Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server (100 Connected Devices)

OpenVPN Inc | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu U - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

120 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jeremy F.

Low effort and highly reliable client to VPC VPN

  • May 16, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The availability of client software for all operating systems and mobile devices means my customers can connect regardless of their setup.
What do you dislike?
I’ve not had any bad experience with OpenVPN.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use OpenVPN to support a legacy 3 tier application running on AWS. My customers run the windows client locally and connect to the databases and other services over the VPN.


    Retail

A simple and secure VPN product

  • May 16, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN has been simple to deploy and use in our environment. We use it as a second option for remote connection in case our other system is unavailable for any reason.
What do you dislike?
There is not much to dislike, perhaps reporting could be a bit more robust, but for our small deployment, it isn't an issue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
* Secondary connection in case other technologies fail
* Cross-Platform support of remote connectivity - Apple does not work with Microsoft Direct Access
* Allowing Macintosh users to work remotely
* Allowing remote IT Management


    Josh W.

Excellent, flexible solution for our Azure environment

  • May 16, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The documentation & excellent technical support.
What do you dislike?
Occasionally I have to disconnect the VPN client and reconnect it. This happens maybe 1 time per day or every other day. It could just be my system though.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have secured our Azure environment by requiring users & admins to connect by VPN to manage our servers and other business critical resources.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would strongly recommend reviewing the relevant documentation before setting up the Open VPN Access Server.


    Alexandre V.

OpenVPN - Review

  • May 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is easy to configure a solution for tunneling our traffic to the OpenVPN server. The main advantage of OpenVPN is the fact that it is a very safe and free OpenVPN solution, compatible with most platforms available on the market, so we can also cover the protection of mobile devices that we use. OpenVPN is a very easy solution in the configuration allows you to install an interface that will help, managing the server created for us, so surely the installation of the server will cope with the people interested in IT.
What do you dislike?
- The free license has a limited number of devices that can connect to the server.
- Setting up a server with a terminal can be difficult for beginners.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Thanks to using OpenVPN I can safely connect to the company database without worrying about data leakage.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to create a VPN server that will enable you to browse the Internet safely, you should consider using the OpenVPN protocol for this purpose, especially since it has gained the trust of many VPN service providers.


    Glenn R.

One of the best VPN clients on the market

  • May 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is a great VPN tool. A lot of operating systems natively support VPN, however try to set one up and you will notice the limitations. OpenVPN is incredibly easy to setup and use. We use this tool to allow users to access the same network. Connecting is a breeze and there are no bugs. The software is also very secure. Importing certificates is also easy and with literally ever other VPN tool out there this is not the case at all.
What do you dislike?
When you first install it through a web browser, you will be asked to login. I have found that for some reason this screen just hangs and does nothing. Not sure what that is about but it does not effect the functioning of the software. T
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OpenVPN is used to allow users to access our internal network without being directly connected.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Stable and easy to use VPN client


    Ray N.

OpenSource solution - minimal costs

  • April 19, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open-source - low minimal cost to deploying system. Support standard industry security features and works with wide range of clients.
What do you dislike?
User management and generating user certificates requires more time. A little more complex for my non- Linux - Helpdesk Admins to manage system and troubleshoot.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use this to secure user VPN connections to HQ and other locations enabling users to work remotely.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great for company's with Linux admins or company's with limited budget.


    Insurance

IT Operations Manager

  • March 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use and setup. Upgrade information on product from supplier when avvailible. Security recommendations on website.
What do you dislike?
I'd like user to end up at different VLAN depending on client checks (AD member computer/cert or external clients.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
MFA demands on VPN solution.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly reccomend it for a smaller company.


    Information Technology and Services

Flexible and robust

  • March 10, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best feature is the ability to run multiple ports and protocols with a single appliance.
What do you dislike?
Not integrated with SD WAN capabilities.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With OpenVPN we build fast and functional VPN gateways for are customers enabling compliance and data protection.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
With enterprise support this product is the best value for VPN.


    John Kristian A.

All in all a really good VPN service.

  • March 09, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple management. VYOS implementation is GREAT. Running it as VM works perfectly.
Been using it for both private pvn, enterprise vpn and connecting to vpn trough other countries for several years and I love how easy it is. Mobile support is also really great.
There are also a huge benefit that it's open source and community good support is also nice to have.
What do you dislike?
Windows client is sketchy. Doesn't reconnect as it should. Drops out from time to time. It those things can be fixed, the product would be absolutely perfect. But it's not a big issue.
Reconnecting after sleep mode would be nice. Reconnecting after drop out would be REALLY nice.
There are still some effort that can be made on the different clients.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Per now using it instead of MS Direct access. Easy for outside clients to connect if you want that, since you have a downloadable client.
It allows me to fix problems for my users and controll my infrastructure when I'm out traveling, and that is the thing I appreciate most.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are not much else I would reccomend. I've tried several others, like checkpoint mobile and Cisco and it's not better than openvpn. OpenVPN is faster, easier and has more features.


    Alex H.

A solid, secure VPN solution

  • March 08, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- The OpenVPN Access Server AMI is a great out of the box VPN solution for your AWS VPC.
- We were able to easily connect to our Active Directory in AWS to the OpenVPN Access Server and enable 2-factor requirements via Google Authenticator.
- Supports PAM, RADIUS, and LDAP.
- This solution replaced our clients deprecated PPTP solution. OpenVPN is consistently rated among the most secure VPN solutions which is why we went with it.
What do you dislike?
License management on the openvpn.net could be improved in one regard: allowing users to deactivate and move a license between servers. As you spin up an instance you may need to reconfigure our move your license to a newer server and that requires involving OpenVPN Support to reissue your license. This can take a few hours before they respond but typically they are pretty fast so not a huge negative for us.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Simple way to connect to our AWS VPC with 2-factor authentication tied to our Active Directory.