most well-documented GIS software available to industry and the consumer. As GIS software, it is adequate and serves the needs of most users.
What do you dislike?
ArcGIS is expensive and does not interface well with external software. Compared to new (and free!) offerings such as Google Earth Engine, ArcGIS is heavy and difficult to fine tune. For example, ArcGIS' functionality is more like an Adobe Photoshop project than it is an easily-editable and lightweight programming script. As more functionality and processing power is needed for GIS applications, this is quickly becoming a liability.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am a professor in the natural sciences. I use GIS software to analyze remote sensing images and produce maps for professional publications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
In the scientific community, GIS users are beginning to switch over to the Google Earth Engine because it is a superior product to ArcGIS, and doesn't cost an arm and a leg.


    Higher Education

With limited training....

  • January 05, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's simplicity by providing a window pane on the left to turn on/off mapping features.
What do you dislike?
It's image quality could be sharper unless using the ESRI online subscription.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
By mapping data over political boundaries, I find that these maps more readily engage the audience.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great, standard GIS program. Good public health students/workers to learn.


    Government Administration

ARC GIS

  • January 05, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Visually identifies watersheds and calculates areas for custom project maps
What do you dislike?
Big learning curve to get advanced proficiency.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Easily maps stormwater project areas.


    Rudy B.

Antiquated gis

  • December 31, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubiquity among gis users but most gis users have never tried using anything else like Maptitude or Transcad gis.
What do you dislike?
Bad software architecture; no design principles -- changes data-structure and interface frequently. Sloppy algorithms (mistakes due to lack of clear topology implementation)
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I teach and do research and advice companies related to GIS. Arcgis slows down gis implementation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I do not recommend Arcgis for gis work. It will slow you down.


    Mike M.

I have more then 7 years using GIS both in an educational and professional settings.

  • December 16, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how GIS can integrate between survey and CAD work. I like how integrated cities-counties-states are in sharing information that serves for the betterment of all.
What do you dislike?
GIS is a powerful program. It takes time to understand enough to become effective at utilizing its many tools.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Mapping and concept planning. I like the pretty pictures that can be produced to sell ideas-concepts.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recommend training from a college-university to get up-to-date training.


    Jasmine H.

GIS librarian's tool

  • December 15, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, great visuals and great customer service.
What do you dislike?
Bit tricky to help students download, update etc.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Teaching and learning. University.


    Selena O.

Good mapping tool

  • December 12, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is the premier mapping software to use for professional mapping. The package comes with ArcCatalog, which is great for organizing files. There are many ways to use the software, if you can learn how the functions work together. Everything is referenced on a coordinate system, which means everything you do is fundamentally related to the real world. The raster uses and analyses are high-level as well.
What do you dislike?
The program can be error-prone, takes a lot of space, and randomly crash. It can be difficult to change coordinate systems if the data you're starting with has a non-specific coordinate system. There are a lot of uses, which is a double-edges sword: it is easy to learn enough to use in everyday basic applications, but it takes a lot of time and effort to really become an expert in using ArcGIS. While the analysis functions can be excellent, they can also be a let-down as they don't account for statistical anomalies.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This helps us map site plans, sampling locations, geology and hydrogeology, and engineered solutions for our clients. The majority of our use is basic two-dimensional problems. The use of layers and geo-databases is extremely important. We could get more use, but without having an expert the use is somewhat limited.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are a lot of free mapping apps available, and they are good for small-time personal use and professionals who need limited use. However, for anyone who needs to map items regularly, I recommend ArcGIS.


    Utilities

Not bad

  • December 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like all of the options and functions available.
What do you dislike?
The lag...although I'm sure it's partially based on my laptop.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Great for keeping people safe amidst public utilities.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Works for the utility world.


    Environmental Services

ArcGIS

  • November 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- ArcGIS online software because it allows you to share your work with the GIS community.
- Analysis Tools
- Data is easily exportable to other forms of data (KML, Spreadsheet, etc.)
What do you dislike?
- Some of the analysis tools are only available in the professional version but they are basic functions which should be in the basic version of the software
- One analysis tool in particular is the Network Analyst
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
- Distance Analysis
- Statistical Analysis for supply zones
- Helping companies visualize supply zones.

Benefits
- Easy to communicate to people that are not familiar with GIS


    Tommy S.

Daily power user of ArcGIS!

  • October 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love everything about ArcGIS, as I use it coupled with Omega Crimeview to create weekly reports and to extract all sorts of criminal and traffic-related data.
What do you dislike?
The product is a bit on the expensive side, but it is the best product available of its kind in my professional opinion.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
My agency uses the software in the Crime Analysis Unit and in the Community Relations Unit to create maps, to include: crime maps, traffic incident maps, maps of popular locations, parks, and community centers, as well as route planning maps to assist presidential and other political visiting parties.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want a powerful mapping application with some of the best features around (which are mostly all-inclusive after you buy the product), then ArcGIS is the best there is. Our main city planning offices also use ArcGIS for their needs.