Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Mendix Bring Your Own License edition - Linux based Runtime

Mendix | v1.1

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.3 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

118 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Rapid Prototype Development

  • November 19, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mendix allows me to turn ideas into functional prototypes with amazing speed. It's a wonderful feeling being able to show business stakeholders functioning prototypes in hours rather than days, in days rather than weeks or months.
Once the application is launched, ,and it comes to maintenance, the model based development makes everyone's "code" readable.
You need more power - Java is just a few clicks away.
Everything can be tweaked, if you take the time and have the knowledge.
What do you dislike?
The ease with witch a prototype can be created sometimes obfuscates the complexity that comes with implementing new business processes in an already deployed application.
That being said, that's more a Mendix marketing and a stakeholder management issue than a technical issue. Mendix does make refactoring fairly easy, and they will provide advice on how to improve performance for an application that's overgrown.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have mostly used Mendix to replace existing business processes implemented in other platforms, implement new ones which were still run on paper, and add new user facing functionality tying together other enterprise back-end services. I could say Mendix is the glue and presentation layer to some of the large enterprise systems I run.
The main benefit has been the speed of development, coming from the ability to reuse functionality, having responsiveness out of the box, and being browser independent.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take the time to architect your application. Consider your future needs. While refactoring is not hard, there might not be time to do it once business realizes how powerful the tool is and how easy they can get new functionality built. Have your developers talk to each-other and review code. Do your best to follow Mendix best practices. Take the time to look at the performance of your application, measure it, and ask if there are ways to improve it.


    Information Technology and Services

Powerful modeling tool

  • November 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I am very pleased with the ease of use. Mendix allows me to quickly and easily make a GUI for my applications running on the IBM Bluemix platform.
What do you dislike?
I dislike that it cannot run on a Mac, forcing me to run a virtual machine.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was looking for an easy method of producing a GUI that could call the IBM Bluemix services and applications I was running.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it with IBM Bluemix for access to a wide range of services and APIs, including Watson Cognitive APIs


    Russ M.

The mendix platform has been a major upgrade for our organization

  • November 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We first started looking into Mendix as a way for us to upgrade our legacy applications within our organization. We vetted out 3 different vendor platforms and decided to go with Mendix. We have found the tool to be very easy to use and has allowed us to increase our time to market greatly. Currently we have software development cycles of 2-3 years. With the mendix platform we were able to get our first product out within a year and we are onto our next 2 products and they should be completed in less than a year. Mendix has always been very good at working with our organization whether it has been for troubleshooting issues or enhancements to the platform. As it currently stands our first product has increased our production by 40% within the first 6 months and we expect the same type of growth with our future releases
What do you dislike?
The biggest issue we had when first using the platform was tied primarily around some of the UI and services components. After discussions with the Mendix team, and some of their own enhancements, we have found the platform continues to improve and provide us the flexibility and speed we look for.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our biggest issue was providing a flexible UI for our end users, a platform to allow the engineers to quickly develop and a way to upgrade our legacy applications. Currently we have seen a decrease of almost 50% in development time and an increase of 40% in productivity from our end users
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be sure to go through the introduction training course. I have dealt with several developers and they are concerned when first seeing the development platform since it is not what they are used to. Once they have some understanding from using the intro course (free online) they are able to better use the platform to its full capability. Also be sure to leverage their developer forum. There are many individuals on their that are experienced and willing to assist


    Kyle K.

Easy to start, very quickly becomes a powerful tool

  • November 15, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Mendix really excels at getting you started, but allows you to really dive in shortly thereafter, even for someone without a development background. It's also nice to not have to worry about setting up a database, and the built-in debugging does a great job of leading you to the root cause, and telling you what must be fixed.

The community has also proven to be a huge boon, and answers to most issues are only a quick forum search or question away.
What do you dislike?
OOTB, Mendix lacks some functionality, such as email integration and authentication, but this is mitigated by leveraging their great and growing appstore, and some custom Java.

The default UI/UX themes are workable, but a bit stale. Delivering a truly amazing experience requires some knowledge of CSS/SASS styling.

As well, you must carefully evaluate the value in updating projects to newer versions of the Modeler, as some functionality may break when doing so.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are mostly replacing legacy business applications with Mendix-built solutions. The speed at which solutions can be delivered has proven to be a huge benefit, as well as the ease and speed of iterating on feedback from the business side of the development relationship.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Getting started is free, so you have nothing to lose in trying it out.


    Derek G.

Extremely productive and positive

  • August 19, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Firstly the culture of the community around the platform. Secondly Mendix's innovative approach to the entire SDLC means that business requirements are developed with the least amount of waist in the process from the capturing of requirements within the functional system all the way to the one click cloud deploys. Lastly the pace of innovation the platform enables.
What do you dislike?
The moddler that is used to develop the solution requires windows, while a web version is on the way it's not clear if that version will support the work flow logic capturing Microflows.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Many problems. From the business business perspective the biggest problem we are solving is the capability of reducing time to market. Functionally we're solving workflow and automation problems as well as data integration and consolidation problems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are in the early stages of your business were you will need to release functionality to the market and then potentially pivot then there is no other technology that will enable that better than Mendix.


    Willem v.

Perfect tool to quickly build apps

  • August 16, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease with which you can learn to build apps and expand built-in functionality with Java.
What do you dislike?
New Modeler releases sometimes break existing functionality which has been around for years.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Mendix to build smart apps and connect with IoT devices. It's the perfect tool to quickly build and try out new functionality.


    Paul K.

Easy to learn, just get started!

  • August 15, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Mendix is really easy to get in to, but it does give you the opportunity to really dive in!
What do you dislike?
Some parts of the modeler (the development interface) is a bit outdated because of the rapid growth.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Mendix as a platform, to implement business applications solving our customers problems
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Starting with Mendix is free, so why not give it a shot!


    Information Technology and Services

Excellent tool for producing proof of concepts and

  • January 18, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love how straightforward it is to develop using Mendix. All the hassle of setting up database from scratch is removed and deployments are a breeze, leaving me free to play around with UI and UX which is where the user sees and feels the most value. Debugging is also very easy and clear, while microflows allow me to put together sophisticated logic actions in a very short space of time. It's amazing to be able to gather a set of requirements on Monday and show the team a proof of concept by Friday.
What do you dislike?
Mendix can feel a little constrained at times. There would be certain features a user or user representative would request and I know that to implement such a feature using Mendix would be ten times as difficult as "traditional" development, if it was even possible. There is also a little work to "undo" some of the out of the box features that Mendix provides a project with, if required, for example styling changes. But these changes are only necessary if you want a lot more control over how the app looks and works without using default settings. Some of the widgets could be very restrictive and you have to have a good idea of the granularity of data in order to manipulate the screens to their best potential.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used Mendix to produce solutions for a telehealth team. The benefits of using this tool included being able to provide demonstrations of the product very soon after specification, as well as respond quickly to feedback and make appropriate alterations.