Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cloud Volumes ONTAP for AWS - High Availability

NetApp, Inc. | 9.7P5

Linux/Unix, Other Cloud Volumes ONTAP 9.7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

15 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer & Network Security

CVO Review from an NC Partner

  • September 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of deployment, familiar interface, reliable outcomes
What do you dislike?
Performance is lacking, reliability is a little shaky, documentation is disjointed. Also, it seems there are a lot of people at NetApp supporting CVO who don't really understand how it's deployed in a production environment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CVO makes transitioning to a cloud scenario less scary for some long time NetApp customers. Seeing something familiar in the cloud helps with the change.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Closely evaluate whether it is actually needed. CVO mimics many native cloud processes and functions.


    Ananthakrishna T.

The best out there

  • August 31, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The user interface is super easy with the kind of the volume management provided. The main feature is you can mount a volume to any of the device irrespective of the OS, brand and any other thing given you have proper bandwidth is really commendable.
The license is the main thing which I thought awesome in this product, where it has been so secure and having so many properties like snap-mirror, snap-vault, NFS, CIFS, etc. really makes this one special.
What do you dislike?
The price maybe a bit more than what I would have given for such a product. But since the security is really good, this have been like an ignore-able dislike.
Other thing is as I look at it, the snapshots for 7 mode systems were really slow when the reclaiming was happening, This is the one which bothered me a lot. When I was checking for any of my volumes size, it would be really high even if the snapshots are deleted and volume has enough space.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Since this is connected to cloud which is really helpful for my case who travel a lot and having this kind of storage anywhere I go really helps me and this has been one of the fastest volume mounts I have seen which can satisfy user easily.


    Vadiraja T.

Could be better in some aspects

  • August 31, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
As I have used Netapp volumes to mount all of my cloud devices, this is really useful to me as I have seen ever. Previously I was using Hitachi for my personal documents and all, but after this has been introduced to me after such a short time with so many futuristic features, this has been one of the really cool ones I have used.
The security compliance they use, the hash programming, the commendable features like python integration is really cool which I have never seen before which can be so easily used and coded into the super complex systems too.
The ActiveIQ and user interface to maintain these volumes really helped me a lot in real time situations. Since I have been coding this to my interface with python, the speed and usage is hyper now.
The bandwidth and speed in which it works even in the low internet conditions has been really helpful to me in scarce situations too.
NFS, CIFS and ISCSI mounts are the building block of my systems now.
What do you dislike?
The 7 mode older systems has been a little saggy in these days. The snapshots and their maintenance has been discarded by Netapp.
Even if the volumes are older, and support is difficult, I hope the Netapp guys continue supporting these systems which will not be of any harm.
Even the disk replacement costs has been increased for these older systems which I didn't like.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used this in all of my personal computers, office computers and since the administration of the volumes and other things are handled by us, now I could see how much these really help someone who is really trying to deploy these in the really easier versions with great interface and speed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go for it, this is the right direction. Please consider the money which you are buying this for since this may be more than what you use.


    Christy H.

Who needs on-premise SMB

  • July 12, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to quickly create high performance CIFS shares.
What do you dislike?
Multiple management consoles depending on what you need to achieve
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have deferred the purchase of a further on-prem storage array


    Ian H.

All the goodness of OnTap - In the Cloud and On-premise

  • July 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Your investment in NetApp On-Tap is protected, and will allow you to seamlessly manage your on-premise CIFS/NFS volumes plus your adoption of new hyperscaler-hosted storage capacity.
What do you dislike?
Multiple management consoles are confusing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A phased migration of legacy NFS volumes to Azure storage, and aggressive HSM requirements.


    Rajesh R.

Next Generation Storage

  • July 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CVO provides the feasibility of moving (snapmirror) the data from on-prem to cloud with an option maintaining the ONTAP familiarity and efficiency features. Not required to switch to new technology/platform to maintain the data.
What do you dislike?
Transit Gateway supports only 1500 MTU. In fact, the limitation is provided by AWS. Cross account access may be on network bottleneck.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My data is in the cloud now along with utilizing the storage efficiency features, which is huge profit to the organization.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try using CVO and get to know the benefits of CVO, such as ONTAP efficiency features and save the cost.
Move data to the cloud and still remain a storage engineer.


    Emerson N.

Excellent solution for handling volumes on AWS

  • May 22, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This solution can be easily managed through a web-based portal, which makes it easy to manage and monitor my volumes.
What do you dislike?
Some advanced features can be implemented only with CLI (command-line interface) which can be a challenge for non-advanced users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Currently, we are in the process of implementing this solution, but it is already possible to see benefits in terms of managing volumes from the Netapp ONTAP portal.


    Computer & Network Security

Easy for deploy and management

  • May 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy deploy and well integration with on prem.
What do you dislike?
I don't have much experience to tell what I am disliking.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Moving data to the Cloud, and having clear cost for that - easy management and integration.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very well for tiering and cloud oriented workloads.


    Information Technology and Services

Cloud Volumes ONTAP has the rich data services NetApp customers need

  • May 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Support for SnapMirror, dedupe, and Flexclone
What do you dislike?
The performance of CVO leaves a lot to be desired, as does the lack of scale-out.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
DR/Backup to and within AWS is the primary use case. For customers who rely on SnapMirror and are reaping the benefits of NetApp snapshots and flexclones, CVO is unparalleled in its efficiency both operationally and financially.


    Oil & Energy

Uniper SE CVO Trial / POC

  • May 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Flexibility of the platform and low (ish) cost base
What do you dislike?
incompatibilities between CVO and ON-premise NetApp Filers
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Moving to a transition platform for moving files services into Onedrive and Sharepoint online
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Compare CVO to Azure Netapp Files as this may be a more performant service for your application needd