Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server (10 Connected Devices)

OpenVPN Inc | 2.7.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews

External reviews

113 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Great VPN, easy set up, and administration!

  • February 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to set up and administer and very simple licensing!
What do you dislike?
There can be some confusion between the open source version and the paid subscription.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are allowing our clients access to a hosted application and we've seen increased security compliance.


    Joey L.

It is not like other VPN services but something more complex

  • February 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is a very interesting software, it is not like other VPN services but something more complex, it allows me to connect remotely to my company's network securely through tunnels with SSL encryption, it also allows me to configure proxies and network access restrictions to remote workers.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing that bothers me about this software, it's very functional and secure, and it's open source and free.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It allows me to work from home with access to my company's servers and information, in our company there are many employees who work remotely and with this software we can create tunnels with limited access to the necessary data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It can be modified without problems because it adapts to the needs of the programmer.


    Andrew B.

Allows you to create encrypted tunnels to remotely access a network or server.

  • February 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is a powerful software that allows you to create encrypted tunnels to remotely access a network or server, is very useful because it allows me to access files and documents remotely and with total security that are not at risk.
What do you dislike?
In the beginning it is a little complicated to learn to use it but as you work with it you start to understand it better.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In my work it helps me to access from my home to documents that are only in the network of my company, I have access to important data with total security.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is an excellent software for configuring secure private connections, highly recommended.


    Daniel M.

More security and digital privacy

  • February 15, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Today companies are looking for more security and digital privacy, OpenVPN is an open source encryption protocol that provides both, is powerful and flexible and is compatible with Linux, Windows and Apple, I use it to connect remotely to my company's network and configure users and accesses.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it becomes a bit slow and is a bit technical and complex for novice users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OpenVPN helps me control the connections and data access in my organization, we have modified it to fit our needs and it has improved the monitoring of remote workers remarkably.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a free service but complicated to use without prior knowledge, in a company is very useful because it offers options to configure and modify the code, but for domestic use I recommend paying for a simpler vpn service.


    Computer Software

OpenVPN Review

  • February 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
nice lightweight application that provides us with vpn access for internal company documents and websites.
What do you dislike?
It can be a little difficult to set up by yourself if you don't have proper instructions
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
giving access to confidential information and services.


    Aeryn B.

SSL encryption protocol

  • February 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is more secure than other VPN services because it has an SSL encryption protocol, is open source, allows us to connect remotely from any device to the company network, despite being free has no ads and is ompatible with most proxies.
What do you dislike?
It's a complicated thing to use and it takes a while to explain well how to use it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It allows us to work remotely more securely, being able to access my company's servers from home is very helpful and saves me a lot of time, also serves me to access internal company websites from any device.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The best thing about OpenVPN is that it is open source and can be modified to fix any error.


    Henry P.

Best software to create VPN tunnels.

  • February 01, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is the best software to create VPN tunnels, is easy to modify because it is open source and is very secure and reliable, I also like to be able to access my network from my mobile or any other device.
What do you dislike?
It does not accept some proxies and is quite difficult for novices to understand.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OpenVPN helps protect us from hacker intrusion and gives us access to our network remotely and work from home.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OpenVPN is highly recommended to work remotely, very secure and open source so it can be modified without problems, it is also free and relatively easy to use.


    Frederik G.

Protects data transfers and communications.

  • January 31, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is an open source software and not a VPN provider, with this software you can create encrypted virtual private network tunnels, passes completely firewalls, is very easy to use, the encryption is excellent (TSL/SSL) and protects data transfers and communications.
What do you dislike?
OpenVPN does not offer a user support service which makes it difficult to solve problems even though it has a large global support community and that helps a lot.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Having a powerful 256-bit encryption helps me to keep my connections anonymous and secure, and provides webrtc protection.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a software with high levels of security and encryption, is free and easy to use.


    Juan I.

Very segure an easy to use.

  • January 27, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open VPN is a great VPN (Virtual Private Network) server that runs on Windows and Linux, is very popular for its security, for being an open source and because it is really very easy to use.
What do you dislike?
Not all proxies in the world are compatible although most and sometimes latencies can be very high.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have very sensitive data on our computers and thanks to OpenVPN and its encryption we can navigate and communicate securely through the web.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Open VPN is a free software even more secure than other expensive services, is very easy to use and works with almost any proxy.


    Konstantyn W.

Open VPN - Create your own VPN now

  • January 17, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN provides us with a set of mechanisms that allows us to build a secure VPN network - it authorizes, authenticates, encrypts and ensures the integrity of the transmitted data. In addition, it protects the server (hub) against DoS attacks and the virtual network against the injection of foreign data.

+ good support in Linux, Windows and Mac, as well as the ability to advertise single routes.
+ OpenVPN offers two types of tunnels, which we use depending on specific needs: tun/tap
What do you dislike?
- Problem with using on some mobile devices
- Limited free license for 2 devices (license for at least 10 births can be purchased)
- The interface could be more friendly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Thanks to OpenVPN I can safely use the Internet on all devices without worrying about data leakage.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to create your own secure vpn, you should consider trying openvpn because it has a free license allowing you to connect to 2 devices at the same time.