Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nessus (BYOL)

Tenable, Inc. | 10.0.1

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

214 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Olugbenga O.

Amazing Security Auditing tool

  • April 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Flexible user interface and dashboard that present users with various tools
What do you dislike?
The reporting is not as detailed like some of its competitors
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Network Auditing and vulnerability scanning


    Information Technology and Services

User friendly, Simple yet powerful scanner for Network Scans

  • April 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Feasibility of Configuration - very simple UI to configure vulnerability Scan
Compliance scan files - provides exhaustive list of default audit files for compliance checks. Also has option for uploading custom audit files.
Vulnerability Reports - Reports provide detailed yet specific information on issues. Executive summary option is very helpful
What do you dislike?
APIs - APIs are not that matured compared to other tools like Qualls
Inventory Management - Inventory management is not impressive. Need to rely on manual update.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To analyze the security posture of organization's infrastructure


    Information Technology and Services

This tools always works for me. I am habitual with this tool

  • April 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like options for scanning and updates.
What do you dislike?
Nothing much to say about dislike but maybe tool can be optimzed more
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Systems scans and web scans


    Information Technology and Services

Nessus is good one for internal scanning

  • April 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus has advanced scans and scheduling option. Which makes security researchers and Pentesters to schedule scans as per their choice. Advanced option includes scans as based on standards like PCI DSS and others..
What do you dislike?
Nessus doesn't scans indeep when it comes for web application and others..
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It helps to covers most of the vulnerabilities. Updating their plugins helps us to scans new vulnerabilities as per cve.


    Computer & Network Security

Nessus Scanner Review

  • April 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The option to scan targets with a proper scope in place.
What do you dislike?
The white colour background, maybe more themes?
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is ideal for quick pentests


    Banking

I have used Nessus for vulnerability scanning to discover the vulnerable systems and applications

  • April 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Most plugins in Nessus is very good for scanning
What do you dislike?
I think Nessus take to much time for getting a results
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I didn't face any problem, fortunately I'm using it continuously to discover vulnerabilities
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Scan your servers by Nessus bacause is excellent


    Nessus User

No access to port 8000?

  • April 20, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Cannot access appliance management on TCP/8000 once the appliance is online. As such, cannot manage SSL certificate and a host of other options.


    Computer & Network Security

Great Solution for Automated Scanning needs

  • April 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Scheduling
Report Quality
Speed
Ease of installation
What do you dislike?
False Positives
May not be able to bypass detection at Firewall
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Continuous scanning
Compliance
Internal Audits


    sudheer c.

I have use Nessus in my previous company. It provides various scan options to perform

  • April 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus Application and Host Vulnerability scanning.
Training and guidance
What do you dislike?
Nothing I can think of. There is the constant addition of new features according to market requirement
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automatic scanning. The reports are clear and with very few false positives


    Mohammed F.

Excellent Network Scanning tool

  • April 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Policy Management and Reporting Style of the application. Nessus and its GUI is really well designed, It is mostly minimal and good looking, very clean, it is worth noting that in every update they improve it and include some types of scans that can bring you more complete and better results when you carry out an scan. Also its worth mentioning that the plugins in Nessys database are well updated and that your community team generates an well response on time. Pricing is cheaper and is worth the money that thet provide. It has PCI scanning which is one added feature.
What do you dislike?
Reports more false positives sometimes in the scan. Sometime it is diffucult during initial setup in our environment, there were several complications when attempting to connect machines in our internal network which is really tiring when we are out of support.It lacks interaction with some other tools like Metasploit which is the swiss army knife of network testing. While it is easy to use, it also requires a certain level of knowledge from the user, if it could explain things a little better as the user moved through the program
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The scan might take a longer time for small assets.
Picking up the smaller findings and Low hanging fruits
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Nessus does help satisfy our client demands, but it helps us find vulnerabilities in our systems and helps us find patches and solutions to the vulnerabilities. It very easy to find remediation for the application