Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nessus (BYOL)

Tenable, Inc. | 8.14.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

177 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

Great product

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Makes vulnerability assessment and reporting very painless
What do you dislike?
No dislikes at this time. have always enjoyed
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Patch audits, vulnerability assessments,
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Like the cereal commercial, try it, you will like it


    Computer & Network Security

Nessus Professional Review

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Setup can be very simple.
Support is usually pretty quick to respond to tickets.
What do you dislike?
Lots of Issues over the past year.
No Real Feature Updates. All Features are being updated to Tenable.io & Tenable.sc
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Identifying Patches
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When it works correctly, it's great, but when it doesn't it can really cause a chain reaction.


    Michael B.

effective but lacks polish

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
the detail on the vulnerabilities and recommended fixes
What do you dislike?
The graphical user interface. and reports need improvement.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Compliance


    Fletcher C.

The industry standard for vulnerability scanning

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple to configure most scans. Software upgrades are very smooth and easy, probably my favorite software to upgrade because of the lack of issues or hassle. In my experience, most companies use it so its a familiar tool no matter where I work. I like that it is a reliable product with a plethora of valuable data that can be used to increase an organizations security posture.
What do you dislike?
Some false positives. Wish it was easier to search specific vulnerabilities and aggregate or sort results data. Would like the ability make notes in the software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A wonderful resource for assessing an organizations security posture. We have relied upon Nessus scan results numerous times to identify vulnerable systems when a new significant exploit has been announced.


    Ryan K.

Nessus Compliance Scanning

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of use for compliance reporting
What do you dislike?
Drill down on errors should be a little more cleaner.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Compliance Reporting


    Financial Services

Nessus - One-Stop Vulnerability Management

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Detected vulnerabilities are easily researchable with the embedded links to Tennable's database.
What do you dislike?
The interface is very plain but works better and is easier to navigate then other flashy tools.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vulnerability management and remediation. Some problems can't be fixed with just installing a patch. For that, there is Nessus.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Check int the reporting aspect. It's very good.


    Banking

Nessus is a great tool for our security department

  • November 25, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus has really helped our newly formed security department hit the ground running by identifying and pinpointing specific vulnerabilities on our network for remediation.
What do you dislike?
There are a lot of false positives, including untrusted CAs. The remediations/solutions provided for each vulnerability could also be more specific.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have been able to upgrade outdated OSs, identify and install missing server patches, and show progress on vulnerability management from week to week.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be sure to not only scan on a regular basis, but also check the scans thoroughly and learn each vulnerability in order to get a better idea how to remediate the risk, accept it, or determine if it is a false positive.


    Musadik T.

Best platform for finding the loop holes in the network infrastructure

  • November 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like this tool because of the performance which is high and awesome.Nessus is the best tool where it used to scan the network infrastructure, Linux servers and windows servers which it finds the vulnerabilities and missing patches there will be less numbers of the false positive missing patches.
What do you dislike?
Till now I did not found any dislike but the main thing is that the cost is more expensive.for individual user we need to buy this product there will be the huge cost.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used this tool because of the performance and the functionality which high and awesome this tool scans for the vulnerabilities and missing patches from the network infrastructure.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I advise to use this tool because of the performance and the functionality is very high and awesome.


    Accounting

Nessus Pro Review

  • November 22, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Name recognition and it is relatively inexpensive when comparing to other products. It does a fine job and is relatively easy to setup and use. Additionally, technical support is very good.
What do you dislike?
Reporting. There is a lack of good reporting. The account team is too passive. Not sure the roadmap of the company. The account team never proactively brings to our attention of new products, features and lineups.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To determine vulnerability malware analysis.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Reporting is very important to us. However, the can reports in Nessus are not sufficient. It is difficult to generate custom reports for various department needs. I have dealt with their technical support team a lot and they are great. Their sales team, on the other hand, is a bit passive. Did not have quarterly review or annual review.


    Information Technology and Services

Really like the technology and capability, but disappointed by feature limitations

  • November 22, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus has always been the most well-rounded vulnerability scanning solution. It does a better job across various OS, application, etc. platforms where other scanners often fall short.
What do you dislike?
Tenable has crippled Nessus Professional by disallowing scans to be configured/managed via API, and restricting the ability to create multiple users. As a professional services firm, these capabilities have made the use of Nessus Pro more challenging.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Identifying vulnerabilities.