Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Wordpress 5.6 for CentOS 7

Kurian | Wordpress 5.6 for CentOS 7

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.4 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

146 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Non-Profit Organization Management

No frills, but does its job

  • July 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
no distracting frills, just does what it needs to
What do you dislike?
not super user friendly, but for the most part it has done what I need it to do for a simple website so far
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using it for our company's website.


    David L.

Open Source for Better and Worse

  • July 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Building and maintaining a web-site, if there is any level of complexity to the site, is not an easy task. WordPress has a combination of features that make it absolutely essential for web-site builders to employ, and at least understand, if you are involved in web-site production in any way. First, it's the leader, so many many sites are built with it. It's as WYSIWYG as any site builder I've worked with, which makes it easy to understand and use. And it's extensible, which, because it's open-source, means that it has a ton of add-ons to increase its functionality and power. Which also lends to its complexity because those add-ons require knowledge about the risks they bring, plus the need to keep them updated. Which can become a bit of a double-edged sword. in general though, the combination of power, extensibility, ease of use, and being a market leader, so many people know how to use it and it's relatively easy to get support from the community at large, make it an obvious choice for building and maintaining your web-site.
What do you dislike?
Here comes the double-edged sword part. Because it's open-source, and so many people use it, and there are so many add-ons and extensible parts, the biggest challenge I've faced with WordPress is the need to update both the Word-Press software and the Plug-Ins. My web-site is now up to around 18 plug-ins, which probably sounds like a lot. And my site isn't tremendously complex. No e-commerce, about 5 tabs and very few sub-tabs. So guess what happens when it comes time to update the WordPress app itself, which is updated fairly often, mostly for security reasons, but also for feature upgrades and more? Because it's open-source, the vulnerabilities are well known and easily exploited. They do a good job with the updates, and they are free, but when they happen, and it's time to hit the button, you never really know exactly what's going to happen next. Is it going to blow up your site, or a piece of it, built with another piece or set of plug-ins and extensible software that itself has multiple versions and may or may not be compatible with the new version of WordPress. Or the PhP you're running, or your ISP is supporting. And what happens when you have to update those plug-ins because they've been updated to a new minor or major version? Any one of those can blow up the site or a piece of it as well. Which means that you need to proceed with caution, always, and you need to be able to have alternatives when an updated version of WordPress or an updated Plug-In has an unexpected result. That could be disabling the plug-in, or all the plug-ins one by one in order to determine which plug-in or version could be out of whack. You also need have a good back up available at all times, so in addition to the handful of apps and plug-ins that allow you to roll back changes individually, you have the option of rolling back all of the changes to the last working version immediately. Also, this can happen when your web-site is live, so you need a solid work-flow to prevent yourself from blowing up the site at a critical time. Or you have to do it in the middle of the night when no one will be watching. I'm not quick to update or upgrade, especially on my web-site, but you also have to stay on top of the security changes so your site doesn't get hacked. All of this could make you want to run to a professional to run or troubleshoot your site, which kind of defeats the point of a WYSIWYG easy to use web-site management tool. Over time, I've figured it out. But it's never easy, and I've had to get through some sticky situations.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use WordPress to build and maintain my entire web-site and all of the pages and content within. I'm able to build and add extra content easily and in a way that is logical to me. WordPress allows me to make the changes to the content, preview them, and then post them to the site to update the content without having to use another program to update the files and pages. I can update the site page by page, or piece by piece, see what it's going to look like, click update, and the newly updated site is live. It's tremendously powerful and extensible, and as easy to use as you can imagine, although there are complexities when it comes to updating the software and its plug-ins for compatibility and security. It's the best on the market, the most commonly used, and there's a decent learning curve, but not too steep, so something you need to know and can dive right in.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
In additon to using Word Press, you will want to make sure you have a pathway for support if you need it. Also, it's highly recommended you have a good or great backup program or backup plan available for the site in case you need to rollback a change or series of changes or updates.


    William C.

friendly user platform, professional looking websites.

  • July 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of the platform. You have everything you need for website building right under your thumbs. Customizable design and features, Word press has pre-made themes that you can use and a large library of plugins. It is effortless to create your website using basic programming or even templates provided to you by WordPress. The plugins they offer are beneficial. You can even find some videos to help guide you on using plugins or any issues you may have.
What do you dislike?
It could use some help with the instructions, and some plugins need more description. I find that sometimes it may take a little while to do real-time updating. I would say you need some technical knowledge to set up and manage your websites and some coding knowledge. It would do great to have more videos to help beginners. I wish there were more support if you needed help.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
No problems, just web site-building, and management. The benefit is just how excellent our website could function using WordPress. It's very seamless and performs excellently. It also helps you keep on top of your game. The marketing side of our business rely on this website and now due to Covid, we have more traffic going to our website to fill out our questionaire.


    Clifford W.

CMS platform that fits your needs

  • July 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The Wordpress platform can be as robust or as simple as you need it, depending on your site's needs.
What do you dislike?
The dashboard can quickly become crowded and overwhelming when too many plugins are added to a site.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Being able to create marketing pages quickly and being able to apply SEO changes all in one place on the wordpress dashboard


    Internet

The Best for Quality Web Dev

  • July 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The tool is ubiquitous, so support and exciting features abound. It is extremely flexible, meeting the web dev needs of nearly any project for small and medium-scale websites.
What do you dislike?
There is an initial learning curve, but with significant help available for free with a quick web search, you can overcome most challenges.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are creating online digital solutions for our clients - everything from consumer-facing websites to membership portals and more. Our clients receive more organic inquiries and increased business revenue.


    Information Technology and Services

Make websites without knowing coding

  • July 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I'm marketing manager so I need to change website content and CTAs. Wordpress allows me to do this changes.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes because of plugins the websites is broken.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creating web pages without knowing coding.


    Hospital & Health Care

Easy CMS to use

  • July 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is a super easy-to-use CMS. Multiple authors can edit at the same time, and the publishing process is simple.
What do you dislike?
You are limited with your options with designs. You can only use specific components, and sometimes it can be limiting.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We host several national websites on WordPress. The benefit we have realized is that multiple authors can use this with very minimal experience.


    Jessica M.

Great blogging and website-building tool!

  • July 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how versatile WordPress is - you can use it to build websites or use it as a standalone blog. There are many different options you can use to customize your layout, including blocks of text, inserting images, or image galleries, and there are a wide variety of plugins available at your fingertips. The interface is very intuitive, and customer service is always available and exceptionally helpful at resolving any issues that might occur.
What do you dislike?
Every so often, I will encounter issues logging in and staying logged in. This issue usually occurs when I arrive at my site via a bookmark. I'll try to log in when I want to update it or edit an entry, but for some reason, it doesn't show me logged in. After several login attempts, the issue usually goes away. It's not a huge issue, and it could result from the specific web browser I am using. That is pretty much the only thing I dislike about WordPress.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The specific problems I am solving with WordPress include having a website on a hosting service when you have little knowledge of how to start building the site. WordPress provides a lot of easy-to-use tools to assist with this. Another problem solved with WordPress is having a personal blog that is not complicated to update with an easy-to-understand interface. With WordPress, I save many steps in building my website or blog. I do not have to worry about whether I am knowledgeable enough to construct a professional-looking site or an attractive-looking blog because WordPress goes above and beyond in taking care of that for me. They are much easier to use than other website building or blogging software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
WordPress is one of the most straightforward website-building tools I have used in my twenty years of creating websites. Their customer service team is always available to help resolve issues in a timely, courteous manner. I highly recommend them.


    Cristian M.

Scalable, well supported and an amazing eco-system

  • July 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The amount of flexibility in terms of scaling up and adding new functionality feels unparalleled when it comes to WordPress and other CMS tools. WordPress is extremely well supported and documented and there's an enormous community of users that are constantly making it better.
What do you dislike?
Custom functionality can sometimes be tricky to add if you are not familiar with PHP and WordPress's logic. PHP is a difficult language to get started with.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We create online experiences for small and medium-sized businesses who are looking to grow their business, sell new products or reach new customers. Furthermore, WordPress can be a great platform to create an application with limited investment quickly. We've previously set up learning management systems, membership portals, quoting systems, stores, etc., with simple addons and plugins that are sometimes free or available for purchase for a minimal fee. This allows us (or our clients) to try new ideas without putting too many funds into R&D with low risk.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Read the documentation when you run into problems. Try not to hack your way into the core WP functionality and go through their recommended way of extending functionality. Use hooks and filters to develop your own features. Try to rely as little as possible on plugins for simple things, as they can add unnecessary complexity to your website and create vulnerabilities.


    Ayush S.

The best website builder for those who don't know coding languages is wordpress!

  • July 13, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about WordPress is that it has an amazing user interface and there is no limitation to the things we could build on WordPress. There are people who are running crores of businesses daily just using WordPress. They also do provide amazing built-in features like block website building, good-looking themes, and automatic website updates that make the user worry-free!
What do you dislike?
There are times that when without any prior information the website goes on maintenance. The other thing that I do dislike about WordPress is that after installing some extra plugins the site gets crashed due to which we are always supposed to keep a backup of the same. If WordPress is able to fix those two problems then it would be the market leader in its segment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am helping local businesses to go online and connect with online customers so that they could generate a high amount of revenue. I am also making local grocery shops convert to online stores from where customers could order and pay online too.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
People planning to take their business online or people who want to start an online store from where their customers could place orders and in case if you don't have a coding experience, WordPress is the best thing you could go with. By using WordPress even a 12-year kid would be able to develop one.