Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Mendix Bring Your Own License edition - Linux based Runtime

Mendix | v1.1

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.3 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

118 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Staffing and Recruiting

First steps in a fast paced development world

  • March 13, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I like best is the ease of development combined with the speed of development. When an issue turns up, a first solution can usually be tested within the hour.
What do you dislike?
The links with other systems can be improved in my opinion. Furthermore, the creation of page layouts is more difficult than it has to be. I hope that with the further development of the web modeler, this will also be picked up.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a consultancy firm, we tackle the problems of our customers using mendix. These problems are mostly retail related.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The online learning community is very well designed. After following the rapid developer path, everyone can develop their own starting app. I would thus recommend starting here.


    Razvan C.

Coding made easier

  • March 13, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I like best is the way coding was made easier with the help of the GUI. The range of actions available make developing a business logic much quicker and very efficiently through microflows.
What do you dislike?
What I dislike is not the Modeler itself but the documentation available for it. Some of the functions that can be used in the Modeler are very poorly explained without any sufficient examples. I would definitely need some more information as to better understand and use the available functions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The business problems resolved by Mendix and the app I am offering support for are in the insurance industry. I have managed to create a whole variety of features that simplify users' life throughout a quote/policy cycle.


    Government Administration

Winning the UWV/ SVB hackathon 2017 with Mendix

  • March 12, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The platform has given us the power to win the UWV/ SVB of oktober 2017 with Mendix. Within 24 hours we wore able to build the 1st solution. With its great standard features, and powerful extension capabilities in the form of building custom widgets we have made a single page app that was connected to Microsoft Face recognition, Google Speech to text and many more external services.
What do you dislike?
You need to be a fullstack programmer to truly capture and also understands its power. Its not for the business user, but for the professional who wants to develop at lightning speed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mendix allowed us to make an MVP (a Proof of Concept) in less then 24 hours. That is architectural designed with security first in mind. Capable to be used in a high demanding and high available IT environment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Start your project with a Mendix professional right from the start. Do not think that a non technical person can start a complex application. Train your internal staff up to the level of advanced Mendix expert before starting a big endeavor.


    Sytze d.

Rapid development, rapid deployment, easy maintenance and flexibility out of the box!

  • March 07, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's relatively easy to build a working application and roll out to production, without any form of coding. Building with modularity in mind makes components highly reusable, including lots of building blocks available through an app store.
What do you dislike?
Not all app store apps are maintained well enough to keep working. Especially for the components built by Mendix itself, this is sometimes disappointing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were able to build applications for lots of different business processess that depend on data usage and interaction. Especially with data intensive applications, Mendix becomes really useful to replace numerous other applications, often built in Excel or Access. Eliminating user errors and errors in maintainability, while building and deploying way faster than traditional development can achieve.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Mendix is most interesting when you can say yes to these 2 questions: 1. Do you have multiple applications on top of core systems? 2. Do your applications use and interact with data?


    Computer Software

My Mendix review

  • March 06, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mendix is a tool that does not require deep knowledgde of programming at first, a good pair of brains will do. However when advancing there is more than meets the eye ranging from custom widgets, custom styling and custom code (Java). It is this mix I like most in Mendix.
What do you dislike?
I think their mobile support is still limited. Currently however, Mendix is working hard to improve in this area of expertise.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have solved business problems as diverse as document processing and building a cloud portal to give insight in personal future savings. I believe that modeling processes in Mendix enables our customers to gain insight. Additionally Mendix is the tool that provides our customer with a platform that allows for a rapid inclusion of new ideas into existing Mendix applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a shot and be amazed how quick you can build something.


    Bartosz H.

Efficient platform for rapid creation of applications

  • March 05, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use; Capability and flexibility; Possibility of embedding custom code; Many components available out-of-the-box; Available trainings which will set you up working in a few days;
What do you dislike?
No Windows mobile native apps; Requires customizations when dealing with more complex scenarios/requirements;
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Possibility of providing a quick solution to requirements handed over by customers. Ability to provide a working solution (with a lot of working features) within days and not weeks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ideal application which will enable you to provide a customer with an initial application for further enhancements. Perfect platform for working with PoCs after which you decide whether to go with the platform or build a custom software. Time invested in creation of the PoC applications is short (lets you create a working application with limited functionality within days and not weeks).


    Financial Services

Rapid development platform

  • March 02, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Low code development, the collaboration tools, the all-in-one (agile) development environment.
What do you dislike?
The current focus of Mendix seems to be on new features instead of software stability. The current release cycle is intoducing new versions on a regular basis, but these also include bugs quite regularly. Also on (very) large projects, the desktop modeler seems
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Enabling an organisation to change/develop software rapidly.


    Fabian R.

This really is rapid development

  • March 02, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
From first setting up your project until having a running web application in the mendix cloud is a matter of hours.
What do you dislike?
The 'no-coding' marketing bubble by Mendix suggesting you don't need developers anymore.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We deliver integrated web-applications as extenesion to our customers existing CRM or ERP systems. With Mendix we can react much faster to changing requirements.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take your time to understand how Mendix works. This is a different way of working but it's worth it.


    Lukas T.

Idea -> Mockup -> App

  • March 02, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Mendix is highly flexible and can be used to quickly get prototypes running. The available training videos and step by step tutorials help you to get started. Simple apps can be put together in a relatively short amount of time. When enough background information is provided, the active community is able to either solve problems or at least point towards the right direction. Due to the active community and direct feedback of ideas for future modeler releases, Mendix is able to react to popular developer needs rather quickly.
What do you dislike?
Unfortunately, the release cycle also comes with the drawback of many versions.
Although the apps provided in the AppStore might be very useful, it can be tedious to get them running without prior knowledge. Especially for starters, a bit more documentation could speed up the setup.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mendix can solve a great variety of business problems. Customization is key - Mendix provides you with the tools you need. Mendix is supported and steadily developed and improved.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Have a look at the tutorials on gettingstarted.mendixcloud.com


    Amit K.

Absolutely fantastic app development experience.

  • March 02, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Abstraction Level: If you have coded in Java, an application or so then you'll realise everything mendix is doing in background but in an easier way.
The speed of development in Mendix is incredible. Apps compatibility for many devices. Overall AWESOME experience.
What do you dislike?
Nothing, really. I don't dislike it at all, but there are improvements that can be done.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Mendix as a platform, to implement business applications solving our customer's problems.