Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server (10 Connected Devices)

OpenVPN Inc | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews

External reviews

114 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Konstantyn W.

Open VPN - Create your own VPN now

  • January 17, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN provides us with a set of mechanisms that allows us to build a secure VPN network - it authorizes, authenticates, encrypts and ensures the integrity of the transmitted data. In addition, it protects the server (hub) against DoS attacks and the virtual network against the injection of foreign data.

+ good support in Linux, Windows and Mac, as well as the ability to advertise single routes.
+ OpenVPN offers two types of tunnels, which we use depending on specific needs: tun/tap
What do you dislike?
- Problem with using on some mobile devices
- Limited free license for 2 devices (license for at least 10 births can be purchased)
- The interface could be more friendly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Thanks to OpenVPN I can safely use the Internet on all devices without worrying about data leakage.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to create your own secure vpn, you should consider trying openvpn because it has a free license allowing you to connect to 2 devices at the same time.


    Outsourcing/Offshoring

Works quite well

  • January 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It connects us to our work systems safely so our clients' information doesn't get comprised.
What do you dislike?
Nothing I can think of, I've never had a single issue with it. It's always worked fine for me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our agents work from home, so this allows us to connect safely with our work systems and work in a secure environment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's easy, secure and works well.


    Management Consulting

Decent VPN solution on a budget

  • January 08, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to setup and control. Decent administrative options. Once setup it is relatively steady and doesnt require much maintenance
What do you dislike?
Support is lacking as it is open source.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Third party remote access to internal network resources


    Judith C.

The free VPN software for people with knowledge

  • October 10, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN it's a free software that works really good. It's efficient, secure, and the clients can be of any operative system, all are compatible. You can tune totally your configuration and there are lots of possibilities. It's good for people that wants to create a customized VPN tunnel.
What do you dislike?
It's really hard to start with OpenVPN, there are much options and isn't easy to get it up. The desktop application of mac don't work properly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use to connect to the work computers in a safe way. With OpenVPN we can create a private tunnel from our laptops to the firewall server of our company and keep connected to work computers in a safe way.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's the best alternative to use in a company with linux servers. It's compatible with all operative systems.
Once it's installed in the clients, it runs in background without doing any further work.


    Carmer N.

The best for protect you

  • September 30, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
There are a few things that I like about open vpn, it is a free programming and you can make alterations to the code, the wide assortment of servers that it offers so clients can attempt a few and consequently remain with which we feel more good exploring the Internet, it doesn't measure much, you can get it as an augmentation of chrome, download in the playstore for gadgets with android. In phones it is so easy to utilize that just a single picks the server and that is it. The help on your site is exceptionally valuable.
What do you dislike?
It truly is great, for code changes on the off chance that it is prescribed to have a propelled learning of programming on the grounds that every client has diverse inclinations and at times they have to alter the product details to fulfill their necessities.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use to associate with the work PCs safy. With OpenVPN we can make a private passage from our workstations to the firewall server of our organization.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's not super easy to use but rather it works exceptionally well and is totally free. Difficult to beat in the VPN portion, given expense/security/dependability.


    Miguel J.

Best VPN software for little companies

  • September 12, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN it's a little but powerful program to create VPN tunnels from your computer to another, or from a computer to a full network. It's totally safe, and if you scale the server, can deal with a big number of connections.
What do you dislike?
At difference with other commercial softwares, OpenVPN needs that you work in the configuration during a few hours, isn't install and ready, and there are some options that are a bit difficult to set.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use to connect from our homes to the network of the work, using as a server a firewall that redirects the traffic.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OpenVPN it's the best opensource alternative, it's free and works good for small-medium companies.


    Samuel Josue T.

The most efficient VPN.

  • July 30, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
There are several things that I like about open vpn, it is a free software and you can make modifications to the code, the wide variety of servers that it offers so that users can try several and thus stay with which we feel more comfortable navigating the Internet, it does not weigh much, you can get it as an extension of chrome, download in the playstore for devices with android. In cell phones it is so simple to use that only one chooses the server and that's it. The support on your website is very useful.
What do you dislike?
It really is very good, for code modifications if it is recommended to have an advanced knowledge of programming because each user has different preferences and sometimes they need to adjust the software specifications in order to satisfy their needs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Open VPN has solved problems in the company, as are the restrictions that you have to access internet pages that have been blocked for the IP of the country where we are located.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As recommendations, if they are companies that are looking for that they are not limiting access to websites, they want to browse freely on the web. download open VPN, has a variety of servers, Japan, Great Britain, Korea, USA, Italy, France, China, Spain, etc. It is very fast and easy to use, you can use it comfortably from your cell phone or a PC. Work in any OS.


    Frantz L.

OpenVPN - So easy

  • July 30, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to deploy, not much resources in play
What do you dislike?
Nothing, th eproduct does what it is supposed to do
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
User connectivity
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great product, nothing to complain about


    Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

An easy secure way to connect to remote servers

  • July 30, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy top set up and use. Creates secure tunnels (yes that's plural) as I can open multiple tunnels to servers.
What do you dislike?
Nothing really. There was a bit of a learning curve to create the various config files but that was all
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Accessing servers for my largest clients in order to perform development and update servers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's free and easy to use.


    Accounting

You have access to many servers

  • July 26, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
When you travel from on continet to anotger for work, using just one server will reduce your internet speed, specially when in some places the local internet speed is less than 1 meg per sec, therefore using a server in us whike you are in Africa is not fissible.
What do you dislike?
Sometime I receive security error when I am using this VPN, and it usually gets fixed by changing the server
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In many places internet access to many websites, even telegram and skype are filtered