Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

FileMaker Cloud for AWS (5 users)

Fourteen33 | 1.18.1.209

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.6.1805 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

21 AWS reviews

    Richard Fincher

FileMaker Server for Linux

  • June 15, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Very glad to see FileMaker Server for Linux return to the FileMaker Inc. product line-up. It would be even nicer if I could licence it to run on one of my own CentOS Linux virtual servers.


    John Do

Nightmare

  • March 10, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I bought FM Cloud it was running great.
I then got gauged by the hourly pricing scheme.
I then updated to an annual subscription.
I restored my data to a backup.
Everything was erased.
My Instance is running somewhere but nobody can access it not even filemaker.


    Elizabeth

Works with Pro and Pro Advanced, should understand AWS concepts and pricing

  • February 02, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

FileMaker Cloud does work with FileMaker Pro--you encrypt the database files in FileMaker Cloud. You don't need FileMake Pro Advanced to encrypt them.

If you are not familiar with AWS and cloud deployment, read the FileMaker Cloud Getting Started Guide, which explains the sometimes cryptic (but quick!) stack creation process.

It's a best practice not to leave your instance running when you aren't actively using it, and make sure you understand AWS pricing.


    Zachary

Deceptive Pricing

  • January 04, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

AWS has always been about paying for what you use; if your server load is low, you will pay much less than if it's in use.

I thought that's what I was getting when I purchased the hourly license for my team of five who use FileMaker to access legacy customer records a few times per day. Unfortunately, you get charged the $.99 whether or not you access the server in a given hour, and you still get charged whether client software is connected or not.

In other words, be prepared to pay nearly the cost of an annual license each month for this software.


    Disappointed

Does not work with FM Pro

  • December 31, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Warning to those with FM Pro only. The cloud doesn't work so don't waste your time. You must have encrypted databases. You can only encrypt them with FM Pro Advanced.

Also, I went thru the entire setup process - prepare for some pain. It's not intuitive. You'll figure it out after searching the web for answers as FM's help is not helpful, but it will take many different sources.


    Fred

Be very cautious. For a trial license choose HOURLY

  • November 01, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Although you can toggle between hourly and annually, be sure to select HOURLY. If you choose Annually, you will find yourself charged with around $900.00. Although you can work out a return of your funds, FileMaker, Amazan, and Orbitera will point fingers at each other before you are told you will have to wait 7-10 days to get your refund. Not a good way to start your day. Beyond that, remember this is a 1.0 product.


    Mike Duncan

Easy to set up, efficient, simple server.

  • October 21, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It seems you require less resources from this database server running on Linux than a comparable Win instance, which saves money on the EC2 instance. Other thoughtful considerations make this very easy to dip your toes into FileMaker on AWS, without all the setup configuration of typical setups. They have really tried to make this is simple as possible.


    Productive Computing, Inc.

Great Offering

  • October 19, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

FileMaker has provided a great new offering with FileMaker Cloud and we are seeing a lot of big value right out of the box.

Being able to run FileMaker on AWS opens doors previously not available. We have a lot of our customers asking about it and some who are already up and running.

We offer a "BYO" (bring your own FileMaker Cloud) service here at Productive Computing where our customers have the option to pay us a low, one-time fee for us to get them setup on FileMaker Cloud. We provide the customer best practices for connecting to FileMaker Cloud, connecting to AWS, and managing their server. This has proved very effective - especially if they are brand new to the world of AWS.

FileMaker Cloud is a solid offering providing customers with cutting edge and reliable cloud options for their FileMaker apps. We look forward to bringing more and more FileMaker customers on board.

http://filemakerhostingservice.com


    Richard Carlton

Super Reliable!!!

  • October 17, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

FileMaker Cloud has been running great for weeks... and is SUPER reliable using AWS's C4 Instance. I love the reliability...and simplicity of setup!!!


    Disappointed...

Poor support

  • October 15, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Set-up took some time, and not well documented. Then could not connect... a complete flop. If you're not a IT expert, don't expect to get very far with this. Great idea, but poor delivery.