Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nessus (BYOL)

Tenable, Inc. | 10.3.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 20220805 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

245 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer & Network Security

Future of Cyber Security Suite

  • September 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I liked the Nessus because of its excellent coverage; its final results provides almost every details like vulnerability brief, its exploits, references and such other important matters to be dealt with the vulnerability fix.
What do you dislike?
The customer support of Nessus is limited as compared to its wide customer base all over the world. So customer support of Nessus needs to be improved from the view point of its availability.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
An experience with Nessus started with questions like whether this tool will be helpful, will it give expected results, whether........ and yes, this tool has given satisfied results to put a forward step for secured information system environment. For detailed results provided by Nessus I would say in brief that "It just worked flawlessly to deal with the vulnerabilities".


    Nikhil K.

Gui and operational

  • September 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, attractive GUI, scanning for web application,api and network infrastructure.
What do you dislike?
Delayed in query from their end if we do.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
VA and Compliance scanning of Network infrastructure and web application
Recommendations to others considering the product:
8 out of 10


    Gihan J.

Nessus is the ultimate time saver for vulnerability scanning

  • August 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
As a penetration tester there were times that I had to perform operating system compliance reviews manually. To do that you have to go through all the documented details in benchmarks to get a crystal clear idea before even executing the given command. Reading issue details on over 500+ pages (most of the time) repetitively is a waste of time . Because of the tool 'Nessus' we can just pass the parameters and actually can let our focus on other operations. Nessus will do the job without any trouble. Incontrovertibly, nessus is the number one performer in discovering assets,sensitive data /malware detection,OS/database/mobile apps/web apps/network devices/tablets/hypervisors vulnerability scanning.It's worth to mention the amazing report creation feature of nessus which helped me to identify the critical levels of the vulnerabilities easily.
What do you dislike?
Price of nessus is too much considering the tools in the same domain. Nessus is susceptible to produce false positives and because of that the testers need to put more effort and time.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Nessus training and certification is a useful way to get familiar with nessus interface and functionalities for a beginner.


    Romesh P.

Nessus - The VA Scanner

  • August 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nessus is a very user-friendly application, and it even has pre-defined templates to select which profile to be used for vulnerability scanning.
What do you dislike?
When it scans very large data sets and applications, it takes a considerable time and becomes a bit laggy.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
A very common burden that System Admins have is patch management. Nessus helps to address this issue very smoothly with automated scans and reports
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are trying to keep your organization consistently compliant, this is a must-have tool.


    Information Technology and Services

Nessus is the best VA tool.

  • June 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Compatible with all kinds of applications and OS.
- Easy to configure with an existing environment.
- Easy to manage.
What do you dislike?
The scanning duration takes time. Can be improved.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
All kinds of Vulnerabilities and loop holes.


    Mr. A.

Best application web application pentester and researcher.

  • June 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Beside every tool, i love to use nessus more often because of it's accuracy it's been really easy and handy to use it. I personally love to use it more.
What do you dislike?
Well, there is nothing much I have about tool. And i seriously don't remember last time when this tool disappointed me.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm into web application penetration testing, and this tool helped me in getting the accurate result unlike other tools as well as it's kinda fast and reliable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I personally believe that, people don't just seeing reviews or ads but they believe after using it. So I recommend using it.


    Ashen S.

One of the best vulnerability scanner I've ever used

  • June 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I most like about nessus is customization when using scans. We can add credentials, set IP ranges and ports and etc. We can use different scan methods for different purposes. Also it gives best scanning results and those scanning results can be exported as HTML, PDF or CSV reports. Also the report can be customize when exporting. When nessus gives me a report it also providing the introduction of vulnerabilites, impact of the vulnerability to the host and mitigation methods and reference to find more about the vulnerabilites.
What do you dislike?
What I dont like this Nessus proffesional version is some time it gives false positives. As an example when nessus gives me a scan results of an web application vulnerability scan usually I seach for those vulnearabilities for testing purposes. That required time. If those results are false possitive, all the search time and testing times are wasted.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
When I pentesting first tool I use is Nessus. I use different scanning methods for different purposes. As an example I mostly use network scans, web application scans, policy compliance audting scans, and advanced dynamic scans. Nessus also can be used as malware scan Nessus helped me to find lot of vulnerabilities using different scans.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are in Cyber security side. This is a best vulnerabilty scanner that worth your every penny. I've used it. It gives the best scanning resutls so we can follow those results to test vulnerabilities.


    Computer & Network Security

The best tool for your recon

  • June 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It scans not only remote flaws of the host but their missing patches and other versions also
What do you dislike?
Its little bit heavy for sma end devices so developer should focus on wide variety and flexibility
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
As i am seeking Pentester i used Nessus for finding vulnerabilities in host which is quick fast and reliable


    Information Technology and Services

Easy to use and beginner friendly

  • June 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Loved how detailed the findings were represented.
What do you dislike?
The only downside I can think of is that it is quite expensive
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have used it during my bug bounty hunting and pentest engagement, and it proved to be a good addition to my arsenal.


    Security and Investigations

very likely recommend

  • June 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
the repository for vulnerability is wide and scanning is fast
What do you dislike?
I have not came accros anything as such in nessus scanner
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am using nessus as a vulnerability scanner.