Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Esri ArcGIS 10.4.1 for Server with SQL Express (Oct 2020)

Esri | 10.4.1 (Patched Oct 2020)

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 w/SQL Express 2014 Windows Server 2012 R2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

479 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Christopher H.

ARCGIS, so powerful, useful, innovative and sometimes frustrating

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love all the various tools that ARCGIS has available for different forms of spatial analysis and data visualization. Although, it takes some getting used to, eventually things become more familiar overtime. ARCGIS provides good tech support and is always making it easier for the user to do complex calculations with the click of a button.
What do you dislike?
Because it's been around for a long time, ARCGIS has it's bugs and can sometimes freeze or shutdown unexpectedly. When learning to work with ARCGIS, it's recommended to save often. At times, tools may work because of something hidden that needs to be clicked or unclicked which can be frustrating.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm solving real world problems. I've worked on projects including flood risk analysis involving communities to mapping for social justice issues like food and open space availability.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Offers a lot of great tools but there is also free open source software types that may suit you better. Determine what your needs are and proceed from there.


    Arie H.

ESRI's ArcGIS

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Robust functionality, broad user base, great documentation, and decent technical support
What do you dislike?
Cost, since this product is sold as "software as a service" the price can quickly add up.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We utilize ArcGIS Online to provide public maps, the software allows us to quickly customize and publish Web based maps of our organizations data. This has allowed use to provide the public and internal users with up to date and near real time information. This allows for transparency as well as data driven decision making.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider your needs and the cost of ArcGIS. ArcGIS is by far the best and most complete GIS out there, but depending on your organizations needs there are several other low/no cost alternatives.


    Soham S.

My world literally revolves around this indispensible software

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the variety of GIS tasks that you can do with this software. Very comprehensive. It is the industry leader for GIS tasks.
What do you dislike?
It can have a steep learning curve and it is has so many features that it will take a few years to master all of its capabilities and functionalities.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It can solve any problem that involves using spatial information, mapping trends, patterns, spatial data etc.


    Hospital & Health Care

Excellent experience for mid-level user but some tweaks needed.

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is a one of a kind software which allows users with varying backgrounds the ability to work with Maps and Spatial Data. The integration with Python and SQL also gives programmers the ability to create custom script and code. Spatial statistics tools are very advanced and rigorous.
What do you dislike?
It is difficult for a low to medium-level user to get the final product he requires. Documentation on using ArcGIS is difficult to navigate to just to get a simple solution (heat map?), with the ArcGIS website being the most difficult. Spatial Statistics tools are not very well documented which leads to false conclusions for those who do not have a statistics background but use this tool for making business decisions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Providing a visual tool for understanding spatial trends is useful in understanding data on a different scale which is often times forgotten.
Building predictive models using spatial relationships is useful in predicting future trends.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Useful in understanding data on a spatial level as well as building predictive relationships often times not considered in conventional analyses. Have someone on-hand with experience using the software or provide technical training opportunity.


    Architecture & Planning

Pretty Good.

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that you can use shape file to make large scaled maps and masterplans.
What do you dislike?
When GIS refreshes and you have a large file with multiple layers it cant take forever to refresh or export. This should be faster by having caching.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Land Planning
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its a must have but make sure you have or know someone that knows how to use it.


    Mining & Metals

I have used ARCGIS for about 7 years and use it daily at my current job.

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that I can take different spreadsheets to create different layers and it's a good generalized exploration mapping software.
What do you dislike?
I dislike that I cannot do any 3D work in the software.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We do geological exploratory work for petroleum. Being able to create depositional environment maps within the software is a big bonus.


    Jayakrishnan V.

The best GIS software suite on a broad spectrum

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
An end-to-end support for GIS operations starting from Desktop, Server, the APIs, cloud support and integration with various external systems like SAP, BA, SPSS, R, Sharepoint, etc. The Development options are wide and documentation is generally good. Continuously updated.
What do you dislike?
Some GIS operations are slow and deployment idiosyncrasies haunt you some times. Major changes are seen with each release. product is not stable.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Crunching Transportation data in a predominantly spatial environment. End to end solutions available to support these complex workflows


    Civil Engineering

ArcGIS, good for analysis, cartography, and problem solving

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a powerful software allowing for analysis of great overlapping and proximity analyses.
What do you dislike?
It is a buggy software that can often freeze up and has difficulty performing well between software versions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Solving the problems of identifying areas in proximity of other specific features, displaying overlapping layers in geographic space. Allowing for documentation and replication of geoprocessing tasks.


    Christopher W.

The biggest player in the industry and with a number of good reasons

  • October 29, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Almost everything I need in my job can be done in ArcGIS. Sure I use other software for some tasks out of personal preference but ESRI allow you to do nearly everything you can dream of in the geographic information (GI) sector.
For cartographic work the PDF output is first class.
What do you dislike?
Performing cartographic tasks such as labelling to any serious level requires navigating menu after menu. This is so frustrating and in terms of user experience it is the interface and interaction that lets the desktop software down. I am yet to use ArcGIS Online in what I would consider a professional capacity.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Automated cartography, map sheets, marketing maps, national series. ArcGIS is often my first port of call for manipulating geographic data. It has also done a pretty good job in the automation of some cartographic production.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are a number of pehaps cheaper options but ArcGIS gives you a full, professional solution backed up by a dedicated staff of experts in their fields.


    Higher Education

A comprehensive GIS tool

  • July 30, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's highly customizable, and the option to choose between a desktop or online platform adds to its versatility. The online version is especially useful when sharing maps. The learning curve is perhaps a bit steeper than other GIS software, but the UI is intuitive and usable. I've found the documentation to be very helpful both as I learned the software and later as a reference tool.
What do you dislike?
ArcGIS Online is not as customizable as the desktop version. This has yet to cause problems in my case, but I could see it becoming frustrating after further use. It is somewhat difficult to master compared to GeoCommons, which may be a better option for users who don't need too many features.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I've only used ArcGIS for a couple of months, but it's already hard to imagine using another tool for digital mapping projects. The ability to add multiple layers, change transparency, and map a variety has been quite useful for my research. There are easier tools out there for simple digital mapping, but if you need more functionality, ArcGIS is a good way to go.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Data must be clean in order to upload to ArcGIS. This isn't particularly unusual for GIS software, but it's worth noting. I would recommend taking advantage of the 30-day trial before purchasing a subscription.