Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cloud Volumes ONTAP for AWS - High Availability

NetApp, Inc. | 9.7P5

Linux/Unix, Other Cloud Volumes ONTAP 9.7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

19 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Sarthak P.

NetApp Storage

  • July 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
NetApp has been working on various storage technologies. I as a NetApp Administrator admire NetApp storage. As is it highly efficient and stable.
What do you dislike?
CIFS timeouts raised some concerns with upgrading to Cluster mode.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Problems are based on CIFS, NFS


    Consumer Electronics

NetApp cloud Volumes easy to access and manage

  • June 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
These volumes are easy to access and manage. No further space constraints. Data is safe and backup is easily done and recovered
What do you dislike?
Did not came across any. It is good and useful
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Space constraints which were there when jsing non cloud volumes. Management becam emuch more easier


    Computer & Network Security

NetApp Cloud Volumes ONTAP

  • May 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Netapp Cloud works best for the storage device control to Store also and to handle it
What do you dislike?
It commands to run and remember. It is so vast to work with
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
So I was managing different storage devices by running commands to handle all is a little bit slow.
So it can handle large no. of data


    Media Production

Software delivers advanced data management for file and block workloads

  • January 06, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
cloud storage costs and increases application performance while enhancing data protection, security, and compliance
What do you dislike?
Usage Optimization of the software &
Alerts
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cloud Storage of Data using our application built on Net App Cloud


    Computer & Network Security

CVO Review from an NC Partner

  • September 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of deployment, familiar interface, reliable outcomes
What do you dislike?
Performance is lacking, reliability is a little shaky, documentation is disjointed. Also, it seems there are a lot of people at NetApp supporting CVO who don't really understand how it's deployed in a production environment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CVO makes transitioning to a cloud scenario less scary for some long time NetApp customers. Seeing something familiar in the cloud helps with the change.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Closely evaluate whether it is actually needed. CVO mimics many native cloud processes and functions.


    Ananthakrishna T.

The best out there

  • August 31, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The user interface is super easy with the kind of the volume management provided. The main feature is you can mount a volume to any of the device irrespective of the OS, brand and any other thing given you have proper bandwidth is really commendable.
The license is the main thing which I thought awesome in this product, where it has been so secure and having so many properties like snap-mirror, snap-vault, NFS, CIFS, etc. really makes this one special.
What do you dislike?
The price maybe a bit more than what I would have given for such a product. But since the security is really good, this have been like an ignore-able dislike.
Other thing is as I look at it, the snapshots for 7 mode systems were really slow when the reclaiming was happening, This is the one which bothered me a lot. When I was checking for any of my volumes size, it would be really high even if the snapshots are deleted and volume has enough space.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Since this is connected to cloud which is really helpful for my case who travel a lot and having this kind of storage anywhere I go really helps me and this has been one of the fastest volume mounts I have seen which can satisfy user easily.


    Vadiraja T.

Could be better in some aspects

  • August 31, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
As I have used Netapp volumes to mount all of my cloud devices, this is really useful to me as I have seen ever. Previously I was using Hitachi for my personal documents and all, but after this has been introduced to me after such a short time with so many futuristic features, this has been one of the really cool ones I have used.
The security compliance they use, the hash programming, the commendable features like python integration is really cool which I have never seen before which can be so easily used and coded into the super complex systems too.
The ActiveIQ and user interface to maintain these volumes really helped me a lot in real time situations. Since I have been coding this to my interface with python, the speed and usage is hyper now.
The bandwidth and speed in which it works even in the low internet conditions has been really helpful to me in scarce situations too.
NFS, CIFS and ISCSI mounts are the building block of my systems now.
What do you dislike?
The 7 mode older systems has been a little saggy in these days. The snapshots and their maintenance has been discarded by Netapp.
Even if the volumes are older, and support is difficult, I hope the Netapp guys continue supporting these systems which will not be of any harm.
Even the disk replacement costs has been increased for these older systems which I didn't like.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used this in all of my personal computers, office computers and since the administration of the volumes and other things are handled by us, now I could see how much these really help someone who is really trying to deploy these in the really easier versions with great interface and speed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go for it, this is the right direction. Please consider the money which you are buying this for since this may be more than what you use.


    Christy H.

Who needs on-premise SMB

  • July 12, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to quickly create high performance CIFS shares.
What do you dislike?
Multiple management consoles depending on what you need to achieve
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have deferred the purchase of a further on-prem storage array


    Ian H.

All the goodness of OnTap - In the Cloud and On-premise

  • July 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Your investment in NetApp On-Tap is protected, and will allow you to seamlessly manage your on-premise CIFS/NFS volumes plus your adoption of new hyperscaler-hosted storage capacity.
What do you dislike?
Multiple management consoles are confusing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A phased migration of legacy NFS volumes to Azure storage, and aggressive HSM requirements.


    Rajesh R.

Next Generation Storage

  • July 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CVO provides the feasibility of moving (snapmirror) the data from on-prem to cloud with an option maintaining the ONTAP familiarity and efficiency features. Not required to switch to new technology/platform to maintain the data.
What do you dislike?
Transit Gateway supports only 1500 MTU. In fact, the limitation is provided by AWS. Cross account access may be on network bottleneck.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My data is in the cloud now along with utilizing the storage efficiency features, which is huge profit to the organization.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try using CVO and get to know the benefits of CVO, such as ONTAP efficiency features and save the cost.
Move data to the cloud and still remain a storage engineer.