Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server (10 Connected Devices)

OpenVPN Inc | 2.7.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews

External reviews

111 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ryan C.

Solid basic low cost solution

  • February 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN has provided us with a solid low cost VPN option giving our user the "in office" experience they are looking for when they are working remotely. We are a small company with a small IT staff. Rolling out OpenVPN to our users was simple and painless.
What do you dislike?
I would like if it the GUI was able to do everything you can do in the command line interface. For those of us weak in Linux working with the command line can be a challenge.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The OpenVPN virtual appliance allows us to give users an "in office" experience when they are working remotely.


    Dan R.

Simple and powerful VPN without the hassle

  • February 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of deployment, ease of maintenance, simple to on-board new users. Administration of the system is straightforward. Incredibly responsive support.
What do you dislike?
In a cloud environment where you bring your own license, a small change to the underlying instance (stopping and starting the host machine) requires a new activation key. Thankfully, their support is incredibly responsive, however, would be lovely not to require this step.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Simple and secure remote access. Bastion host for cloud environments.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A two user license is available for free. I would encourage anyone considering this product for use in production to give it a look.


    Research

Affordable, easy to setup VPN solution for SMB

  • February 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of setup and ease of install are the best features. Also it's nice to be able to tie security permissions to specific active directory groups. very easy to install updates and manage on a server. one of our least troubleshot applications across the organization. also being provided simple rpms and packages further allows for ease of use.
What do you dislike?
confusing website layout and lack of insight into the vpn connection experience. would be good to have a verbose setting on the client to see any potential connection issues. also phone or chat support to get direct response would be awesome to get immediate response.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
affordable vpn that is easy to setup and manage. even our help desk and student assistants that joined can easily manage users, troubleshoot issues. this saves us in labor time and labor costs so our information systems team can focus on other initiatibves that impact the company's bottom line rather than troubleshooting vpn issues or worrying about costs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
They offer non-profit and educational discount if you ask. Other open-source VPN's out there don't have the feature set or support available compared to OpenVPN. If you look at the competitors like WireGuard or NordVPN, that lack in one or both of the places that OpenVPN excels.


    Internet

The Absolute Best Road-Warrior VPN Solution

  • February 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The entire solution is managed via a web-gui and the pre-packaged installer files.
What do you dislike?
No complaints here, been using for years
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use if for all of our technicians that are needing access to company files when on the road.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use the trial, no reason not to.


    Adam E.

Easy to setup and works as expected

  • February 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Having the ability to limit users on what subnets then can connect to.
What do you dislike?
Older versions would drop connections always stating that I was logged on from another location. Also, the VPN would start during boot up when I would have it set to not start at boot.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Private external access to our internal networks.


    Information Technology and Services

A great VPN solution for multiple network and client types!

  • February 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We like that OpenVPN is... well... open. It works with Mac, Windows, iOS, Android, you name it. We're not vendor locked.
What do you dislike?
The support offering is a little light, but given the upside and cost, that's completely understandable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have a lot of mobile users around the US, getting them connected using an SSL, TCP, UDP adaptive VPN solution is critical given the types or networks our team is accessing from.


    Religious Institutions

I rely on OpenVPN

  • February 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
security and ease of deployment are positive aspects of produce
What do you dislike?
price is too high; certificates difficult.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
security while traveling


    Computer Software

Great VPN, easy set up, and administration!

  • February 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to set up and administer and very simple licensing!
What do you dislike?
There can be some confusion between the open source version and the paid subscription.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are allowing our clients access to a hosted application and we've seen increased security compliance.


    Joey L.

It is not like other VPN services but something more complex

  • February 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is a very interesting software, it is not like other VPN services but something more complex, it allows me to connect remotely to my company's network securely through tunnels with SSL encryption, it also allows me to configure proxies and network access restrictions to remote workers.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing that bothers me about this software, it's very functional and secure, and it's open source and free.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It allows me to work from home with access to my company's servers and information, in our company there are many employees who work remotely and with this software we can create tunnels with limited access to the necessary data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It can be modified without problems because it adapts to the needs of the programmer.


    Andrew B.

Allows you to create encrypted tunnels to remotely access a network or server.

  • February 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is a powerful software that allows you to create encrypted tunnels to remotely access a network or server, is very useful because it allows me to access files and documents remotely and with total security that are not at risk.
What do you dislike?
In the beginning it is a little complicated to learn to use it but as you work with it you start to understand it better.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In my work it helps me to access from my home to documents that are only in the network of my company, I have access to important data with total security.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is an excellent software for configuring secure private connections, highly recommended.