Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

TYPO3 CMS 8.x

schams.net | 8.7.32b LTS

Linux/Unix, Debian 9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

30 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Richard H.

Really the best CMS to create enterprise websites

  • July 01, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
TYPO3 is a CMS that gives you the ability to create enterprise websites as well as websites for your local soccer-club. As things like stability, performance and security are topics already covered by the core and the community, everyone who uses TYPO3 will benefit from that. Not only the big enterprises. With a very active and helpful community, I really like this product and if I want to build a website that needs content management it is for sure my number 1 solution!
What do you dislike?
The downside of TYPO3 is that compared to CMSes like WordPress, it is used way less as it as those other CMSes. TYPO3 has a history of being complicated. Although that isn't the case anymore for several years, it still doesn't have the same adoption rate. This results into having less agencies working with TYPO3. So it might be that you only can choose from a couple of agencies in your country. But luckily TYPO3 is global and I'm sure if more people start asking for TYPO3, more agencies will start adopting it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
TYPO3 is the main CMS we use to create rich content platforms. Multiple sites, multiple languages and a lot of editors in just 1 installation is just business as normal. But also for small marketing campaign websites we use TYPO3. With TYPO3 it is easy to reuse features and makes it easy to be up and running quite fast.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ask your agencies about the possibility of TYPO3 or checkout typo3.com for more information about the product.


    Computer & Network Security

A CMS with great possibilities - if you are up for a steep learning curve

  • June 06, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The fact that TYPO3 and many extensions are OpenSource. Great possibilities expandability, security.
What do you dislike?
Hard to configure and to expand, no official template scheme.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Role and user rights management.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Offer easier and more possibilities to edit the backend. Some add-ons should come out of the box and could be disabled if not needed. That would faster than extending the backend each time yourself.


    Christian R.

Yes, it's complex. That's a good thing!

  • May 25, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
TYPO3 is a content management framework that can be anything you want it to be.

I've been using it for tiny non-profit organizations and for SMEs with one editor who has no IT knowledge whatsoever. I've also been using it for a multinational site with editors from different countries and languages ranging from Arabic to Chinese. I've been using it as a web frontend for database applications. TYPO3 is really, really, REALLY versatile.
What do you dislike?
You can configure TYPO3 in a way that your editors will find it much(!) simpler to use than other CMSs (I'm looking at you, Wordpress!). Due to TYPO3's immense configurability, however, such a simplification can be cumbersome.

It would be nice to start with a predefined "simplified setting" directly built into the TYPO3 core (as opposed to a site package). This would make basic setups simpler. And you could work your way up to more complex scenarios from there, rather than the other way around.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- one-page "business card" for the web, that's client-editable (I'll admit that's a bit of a sledgehammer to crack a nut, but still ...)
- multi-language and multi-domain websites
- website with an associated webshop
- websites with blogs
- web frontend for own database applications
- workflow and approval processes (editors, editors-in-chief, translators)
- access control where different elements of the site are visible for the general public, for registered users or only for (paying) clients only
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have have a project that's not "of-the-shelf", then TYPO3 is for you! If you only need one single-language, single-domain and a-couple-of-pages website, then don't bother with it.


    Non-Profit Organization Management

Steepest Learning Curve

  • May 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Best for a large enterprise site with many pages. For a large organization with a dedicated IT/Development team it is a good choice. It can support multiple sites very easily.
What do you dislike?
The learning curve is very steep. Of the various CMS I have tried Typo3 was the most difficult to learn and teach. With a smaller, mostly European community there are probably other applications that would suit small to mid-size organizations better.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I actually no longer use it having switched to another CMS some years ago because of the development issues.


    Robert D.

One of the top FOSS CMS projects of all time

  • May 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
With TYPO3 you get a mature product that has served business-critical cases for over a decade. You also get a living, breathing, modern system that has remained vital for a long time. You also get a dedicated community and ecosystem that is not tied to a single vendor. It's really a thing of beauty.
What do you dislike?
A lot of the activity around TYPO3 is centered in Germany, which means that non-germans will have to work harder to find local resources, like user meetups.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
TYPO3 is really great for professional, maintainable, well performing websites that have clear navigation structures, and adhere to your company's branding and content workflows.


    Mrudang S.

Perfect CMS for all the web development need.

  • May 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Before i start working in Typo3 i have an experience of other CMS also. But after making my hands dirty in Typo3 i come to know that it is really great CMS to complete all your needs.

It’s multi domain functionality is awesome.
What do you dislike?
There is no such down side that i come across while using Typo3.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To create a multi domain website is just classic feature of Typo3.

Also managing a number of pages with fluid content is awesome
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just install it and see the magic what Typo3 can do.


    Higher Education

Administrating website in Typo 3

  • April 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the option that, external user can type information, notification for pending content appears till admin validates the data.
What do you dislike?
Site map tree is a bit scary when working with big websites.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Managing third party content on our website.


    Higher Education

Flexibility with a price tag

  • April 29, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
You can do a lot without 3rd party plugins
What do you dislike?
Steep learning curve and painful updates
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Large and complex sites are no problem with TYPO3


    Marketing and Advertising

TYPO3 Avoid it if you can!

  • March 24, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Typoscript. A configuration language is a great idea in principle - just not very easy to use. At all.
What do you dislike?
Pretty much everything. The backend layout is ugly and cluttered. Building the site is difficult and inflexible and the documentation is pretty much non existent.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Not solving any problems with it. I don't find it intuitive enough to reach for at any juncture. The single advantage it can have is a layer of typoscript as a configuration layer with a great deal of control over elements invoved in the site but it's not straightforward or very logical, so it's not my first choice to solve problems with this technnology.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use Laravel instead.


    Nageshwar J.

Best CMS for Enterprise Application

  • March 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
TYPO3 is one of the best for Large Scale Enterprise Application which you can trust on, I really like in TYPO3 that it doesn't have any limit to extend it and you can achieve anything and everything with this.

So, overall my experience is really great with TYPO3. I will surely suggest go for it atleast once.
What do you dislike?
The only thing which I don't like is you have to keep maintaining but it is good to get all security issues fixed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
You can solve all your problems whichever way you want you can extend and use it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have big plans to expand, go with TYPO3