Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Esri ArcGIS Enterprise 10.5.1 Japanese with SQL Server Express(May 2018)

Esri | 10.5.1 Patched

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 w/SQL Express 2014 2012R2 x64 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

414 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Oil & Energy

My rating for ArcGIS

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use. The software seems more streamlined than it use to be with 9.x. Like the built in Python in 10.x.
What do you dislike?
Layout has never been updated. All the places that I've worked at we've had to rely heavily on the layout tool to create maps and the general consensus is that it doesn't offer much with customizing. 10.x's lack of stability. 9.x was way more stable then the current Arc software. Price to have a license. It'd be nice to be able to work on the side but the cost of the license has been a deterrent.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mapping land data. We're able to capture and store all of our land data into a mapping system. This gives people in the company the ability to view the land for whatever purpose they my need it. ArcGIS gives us the ability to not only store data but use data to create analytical maps for the company.


    Toure Lawrence M.

The Best Tool for GIS Projects

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is a innovative tool for GIS analysis and mapping. The new online cloud platform works seamlessly with ArcGIS desktop and the user community forum is the best on the web.
What do you dislike?
The cost is expensive and pricey for some non-profit organizations that I have worked with in the past.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am currently working with ArcGIS as a tool to map Social Security benefit data. The software handles the load of data that I have and works well in visualization of the data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider getting the ArcGIS Cloud online platform as well.


    Donaimian H.

Daily ArcGIS User

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is widely used by everyone, It's the industry standard. Once you learn how to utilize the basic function of the program, you skills quickly accelerate. If you ever run into any problems, need help with a custom tool, or don't know how to do something, it's easy to find out how with a simple internet search. Also, I've been to a few ESRI conferences and they are extremely involved in the different ways the software is used.
What do you dislike?
While I've been using ArcGIS for about 7 years now, both on the academic and professional level. The one thing that's remained consistent through multiple versions, is the fact that the program is very resource intensive. This could become a very annoying problem for the user if their organization isn't able to provide them with a higher performance machine. Additionally, the program has never been the best as far as map creation and rendering. What you see on screen, tends to be rough and visually unappealing. It is vastly different from what you see on paper. The program also lacks built in map creation tools. To create magazine quality maps, you would have to go to Photoshop.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've used ArcGIS in multiple ways over the past 7 years. On the academic level, I've used it to georeference several sets of aerial images ranging from the 1920's to the mid 90's. This was eventually used as a web map on my Universities Library web page. The scope of the project was the show how the geography of the campus had changed over the years. On the professional level, I've used ArcGIS to manage the bayou system in Harris County (Houston, TX). From maintenance projects, expansion projects, and to identify the location of equipment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're on the fence about ArcGIS, visit some of the ESRI conference. There you'll be able to speak to not only ESRI employees, but also interact with it's users and other companies who support the software with third party tools.


    Oil & Energy

ArcGIS and Pipeline

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Because ESRI's ArcGIS software is widely used in the GIS industry, you can google any question you have and find the answers on third party web sites such as stack exchange.
What do you dislike?
Despite the longevity and popularity of the software, there are still bugs and needed improvements. Luckily ESRI has frequent releases to take care of these bugs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use this software for every part of my job, particularly linear referencing and pipeline data models. I also process lidar images and create hillshades and slopes for geologists to analyze the land forms in right-of-way areas. I take survey coordinates, display them as points and create linearly referenced features on a pipeline. I frequently use model builder and python scripts to automate processes and make them faster.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This software is the industry standard, and required if you are using an ESRI based database such as PODS Spatial or UPDM.


    Information Technology and Services

The standard for GIS

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is a suite of software that covers all the necessary GIS requirements a company could have, while remaining up to date with industry requirements. The feature set is plentiful and stability has been improved upon over the years, and is likely to carry on improving. File support is also good, although not as whole as software offered by FME.
What do you dislike?
The interface is highly unintuitive and overdue a rehaul, although the newer software e.g. ArcGIS Online, do provide better layouts than found in the desktop software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All geospatial queries can be ran through ESRI's ArcGIS portfolio, from analysing data, to testing if new services work - the "go-to" industry GIS software.


    Higher Education

I have been using this Software from last 10 years

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the new feature that you can digitize your line or polygon features. It is very useful if you have to digitize large files.
What do you dislike?
It is frustrating and disturbing when ArcGIS asks you to connect through the network every time when you logged on.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have been using this software for geological mapping.


    Civil Engineering

ArcGIS most widely used GIS software in the United States

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Model builder is great for advanced users. Novice and intermediate users can also make use of a ton of tools and analytical techniques
What do you dislike?
Product hangs sometimes especially on slow computers. Need a lot of ram
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mostly use it to analyze crash data and demographic data
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great product. Most widely used GIS. Most of the issues or problems faced as a user can be address in GIS forums since there are a lot of users


    Civil Engineering

For all my mapping and data needs.

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Being able to visualize raw data on a map with the use of endless symbology.
What do you dislike?
The labeling feature is not intuitive and doesn't allow for moving subtly moving labels in a map document.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using GIS to help identify logistics issues with the tear-down and rebuild of a water treatment plant. Also being used for identifying right-of-way impacts for transportation projects.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is a tremendous tool for creating map documents and for displaying raw data in a graphically pleasing way.


    Jeffrey M.

GIS Administrator for an Enterprise GIS system at Health and Human Services

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ESRI has some of the best documentation out there. The installation of the software is easy to follow and technical support has always been extremely helpful.
What do you dislike?
ESRI software can be daunting for a novice user. I have worked with some non-GIS people to try to teach them basic GIS tasks. Luckily, there are some free ESRI training courses that can get them some basic skills quickly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I work in the Emergency Response field. We use GIS in a number of ways, from creating static maps to dynamic web maps. Also, we create some custom applications starting with some out of the box tools. ESRI maps are very visually appealing and can easily tell a story.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommend ESRI products. From the easy install to the available training, its no wonder that ESRI is the market leader when it comes to spatial analysis and mapping.


    Patrick R.

The most powerful GIS software package for geospatial analyses and map production

  • November 03, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is a powerful GIS software package that's capable of processing complex geospatial analyses - making it versatile and useful in many industries. Whether for finding and evaluating areas for natural resources or producing maps for safety and security, the tools within can be used for a wide variety of contexts. The company that produces ArcGIS (Esri Inc.) are dedicated to customer satisfaction and have many skilled developers, sales reps, and education experts that are there to help you find the right solution for you.
What do you dislike?
Licencing for the product can sometimes be daunting to understand or rather expensive. Esri are actively working to simplify this process, but it can be off putting for some.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have worked in a wide variety of industries - Oil and Gas, Defence Contracting, Urban Planning, and Academic Research. I find that many questions across industries are geospatial ones that ArcGIS helps me answer - understanding transportation costs, finding areas of vulnerability, or simply better understanding what is where and showing that to people who are interested. ArcGIS can be used to improve decision making and save money and resources for companies that recognise the importance of geospatial analyses.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Over my years of experience, I've used many GIS packages (e.g. MapInfo, QGIS, ArcGIS, etc.); ArcGIS, by far, has the community that provides the most support and is the most powerful GIS package out there. That said, though, the cost may make this difficult to implement in your organisation. I might recommend starting out with QGIS, which is free, to begin doing basic geospatial analyses. Once you become comfortable with it, if you feel there are higher level analyses that you would like to do that QGIS isn't capable of and you have the finances to be able to afford ArcGIS, then try out ArcGIS and if you like it, purchase a copy.

I'd also recommend checking out ArcGIS Online, the cloud GIS solution that is free to sign up for and you get 2 GB of storage space to begin making basic maps. It's quite robust and makes sharing maps very easy.